RSS Feed

Paper Players 173

Posted on

It was absolutely freezing here yesterday and the wind was between 25 and 40 MPH at any given point during the day. BRR! I ran some errands yesterday, finished my bookmarks and got some other crafty projects done. It was just too cold to be outside! I’m glad you enjoyed my little holiday pictures from Manhattan yesterday. There will be plenty more to come in the future. I have to go back and take a picture of the tree once it’s finished. My boss is back from Israel today, I’m sure she’ll be spending most of her day catching up on about 3,000 emails!

The only good thing about Monday is that it’s time for the Paper Players! This week is a shaped card challenge from Jaydee…

Paper Players #173

I don’t know why, but I’m not a huge fan of shaped cards so I decided to keep mine simple. The base for my card is Sahara Sand Card Stock. I used the Large Scallop Edgelit to trim off the bottom of the front of the card and replaced it with some Brushed Gold Card Stock. A few angled snips on each of the top sides and a hole in the middle and voila, we have a tag! I used a piece of Brushed Gold Card Stock cut out with the Festive Flurry Framelits Dies for the base of my images. The ornaments are from last year’s Ornament Keepsakes Stamp Set, which is still available. They are stamped in Bermuda Bay, Pear Pizzazz and Cherry Cobbler, cut out with the Holiday Ornaments Framelits Dies and adhered to the snowflake with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My greeting is a piece of Basic Black cut out with the Expressions Thinlits Dies and adhered to the ornaments with 2-Way Glue. The finishing touch is a piece of Basic Black 3/4″ Chevron Ribbon tied with a piece of Whisper White Baker’s Twine. While I may not be a fan of shaped cards, I do love tags, so I figured that would be a perfect compromise for today’s card. I love the color combination and I think the greeting looks neat in the Basic Black. I hope you enjoyed my take on Jaydee’s shaped card challenge for this week’s Paper Players. As always, thanks so much for taking time out of your day to come check out my blog! 🙂

Paper Players 173-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Sahara Sand, Very Vanilla and Basic Black

Specialty Card Stock: Brushed Gold

Ink: Bermuda Bay, Pear Pizzazz and Cherry Cobbler Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Ornament Keepsakes Clear Mount

Framelits: Holiday Ornaments and Festive Flurry

Edgelit: Large Scallop

Thinlit: Expressions

Punch: 1/2″ Circle

Embellishments: Basic Black 3/4″ Chevron Ribbon and Whisper White Baker’s Twine

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Ornament Keepsakes CM

Holiday Ornaments Framelits Dies

Festive Flurry Framelits Dies

Large Scallop Edgelits Die

Expressions Thinlits Dies

1:2%22 Circle Punch

Basic Black 3:4%22 Chevron Ribbon

White Bakers Twine

Current Promotions:

It’s time for Stampin’ Up!’s Annual Holiday Sale!! Save up to 50% on select item November 20th thru December 2nd! Hurry before it’s too late!! Click here for a PDF of the flyer!

Pop & Place Holiday Gift Tags and Stamps are a great way to get all of your holiday tags done quickly! You can purchase just what you need; tags, stamps or one of two bundles! The stamp set is Photopolymer so that makes placement easy. Another great thing is that all of the tags shapes are made from Punches and Framelits so if you want to add more it’s easy! They also make a great gift! Click here to order yours today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two latest ones are Map It Out and Greetings From. There is also a special Halloween set! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

34 responses »

  1. Hi Justin-Brrr, is right! It’s freezing here too and the snow is falling…maybe an inch or so today. Good day to stay in the stamp room! I really like this card, how clever! The colors are great, I would have never thought to put the brushed gold with the sahara sand. It’s the perfect background for the festive ornaments! I agree with you, the “merry” just pops in black. Hope you have a good, productive Monday. I’m sure you’re happy to see your boss again!

    Reply
    • Hi Karen! At least we don’t have the snow! Yes, it’s a good day to be indoors, unfortunately mine will be spent at work! LOL! I’m glad you like the card! Yes, I will be glad to see Nancy again! Thanks you and enjoy your day! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Love how the black Merry and ribbon pop. Nice contrast. Keep warm. 🙂

    Reply
  3. What bright and colorful ornaments! The gold accents are really great.

    Reply
  4. Justin, I love that you created a tag card. The layered snowflake, ornaments and sentiment are perfect. I love that you created the sentiment in black and mirrored that with the chevron ribbon. So glad you joined my challenge at the Paper Players this week
    Jaydee

    Reply
  5. I really like this, Justin! The color combo is terrific and I love how you layered the snowflake, ornaments and greeting. The chevron ribbon tied off with baker’s twine is the perfect finish touch. Awesome take on the challenge!

    Reply
  6. I love this card. I never would have thought to put brushed gold with sahara sand, but that combo is striking. I’m putting that idea in the back of my mind for later use. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Ornament Keepsakes is one of my favorite sets yet I have never thought to position the ornaments one upon the other. I love the look! The color combo on the Sahara Sand background is fabulous! Great card Justin, you helped me remember that I have that stamp set somewhere in this room. LOL

    Reply
  8. Love the layering on this card Justin and the unusual take of the shaped card. We’ve had SU European Convention here for the last few days so it’s been extra busy. I’m catching up with your blog posts over lunch 🙂

    Reply
  9. Happy Monday, Justin! I, too, like your tag idea for a card. It’s quick and easy, and out of the ordinary. Nice choice! I’ve been a little reluctant to purchase this set of Thinlit Dies, but you keep coming up with tasteful ways to use them…I think I’m going to put them on my next order and put my Big Shot into high gear!! As always, a great card. Happy Thanksgiving to you no matter where you spend it! We have so very much to be thankful for!

    Reply
  10. Hi Justin, first, I HATE this bitter cold too! And we’re only in November still. . . But, I love your tag shaped card! It’s very creative. I tend to not be a fan of “odd” shaped cards either, but you’ve done the challenge well.

    Reply
  11. Wonderful take on the challenge Justin! And I love those colors together. The sentiment in black really pops up. The ornaments on top of the snowflakes look absolutely great.

    Very cold here but we were lucky …. just down the road from us, in London (ON) they had over 70cm of snow!!!(how many inches is that…. hum.. just checked and that is 27.5!!!! OMG). So count our blessings, we got just a couple of inches; however, it’s still on the ground because it’s so cold… brrrrr.
    Enjoy your Monday, probably will be very busy for you too with your boss back in the office!

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! WOW! That’s a lot of snow!! I wouldn’t like that at all! I really am not liking the cold at all! It’s been a good Monday! Nancy was very excited to tell about her trip! I said, see I told you there is more to life than work! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  12. Love the tag card, super idea, very different. I really like your colours and the layered ornaments, a really beautiful card. We don’t have snow coming down here but it is -12C, cold and the dog needs walking, eek!

    Reply
  13. Gorgeous! What terrific idea; I feel like I can even do that. I tend to be intimidated by shaped cards.

    Reply
  14. Love it !! Your so neat no matter what you do !!
    Tfs ,
    Frenchie

    Reply
  15. Love this cvard – Pinterest – Woo Hoo 🙂

    Reply
  16. Such great comments, woo who! I am agreeing with everyone. I just may be slipping away from sticking to my traditional colors. Oh My!

    Reply
  17. I really like this card. The tag shape is so striking. I love how simple it would be to make. Your card really packs a lovely punch! Merry Christmas

    Reply

Leave a Reply

