RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 112

Posted on

It was another very frigid day here, lots of wind too. It’s supposed to warm up by the weekend, let’s hope they are right! Work was insanely busy and things are piling up and I don’t like that at all. Hopefully I will be able to play some catch-up on Friday. I stayed in last night where it was warm and played with my crafty stuff. Got a few projects made and have a bunch more to finish this weekend. Ahh, soon the weekend, don’t you just love it?!?!

My post for today is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. Thank you so much to Linda for choosing me as the King of Clean for lats week’s challenge!! What an honor! You can see my original post here and the Freshly Made Sketches post here. Now for this week, the sketch is provided by Jen…

Freshly Made Sketches #112

A very simple sketch but open to some fun interpretation. The base of my card is Strawberry Slush Card Stock. My tags are from the Stamp a Tag Kit  and I threaded some Linen Thread throughout the holes for that authentic tag look! The greeting is from the Christmas Messages Stamp Set. I masked off the greeting with tape and stamped each part separately on a tag. The chevrons are also from the Stamp a Tag Kit and are stamped in Coastal Cabana along with the greeting. My stars are from the Simply Stars Stamp Set and are also stamped in Coastal Cabana and cut out with my Paper Snips. Some Stampin’ Dimensionals hold them in place and complete my simple card. I even kind of got the red and green in there too! LOL! Thanks for stopping by today to see my Freshly Made Sketches card for this week’s challenge. I always appreciate your visit and hope that you enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

FMS 112-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Strawberry Slush and Whisper White

Ink: Coastal Cabana Classi Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Christmas Messages and Simply Stars Clear Mount and Stamp a Tag Kit Wood Mount

Kit: Stamp a Tag

Embellishments: Linen Thread

Tools: Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Christmas Messages CM

Simply Stars CM

Stamp a Tag Kit

Linen Thread

Current Promotions:

Pop & Place Holiday Gift Tags and Stamps are a great way to get all of your holiday tags done quickly! You can purchase just what you need; tags, stamps or one of two bundles! The stamp set is Photopolymer so that makes placement easy. Another great thing is that all of the tags shapes are made from Punches and Framelits so if you want to add more it’s easy! They also make a great gift! Click here to order yours today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two latest ones are Map It Out and Greetings From. There is also a special Halloween set! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

25 responses »

  1. I somehow missed your ‘King of Clean’ title last week. A very belated Congrats! Todays card reminds me of one that a teen would enjoy with your color pallet. Clean and crisp also. We are to have warmer weather this weekend as well. In the meantime make sure your have your scarf to help keep out that nasty wind. Don’t I sound just like a mother. LOL

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Lisa, I appreciate it! Yes you’re right about the colors but I get red-and-green-ed out very quickly. LOL! I always have my scarf, I love scarves! And no, you just sound concerned. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Congrats Justin !!! I saw your card as I was surfing this morning and the honor bestowed upon your deserving card making self . That card is the cutest …and this one is also . This base color is refreshing to me at this point of the season`s most vibrant colors. BTW…it`s pretty cold in N.C. this morning too! Stay warm !

    Reply
    • Thank you Sonny. You are too kind! Yes I do like the red and green go by the wayside. Sorry it’s cold by you too, hopefully it’ll warm up for both of us soon!

      Reply
  3. Love your take on the sketch this week! The tags are super and the colors are fab!

    Reply
  4. Very cool take on the sketch. I would never have thought to use the stars and pop them out but then again, I’m not a Justin or a Brian! LOL Great job.

    Reply
  5. Great take on that sketch and good use of the little tags! Totally will be casing the idea, maybe in more traditional colors for my targeted audience though >>> LOL >>> if making a XMas card that is; those colors would be perfect of a teenage girl’s BD! Stay warm. Freezing here but sunshine!

    Reply
  6. Hi Justin-great card! I think the Simply Stars set is one of the best sets there is. That set seems to make its way onto a lot of my cards lately. Now we just need the star punches to make another appearance! These colors are great together and I like the way you separated the greeting onto each tag. Hope your day was a good one! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us tomorrow…I’m having sequin withdrawal ya know!

    Reply
    • Thanks Karen. I agree, I love the Simply Stars set! I am lucky enough to have the large punch, but I’m still looking for the small one. The separated greeting is my favorite part of the card. And just for you, tomorrow’s card will have sequins on it! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Great card Justin! Love those tags!!! What a fun colour combination! Those stars are the perfect accent! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  8. Love this card.

    Reply
  9. Awesome! Loving the colour combo and congrats on your King of Clean. Hugs Bev x

    Reply
  10. Great card with fresh colours this week Justin, and huge congrats on King of Clean – I loved that card and the title is well-deserved!

    Reply
  11. Perfect combination of images, stamps and colours! Love how you’ve used the tags as they work so well with the sketch! Thanks for joining us at FMS this week! ps. Hope your weather improves – we’ve just had the most perfect day down under in Melbourne today! We’re hoping this is the start of our summer now 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Narelle! It was a fun sketch! It turned out to be a nice day after around 11:00am, the sun was out and it was 60! Today is a bit overcast but it’s November! Glad to hear that you had a lovely day! Have a great week! 🙂

      Reply
  12. Love the tags, love how you used them! Fantastic. Always glad to see you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

