RSS Feed

Create with Connie and Mary Color Challenge 226

Posted on

Good morning! Well, someone in New York must have really annoyed mother nature! We got 3 inches of snow today and some more howling wind! Because hurricane Sandy wasn’t enough! I hope she’s done with us for a while. I stopped home last night and it was 38 degrees in my house, now that is a little cold! Yes, there is still no power. But some more people that I live near got theirs back tonight so maybe tomorrow. πŸ˜›

Today’s post is for this week’s Create with Connie and Mary Challenge. This week we have a very nice color combination…

I love Midnight Muse. I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do. At first I was thinking fall and then I thought no, a Christmas card. I do love non-traditional Holiday colors so this is perfect! The base of my card is Midnight Muse Card Stock. I embossed a piece of Cajun Craze with the Northern Flurry Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Then I adhered a piece of Midnight Muse 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon around the back with Sticky Strip before I adhered it to the base. The stamped image is from the Snow Swirled Stamp Set and is stamped in Midnight Muse on Whisper White. I stamped one the of the snowflakes in More Mustard and punched it out with the 1/2″ Circle Punch and adhered it with a Stampin’ Dimensional. Some Basic Jewels Rhinestones give it just a little sparkle. The greeting is stamped in Cajun Craze. I backed them both with More Mustard and adhered them to the base with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I love the elegance of the tree and the sparkle from the rhinestones. I hope that you enjoyed my Guest Designer card for this week’s Create with Connie and Mary Challenge. Don’t forget to visit the blog to see what all of the other talented designer have come up with and be sure to check out their Card Create-tions subscription for some great holiday card and gift ideas. Thank you so very much for stopping by today and I hope that you have a warm and cozy day! πŸ™‚

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Whisper White, Midnight Muse, Cajun Craze and More Mustard

Ink: Midnight Muse, Cajun Craze and More Mustard Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Snow Swirled Clear Mount

Embellishments: Midnight Muse Stitched Satin Ribbon

Tools: Big Shot, Northern Flurry Textured Impressions Embossing Folder, 1/2″ Circle Punch, Basic Jewels Rhinestones, Sticky Strip, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

12 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, Justin…I didn’t realize you were still without power!!! Wow…and now snow on top of all the problems out there…wow…so hard to believe! Prayers for everyone out there. Love that you made a Christmas card with these colors, too…a little challenging, for sure! Wonderful inspiration…thanks for being a creative part of Create with Connie and Mary!

    Reply
    • Thanks Connie! Yes, still no power and now 4 inches of snow and it’s still going! I’m so happy to be with you guys! Love the color combo too! Thanks for thinking of us. Have a great day! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Beautiful Christmas card! I love how you brought these colors together for Christmas! I do hope you get your power back soon!

    Reply
  3. Justin, my heart goes out to you! I can’t imagine dealing with no power…then add the snow on top of that! Mother Nature really is in a bad mood…let’s hope this is the final blow for you guys! I hope you are staying someplace nice and warm. Keeping all of the people affected by Sandy in my prayers!

    Love your card! I would not have thought Christmas with these colors, but you really nailed it!

    Reply
    • Thanks Lisa. The no power thing and the snow on top of it is really bad. But, I am better off than so many others. I have a warm place to stay, I just want to be home again! Thanks for thinking of us.

      So glad you like the card, I had to defrost the stamp pads the other day! LOL! Have a great day! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Hi, Justin. First, love your “work” on your cards and the details to show how you created them and what you used. My brother lives in Lakewood, NJ, and has no power yet either. Most of his neighbors do. He and his wife and cat are still in their house but it’s cold. They may have to go to a motel soon. Our thoughts and prayers are with ALL of you in NJ & NY. Dryer in Cincinnati, Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thanks Nancy! So glad you enjoy my projects! NJ got it bad too. I feel terrible for all of the people that don’t have houses to get power to anymore. Thanks for keeping us in you thoughts, we appreciate it! Hope that you have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Hope you get power back soon Justin. Great that you are still creating.

    Reply
  6. Very elegant Justin and that snowflake embossing is perfect for your layout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

