RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 113

Posted on

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, it’s that time again… FRIDAY is here!! This week at work seemed to be extra long but thankfully it will be over in a few short hours. My boss comes back from Israel on Monday, she did send us a video of her riding a camel the other day. That was quite entertaining! Tomorrow morning I’m off to Manhattan. Pray that the rain ends early so I can take a little walk and get some pictures! I also found out today that I’ll have to fend for myself on Thanksgiving as my parents will be heading down to my brother’s house. Looks like it will be a movie day for Justin!

Cindy Hall and the “Clean Team” over at Freshly Made Sketches gave us this sketch to work with this time…

Freshly Made Sketches #113

I decided for a change, I would go with a solid color for the background and base of my card. The inspiration for the colors in my card comes from the I Am Me Designer Series Paper. Funny enough, I liked the way the colors worked together on the card, but ended up not using the DSP! The base of the card is Basic Gray Card Stock. My two offset pieces are Real Red and across that is a piece of Calypso Coral. The light bulb images are from the Crazy, Mixed-Up Love Stamp Set, which is apparently my “Stamp Set of the week” LOL! My Stamp-a-ma-jig helped me line them up and they are backed with a piece of Pool Party, which is mounted to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I stamped the greeting from the same set in Versa-Mark and heat embossed it with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. That’s it! Today’s card is simple but fun. As always, I hope you enjoyed my post for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches, thanks for stopping by today! Enjoy your Friday, I know I will! 🙂

FMS 113-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Gray, Real Red, Calypso Coral, Pool Party and Whisper White

Ink: So Saffron Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Embossing Powder: White Stampin’ Emboss

Stamp Set: Crazy, Mixed-Up Love Clear Mount

Tools: Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Crazy, Mixed-Up Love CM

White Stampin' Emboss Powder

Current Promotions:

It’s time for Stampin’ Up!’s Annual Holiday Sale!! Save up to 50% on select item November 20th thru December 2nd! Hurry before it’s too late!! Click here for a PDF of the flyer!

Pop & Place Holiday Gift Tags and Stamps are a great way to get all of your holiday tags done quickly! You can purchase just what you need; tags, stamps or one of two bundles! The stamp set is Photopolymer so that makes placement easy. Another great thing is that all of the tags shapes are made from Punches and Framelits so if you want to add more it’s easy! They also make a great gift! Click here to order yours today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two latest ones are Map It Out and Greetings From. There is also a special Halloween set! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. Justin this is brilliant (no pun intended) for this sketch! I love it! OK ordering this stamp set today.

    Reply
  2. Really cute card, Justin! I like the cleanness of it all. Great color combo – I often times look to DSP for color inspiration.

    Reply
  3. Justin, this is the last set I thought I’d ever want. Can’t believe you are changing my mind. Great card!!

    Reply
  4. Justin, really cute card! I too am ordering this stamp set, today. Would you like to spend Thanksgiving with us, in California…….you will be most welcomed!

    Reply
  5. Hi Justin – I’m a lot closer than Nancy’s LOL. Would love to have you come to Maine and enjoy Thanksgiving with us. We don’t eat until 5 or 6 so you would have plenty of time for the drive here. Let me think – probably about 7 hours. You don’t even have to call, there is always room and food for one more at my house!

    Fab card today. I am definitely a CAS stamper and that little bit of Pool Party really made this card pop. Great job.

    Reply
    • LOL Grace! Yes, Maine is a little more drivable! You are awesome!! If I didn’t have to work Friday I would seriously take you up on your offer! 🙂

      I’m glad you enjoyed the card and I hope that you have a lovely Thanksgiving! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Why don’t you make the rounds on Thanksgiving weekend? You are more than welcome to come here for Saturday turkey! We will even drive you to Northern Kentucky University to see the 19 foot tree my husband arranged to deliver for their campus. It is awesome. Then we can go to downtown Cincinnati and see the tree and decorations in Fountain Square to compare to the elegance of Manhattan. Oh, how I miss it there! My cousin is one of the animal handlers at Radio City Music Hall! Don’t forget that we have a guest room right next to my stamping room, but we don’t have to do a thing except relax…the door is always open.
    Anyway, you and Brian are really opening my eyes to all that the Crazy, Mixed Up Love set can do. Hope to see you soon! I’ll pick you up from the airport. You are on my Grateful list. Nancy B

    Reply
    • Well Nancy, that would be the most amazing Thanksgiving ever! I love Christmas trees, I can’t wait for the one in Rockefeller Center! I have never been to Cincinnati, it’s on my list of places to visit. Your cousin sounds like they have a very interesting job! That is sweet of you and I may just take you up on your offer in the future!

      I really didn’t think I would use the set as much as I have. I waited to get it which is not like me! You are a wonderful person and I’m glad to have you “visit” me!

      XO

      Reply
  7. You & your terrific card just make me smile–thanks, Justin!

    Reply
  8. Well Justin it looks like you will be very busy for your Thanksgiving weekend now! I guess your parents are going to see the new little baby!!!! We already have had our Thanskgiving here in Canada but you are most welcomed to come over to Ontario (LOL) Have a full Crop Day at my fav Scrapbook Store – all day did I say 10 to 8 – we would make room for you!

    Now I see the sketch and understand the “offset of the red pieces (LOL should always come here first before SC). Great card, great combo, very CAS.

    Reply
    • LOL! Yes, Louise, wouldn’t that be a great Thanksgiving, visiting everyone?! Yup, mum and dad are off to see their new grandson. A full day crop sounds neat, I can spend that much time at my craft desk on the weekend no problem! I have been to Toronto, I’ll have to add Ontario to my list!

      I loved they sketch had those offset pieces, it’s different and I love that! Have a great Friday! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Justin, lunch is at 12 noon if you happen to be coming thru Indiana Thursday and want some fun and crazy company with nice people who love to laugh.

    Reply
    • I wish I was coming through Indiana at 12 on Thursday, it sounds like a ton of fun! I actually have a friend from Mishawaka, Indiana, do you know where that is? I don’t think anybody actually does. LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Wow, you have many open invitations for years to come. After you stop over in Cincinnati you could stop in Northwest Ohio for more yummy food. Only one problem this year, my husband is having surgery next week. Will have to give you a rain check. Now back to your card…liking the simplicity and cuteness. It’s always a pleasure to see other people’s idea’s on stamp sets that don’t ‘trip my trigger’. Yippee…the weekend is here! Enjoy!

    Reply
    • Yes, Lisa, I am one lucky guy to have such wonderful people who want to spend time with as I would love to spend time with them. I hope that your husband’s surgery goes well, you’ll have to let me know! Thanks, I’m so glad I was able to get you interested in something that didn’t tickle your fancy in the first place! Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  11. I love the gray background Justin! It’s perfect with the pop of red and yellow! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

