RSS Feed

Retro Hexagon Moon

Posted on

It was another chilly day here but the sun was out so that made it a little better. I had a nice day with Andrew, we ran errands and had some lunch. He had dinner with the people from his a cappella group for one of the members birthdays tonight. I watched some TV and relaxed for a bit. Sometimes it’s really nice to just be, don’t you think? I’m off to Manhattan for a bit this morning, it’s supposed to rain again but be in the 40’s so hopefully that will get rid of some of the snow!

Today my card starts off with a base of Baked Brown Sugar. I used the Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die to cut out a piece of Coastal Cabana, Tangerine Tango and Very Vanilla. I adhered the Coastal Cabana piece to the card base and randomly filled in the empty spots with the other two colors. Next up I flagged a piece of Retro Fresh Designer Series Paper and adhered that to the background. My greeting is from the Love You to the Moon Stamp Set, is stamped in Coastal Cabana and cut out with the Chalk Talk Framelits Dies. A piece of Tangerine Tango, also cut out with the same dies, is behind that. Under that is a piece of Very Vanilla and I punched both ends with the Scallop Tag Topper Punch, they’re adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I really like the way the Hexagon Hive looks when it’s randomly filled in and how cool is it that the double punch of the Scallop Tag Topper fits behind the Chalk Talk Framelit? I hope you enjoyed my bright, bold card for today. Thanks, as always, for stopping by and have a great Sunday!

Retro Hexagon Moon-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Baked Brown Sugar, Coastal Cabana, Tangerine Tango and Very Vanilla

Designer Series Paper: Retro Fresh

Ink: Coastal Cabana Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Love You to the Moon

Framelits: Chalk Talk

Thinlits: Hexagon Hive

Punch: Scallop Tag Topper

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Love You to the Moon CM

Retro Fresh DSP

Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die

Chalk Talk Framelits

Scallop Tag Topper Punch

Current Promotions:

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Eye-Catching Ikat. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

30 responses »

  1. I think SU called you for this Occasions Mini and asked your taste, as when I see the “retro” you def come to mind!
    You’re such a genius I swear I so need to think outside the box (the tag topper being used as a tag “bottomer” too, maybe I just need to get some ginkgo in high dosages huh?
    Love the colors.. layout.. the use of the hexagon die.. ok ok just everything 😀

    Reply
    • oh.. PS happy Sunday.. have fun and be safe oh oh and warm 😀

      Reply
    • Ha ha ha! How cool would that be Fran?!?! Shelli – Let’s call Justin and see what he wants in the new catalog! There is definitely a LOT of things that I love in the catalog for sure! Sometimes I get lucky and if I sit and start at something long enough I see things! Delusions I believe they are called! LOL! So happy you like the card!! 🙂

      Reply
      • BWWAHHHHAAA @ delusions!!
        You are too funny.. and I think that Shelli peeks at your blog & cards just under a pseudonym… whatcha think?? might work eh?BWWAHHHHAA maybe shes a Jane.. or June.. surely not a Sally 😉

      • LOL!! Yes, very delusional! I hope that she does stop by! She seems like such a lovely person. Maybe I will get to say hi at Leadership. I met Sarah and she was great! 🙂

  2. Hi Justin:
    I must say, you use that thinlits die to the max! Very inspiring! There are a number of things in the catalog that, upon first perusal, seem limited in their use but then YOU use it a gazillion ways. Maybe instead of Shelli calling to see what you want in the new catalog she should call to see if you want to make samples for the new catalog. Now that would be super cool! Have a wonderful day. It is actually 16 above zero this morning and the sun is shining. Perhaps some of this ice will disappear!

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      I love the Thinlits Die! I try to get the most out of what I buy. Thank you! Wouldn’t that be awesome if I got to make samples for the catalog!! I had an amazing day! I hope that you had a good day and that your ice melted! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Love love love this card – you are so creative and appreciate the way your mind sees how different shapes and colors interact!

    Reply
  4. Justin, Brilliant idea to use the tag topper as a matt for the chalk talk die!!!!! I have that tag topper punch and love it! Now I have yet another use for it. Thanks for constantly giving me new ideas.

    Reply
  5. Hello Justin from the frozen tundra of Wisconsin…Ugh! This card warmed me up! I loved everything about it! The layout, the colors, the paper, the hexagon die…So cute!! And how clever to use the tag topper punch in that way! I’m gonna have to borrow that idea from you!
    😉 Have a great time in Manhattan, hope you can get a pic or two for us! Enjoy your day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen! Yes, Wisconsin is definitely a tundra! My mum’s friend lives in Chippewa Falls. I’m happy that I was able to send some warmth your way! Borrow away! I had a lovely day in Manhattan and yes, I have some pics for you tomorrow! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Hi Justin from snowy southern Ontario. I absolutely love your card and all the bold colors! Sounds like a lot of work involved. You always have such a way of making all those products alive!

    Hopefully the snow won’t be as bad so we can make our way to Buffalo for our flight to Houston on Tuesday morning for Leadership! Can’t wait to hear your presentation. Stay warm today.

    Reply
    • Hello Louise! Yes, that is way too much of that snow going around! I’m so glad you enjoyed the card! I can’t wait to see you! I get there on Wednesday! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Love, love, love this card! I haven’t been too crazy about the hexagon thinlit, but I really like the way you used it in this card!

    Reply
  8. Hey Justin, Good morning!
    As always, I have to agree with what the other folks say. Love everything about this card. Nice work! Awesome colors! Have a great day! 🙂 Donna

    Reply
  9. I agree with Melanie in regard to the Hexagon Thinlit …Haven`t really been interested BUT…you have led me to look at it again . Someone said the punched out Hexies are fun to position on your card too ! Love it ! Cute card !

    Reply
    • Woo hoo! I love when I can make you guys see something extra! Thank you Sonny! Yes, the cut out ones are fun to use. I have a ton so you will see them a lot! 🙂

      Reply
  10. This card is just ‘eye poppin’………………that’s exactly what happened to mine when I scrolled down. I am over the moon with this card. The color combo is so exhilarating. A very clever trick with the scallop tag topper. Filling in the negative spaces in the hexagon thinlits adds great depth. Great way to use up the cutouts. I did this with the Lattice die on a card I did for Brian King’s holiday swap. The big storm that is to hit us is just now getting here and it’s snowing piling up to 10 inches. The winds and subzero temps will follow. Sounds like it is headed your way. Hope you can get out of town to attend leadership. I know you’ve worked so hard and prepped for it. What a shame if you were to get snowed in. I’m crossing my fingers.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lisa! I like the bold colors! I loved your card for Brian’s Holiday swap! I have had way more than enough snow. It didn’t melt and now is just slush and dirty! Wednesday is supposed to be fine, but I am crossing everything just in case! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Your card is very eye-catching! Your use of the new Hexagon Hive Thinlit has me thinking more and more about it. I agree with above responders that SU should use you for their card designs for catalogs. Would you like to work for SU as a designer? Wow! To think we knew you when! I hope the weather holds up for your trip to and from. If you see lots of specks on the wall during your presentation, they are all of us giving you kudos and support! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Nancy! I would love to work for Stampin’ Up! LOL! That would be so cool! I will think of all of you while I’m doing my presentation! 🙂

      Reply
  12. WOWZA! WOWZA! WOWZA! I am speechless….and trust me, that’s a HUGE thing! I don’t know what to type first….how much I love the colors, or how much I think it’s way cool, that the tag topper is now a “bottom topper” too. (or something like that). I was thinking now where did the holes go in the tag topper? So quietly hidden with the next layer. Genius! You are truly giving us an eye full of wonderful creativity Justin! Thanks so much for the inspiration! And being from Chicago, where the temps are hitting wind chills of minus 50…. I am super glad I live in Arizona now….it’s 69 today. ahhhhh… where’s my flip flops?!

    Reply
    • LOL! I can relate to being speechless as a big thing Bobbi! Thank you so much! I like the bottom topper, I may use that! I’m humbled by your kindness and so happy that I get to inspire you! We are done with winter I think. I have been to Chicago a few times, love it there, but probably not in the winter! I have always wanted to go to Arizona, it’s on my list! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

