RSS Feed

Stylin’ Stampin’ Squad September Blog Hop!

Posted on

SSSHeader

Before I get to today’s post I wanted to thank all of the wonderful people that stopped by yesterday to wish me a Happy Birthday! It really means a lot to me! A huge thank you to Brian who is just awesome, sneaky but awesome, but you know that already! So yes, today is my birthday and it has been a really great one so far! πŸ™‚

Thank you so much for joining us for the September Stylin’ Stampin’ Squad Blog Hop! This month we are focusing on the tools of the stampin’ trade. Specifically, each of our favorite stamping tools. It’s amazing the kinds of tools that have been created to help us along in our paper-crafting addictions. This month’s blog hop will showcase many of the Stampin’ Up! tools that are now available to us in the 2013-2014 Stampin’ Up! Idea Book and Holiday Catalog and even a couple of products that are so new they aren’t in either catalog. We hope you enjoy seeing how we use the old and new tools and are inspired to come up with some great projects of your own.

You should have just left Kim R. of Stamping with KimΒ on the Stylin’ Stampin’ Squad blog hop. If so, you are in the right spot. If a link doesn’t work or you get off track, you will find the full blog hop lineup below.

For my project I used more than one of my favorite tools. My all time favorite tool is definitely my Big Shot, I think I use it in almost every card that I make! One of the new things they have for the Big Shot is the Thinlits Dies. They are just the coolest thing to come along in a while. You can make a flip card in minutes and variations on it too! My second favorite tool is my Stamp-a-ma-jig, I used that one an awful lot too!

My card uses the Circle Card Thinlits Dies with a little extension on the end. It’s actually quite easy to do, just leave 2 7/8″ extra card stock over the top of the right edge when you run it through the Big Shot, it even scores it for you! The base of my card is Basic Gray Card Stock. I used some Birthday Basics Designer Series Paper for the background that I trimmed using the Circles Collection Framelits. The front of the circle flip is a piece of Raspberry Ripple that I stamped with a stamp from the Cycle Celebration Stamp Set in Raspberry Ripple using my Stamp-a-ma-jig. The soda bottle is stamped in Summer Starfruit, the banner in Island Indigo and I cut them both out with my Paper Snips. The inside circle is a piece of Summer Starfruit that I embossed with the Stylish Stripes Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. For the greeting I stamped the Celebrate a Sweet Birthday in Raspberry Ripple and Island Indigo. The Decorative Label Punch and Scallop Oval Punch cut them out and some Stampin’ Dimensionals hold them in place. I really do love the Circle Card Thinlits, especially with the extra piece on the right! Thanks for hopping by to my blog to see my project for this month’s project. Now you are off to see Heidi B. of Stuck on Stampin’, she will have some good stuff for you too! Just another thanks for all of the birthday wishes! Have a great day and a pice of cake for me! πŸ™‚

Stylin' Stampin' Blog Hop

Stylin' Stampin' Blog Hop

SSSNext

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Gray, Raspberry Ripple, Summer Starfruit and Very Vanilla

Designer Series Paper: Birthday Basics

Ink: Summer Starfruit, Island Indigo and Raspberry Ripple Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Cycle Celebration Clear Mount

Thinlits: Circle Card

Framelits: Circles Collection

Tools: Big Shot, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Cycle Celebration CM

Birthday Basics DSP

Circle Card Thinlits Dies

Circles Collection Framelits

1. Shellie G. ofΒ Craft Smashup

2.Β Pam S. ofΒ Stampin’ in the Sun!

3. Tonya B. ofΒ Stampin’ with Tonya

4. Dawn S. ofΒ Dawn’s Creative Chalet

5. Darcy J. ofΒ DJ’s Stampin’ Place

6. Pamela W. ofΒ Stinky Tofu

7. Kim R. ofΒ Stamping with Kim

8. Justin K. ofΒ JK Cards

9. Heidi B ofΒ Stuck on Stampin’

10. Jennifer B. ofΒ NW Stamper

11. Bree R. ofΒ Craft-somnia

12. Diana E. ofΒ Stampin’ Fun with Diana

13. Jennifer C. ofΒ Happy 2 Scrap 4 Life

14. Jamie H. ofΒ Unique Ink

15. Kristina M. ofΒ Mama’s Sanity

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

128 responses »

  1. Great card Justin, H’ Bday, We have the cake sorted here. I can tell you it’s delicious.

    Reply
  2. Many happy returns Justin. I really love this paper and stamp set and have them both on my wish list. “Sweet” card.

    Reply
  3. This is an awesome card, Justin! It’s very clean and straightforward, and I like that. Beautiful choice of colors and the popped out sentiment on the soda bottle – awesome. Happy birthday, my friend!

    Reply
  4. A- VERY- HAPPY- BIRTHDAY- TO- YOU!!!
    This is a very charming card! I wouldn’t of thought to do the numbers like that, but it worked! I like it! The birthday basics, in background,really looks like “3D effects! Great card!
    Happy BD!!!

    Reply
  5. Happy “belated” Birthday to YOU!!! I LOVE this card and think I am going to have to CASE it!!! Hope you don’t mind….Have a great day!

    Reply
  6. Happy Birthday to you! (Yes, I came from Brian’s blog also). :o)

    Reply
  7. Happy Birthday ! Hope your day is filled with fun !
    Like your card …really cute .

    Reply
  8. Happy Birthday Justin. (Brian told me) Have a great day and I love the card. Need those thinlits.

    Reply
  9. Da Da Da Da Da today is your birthday, Da Da Da Da Da Happy Birthday To YOU! I was going for the Beatles song. Did you get it? Now on to your card, love the Basic Gray base with the DSP. Fussy cutting the wrap around banner on the soda bottle gives it the added pop. Along with the dimensional for the bottle. The circle having background stamping and inside the texture of the Stripes EF. Lovin every aspect of the your card.

    Reply
  10. Charissa May-Riley

    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  11. Happy, happy birthday Justin! Hope you have an awesome day! Cute card, too!

    Reply
  12. Hey Justin! Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  13. Happy Birthday Justin! Love your blog and look at it every day for inspiration and fun. Loved your experiences at convention and getting to know Brian. You guys are awesome!

    Reply
  14. Happy Birthday Justin. Love all your cards and reading your blog

    Reply
  15. Happy Birthday to you! Beautiful card- have a great day!

    Reply
  16. Happy, Happy Birthday to you! from a new follower; I found you through Brian πŸ™‚

    Reply
  17. Happy Birthday! Wonderful card today!

    Reply
  18. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! You bring joy to a lot of people. Love your card. It’s going in my “Jason Cards” file. Have a wonderful day and year to come.

    Reply
  19. Happy Belated Birthday, Justin! I just commented on this card over on SCS, but hopped over here to wish you a happy birthday and now I see the inside of this very clever card … AWESOME! Great job!

    Reply
  20. HAPPY BIRTHDAY JUSTIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Have a great day!

    Reply
  21. Happy Birthday! Justin we share a birthday month and almost a birthday. Isn’t September a great month for a birthday, Just the right temperature to do just about anything. Wishing you many more

    Reply
  22. Happy Birthday to the king of fussing cutting!!! Your skill and patience is something I hope to find in myself some day πŸ™‚ I love your card! I hope you have a great day Justin!

    Reply
  23. Happy Birthday, Justin!! Have a great day!! Darling card, too!

    Reply
  24. Happy Birthday Justin… May your day be filled with fun, excitement, and all that you want!

    Reply
  25. Happy Birthday Justin! Hope you are doing something really special to celebrate!

    Reply
  26. Happiest of birthdays to you, Justin, from your fans in Katy/Houston, Texas!!

    Reply
  27. Happy Birthday Justin!! Hope your Birthday is as awesome as your cards!! Cheers to 9/12 Birthday buddy! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  28. Happy Birthday Justin!! May your day be filled with all that is precious to you! May you enjoy the laughter of a friend, the warmth of a hug and the wonder of all today brings!
    I just love this card! I do not have this dsp, Yet! It is on my next order. As are the circle and label thinlits!
    Enjoy each moment today!
    Donna

    Reply
  29. Happy Birthday, Justin! I hooe you have a great day:) Great card!

    Reply
  30. Happy Birthday Justin. May your be peace filled.

    Reply
  31. Happy Birthday Justin! I hope you have a wonderful day! You have a great blog, love your designs and your chit-chat too! All great people are born in September! πŸ˜‰ Enjoy your day! Karen

    Reply
  32. Have a wonderful birthday! Brian sent me…..

    Reply
  33. Happy Happy Birthday! You are such a joy unto yourself. Thank you for all you do for us. Brian turned out to be more than just a convention gift, didn’t he? You two complement each other very well. (Look up “complement”) Have another great day and year! Nancy B

    Reply
  34. Fun card! (Gotta get those circle card framelits!) Love the fussy cutting of the soda bottle in two different ink colors…makes it really stand out. The numbers background is super fun, too! Hope you have a fabulous birthday!!

    Reply
  35. Such a cute card! I can’t wait for my Thinlits to get here tomorrow! SO EXCITED!!!!

    Reply
  36. Happy birthday!!! I’m a new member of Brian’s Stampin’ Clubhouse. So glad he steered me over here; love your cards! Following your blog now, and off to peek at the rest of the blog. Have a super crazy amazing day!

    Reply
  37. Happy Belated Birthday – great card – love the colours you used.

    Reply
  38. Great to have you back on our hop!!! Love all your projects as always!!!

    Reply
  39. Just found your blog through Brian and haven’t had a chance to peruse it yet but Happy Birthday!! I hope you have a great day!!

    Reply
  40. Happy birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day! We are celebrating my youngest birthday today, he’s 7. Thanks tor all the great ideas you share!

    Reply
  41. Great card Justin! of course I don’t think you know how to make a bad card πŸ˜‰
    wishing you the very happiest of birthday’s today. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

    Reply
  42. Happy Birthday Justin… You have a wonderful day, as great as your card.

    Finally got my Big Shot yesterday and now will get to use those Thinlits properly and without fear of bending them in the Cuttlebug… it fits but barely! Thanks for all the inspiration that is all over your blog and finding all those fun challenges thanks to you. I had no idea there were so many! Have a great day! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  43. Justin, Happy Birthday to YOU!!!! I hope it if full of love and fun surprises! I love your card. However I must admit I stalk your blog daily for creative inspiration. You make beautiful things!

    Reply
  44. Happy birthday Justin! Hope you are having a fun-filled day! I love your card and I just can’t wait for Stampin Up to introduce the circle card thinlits over here in England (not fair, Stampin Up!).

    Reply
  45. Pastor Lorie Betz

    Happy Birthday Justin. God Bless You!

    Pastor Lorie Betz

    Reply
  46. I love the way you made the card. The razzberry ripple really makes the card pop!! May this
    be your best birthday yet! Happy birthday!

    Reply
  47. Happy Birthday Justin! We can’t wait to get the Thinlits in the UK…..you inspire us all! xxx

    Reply
  48. Hope you have a wonderful birthday! Thanks for sharing your cards for wonderful inspiration!

    Reply
  49. Awesome cars and happy birthday!

    Reply
  50. Happy Birthday – sorry a bit late. Just saw the post on Carolyn’s blog. Hope you had a great day. Your cards are great.

    Reply
  51. Great minds think alike Justin! Great card, I love the thinlets and the extended card gives you even more space for writing and decorating. Perfect birthday greetings.

    Reply
  52. OMG I LOVE LOVE your card! I can see myself case’ing this card! You did a great job! Happy Birthday my friend! I hope you have an amazing day!!!! And year for that matter!

    Reply
  53. Love your card!!!! Happy birthday!

    Reply
  54. Hi Justin! I hope your birthday is as fabulous as you are!! I have very much enjoyed reading your blog posts in the last few months & I love how you throw in a few words about the weather and/or your plans/activities for the day! I also like what you and Brian share about each other!! You brighten my day, inspire me, and help me smile!!

    Reply
  55. Beautiful card! You did a wonderful job on the fussy cutting and the stamp set and DSP are just wonderful on your card.

    Reply
  56. Happy Birthday, Justin!!! Hope you had a wonderful day!

    Reply
  57. Happy Birthday Justin, hope you are having an amazing day πŸ™‚

    Reply
  58. HaPpy BirTHdaY, Justin! And LOVE the card!

    Reply
  59. Beautiful card. Love the thinlets. They are on my wish list.

    Reply
  60. Happy Belated Birthday Justin! I hope your day was happy and wonderful!

    Reply
  61. El Garmarnik, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Fantastic design, Justin! The color combo is *so* bright, cheery, and fun!!! Love your choice of DSP which helps project the birthday theme. The 3-D effect around the soda bottle really makes that element pop. Great card!!!

    Reply
  62. Justin, as always you totally blew it out of the water! πŸ™‚ I’m always so afraid of bold busy patterns but you rocked it and it looks fantastic. The soda bottle with the dimension is a really cool touch too. Thanks for sharing your creativity!

    Reply
  63. I’d love to see a video on how you did the extension. How are you able to leave an extra 2-7/8″ without having it cut off?

    Reply
    • I have had enough requests that I will do a video this weekend Karin. πŸ™‚
      All you have to do is leave the extra card stock over the top of the Thinlit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

