RSS Feed

Mojo 327

Posted on

Don’t panic… you’re in the right place! LOL! I decided it was time to change up the blog. I had the last one for quite some time and I thought it could use a refresh. I went with a cleaner and simpler design this time around. It was all done in MDS and I figured it would be easy for me to change the colors of the feathers if I get bored again. You’ll have to let me know what you think; as always, your input is valued. Yesterday was my last day of work for a week and it was actually a pretty good day! The weather here started out at 56 degrees yesterday morning and this morning is a balmy 7. So looking forward to my flight to Houston tomorrow. In other news, airlines cancelled a bunch of flights again today. Keep your fingers crossed that mine goes off without a hitch! By the way, I didn’t forget about my little scavenger hunt contest from last week where I asked you to tell me what “Vintage” Designer Series Paper I used. Thanks for playing along and my randomly selected winner is Tricia! Please click the “Contact Me” button at the top of the blog and send me your information so I can send you your surprise!

My inspiration for today’s card comes from this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. Julee Tilman has given us a simple sketch this week…

Mojo327

For my card base I used Smoky Slate Card Stock. The strip of Designer Series Paper down the left side is from the Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper Pack. The main panel is a piece of Whisper White backed with a piece of Basic Black and peeking out from underneath is a piece of Bermuda Bay that I cut out with the Deco Labels Collection Framelits Dies. My stamped images are from the Geometrical Stamp Set. The triangles are stamped in Strawberry Slush, Crushed Curry, Smoky Slate and Basic Gray and the greeting is stamped in Bermuda Bay. I used the Triangle Punch for the four triangles and the Chevron Border Punch was used to punch out the black chevrons. All of them are adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I really do like the colors in the Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper, they’re a bunch of colors that I normally wouldn’t think to put together, I love when they do that! Thank you very much for stopping by to see my card for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. Don’t forget to let me know what you think about the new blog design and enjoy your Tuesday! ๐Ÿ™‚

Mojo 327-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Smoky Slate, Basic Black, Whisper White and Bermuda Bay

Designer Series Paper: Kaleidoscope

Ink: Bermuda Bay, Strawberry Slush, Crushed Curry, Smoky Slate and Basic Gray Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Geometrical Clear Mount

Framelits: Deco Labels Collection

Punches: Triangle and Chevron Border

Tools: Big Shot, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Geometrical CM

Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper

Deco Labels Collection Framelits

Chevron Border Punch

Triangle Punch

Current Promotions:

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Eye-Catching Ikat. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

31 responses »

  1. Good Morning Justin. The blog page has a nice, clean look. I like it. Great card as usual. Have a great and warm time in Houston.

    Reply
  2. Love the new blog look! Can’t wait to hear all your stories from Houston! Card is awesome, the triangles are very cute.

    Reply
  3. Hi Justin! LOVE the new look of your blog. Not that anything was wrong with your other one. So clean and crisp looking. Very nice! Love this card! I’ve been having a little trouble with this stamp set and once again you’ve given me some great ideas! Thank you! I hope you have a great time at Leadership and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a safe and timely ๐Ÿ˜‰ flight! Can’t wait to hear all about it! Sending warm thoughts your way!

    Reply
    • Hi Karen!
      Yeah! Thanks! I needed cleaner and brighter. The old one was fun but a little drab. I’m so happy that you got some ideas from me! I appreciate the wishes for a safe and timely flight! I’ll tell you all about about it, don’t worry! Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Great new look on your blog. I like the simplicity and brightness of it, and that you can change the colors at will! Nice job.

    Reply
  5. Justin, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this card. I’m so surprised that I like the Kaleidoscope paper. I usually don’t like bright colors. But this is such a fun card! And once again you have used a stamp set that I didn’t even consider until now. Thanks AGAIN for your inspiration.
    Good luck with your trip tomorrow.

    Reply
    • Thanks Gerri! I love the colors that they put together for the Kaleidoscope DSP, not ones that I would usually do. Thanks for checking in! And yes, keep your fingers crossed for tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Great card today and yes, that Kaleidoscope DSP is really color inspiring. One thing about the new blog – where it says “click here for the PDF”, you can’t click there……….nothing happens.

    Hey, have a safe and enjoyable trip to Leadership. Hopefully the airlines will be back on track now that weather is calming down for a few days. Can’t wait to see the photos.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! Yes, love the Kaleidoscope DSP! I’ll have to look into that, thanks for pointing it out! Fingers crossed that everything goes off without a hitch tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. Love the new look….bright and cheery, just like you!

    Reply
  8. Hi Justin, love the new look! The feathers are a great color choice too! I hope you are able to travel to Leadership without any issues. Can’t wait to hear and see what it’s all about!

    Reply
  9. I love the refreshed look of the blog and it will fun to see what color you change the feathers –maybe change to colors depending on the season. Have a wonderful time at leadership and hope you have no problems getting there!

    Reply
    • Thanks Windy! Yes, change the colors for the seasons. I thought the blues were appropriate seeing as how cold it is here! Fingers crossed that my flight leaves! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  10. really like the new look, CAS! have fun in Houston, take pics, also hope your plane leaves on time.

    Reply
  11. Louise Cyr (ON, Canada)

    The new look seems to look great but hard to see on my “antique” netbook still with Vista (OK stop laughing). Love your card, very bright.
    We are stuck in Buffalo, with blizzard conditions. Our flights have been cancelled and re-scheduled for tomorrow morning, going through LaGuardia, Atlanta then Houston. Hopefully we make it. Can’t even see outside our window at the hotel right now. More flights have been cancelled this afternoon. At least we were able to keep our rooms here at the hotel and are not stranded on the roads or at the airport.
    See you in Houston Justin. Who knows maybe we will be on the same flight from LaGuardia????

    Reply
    • LOL! Thanks Louise! I hope that you get out ok! I’m looking forward rot seeing you! Fingers and toes crossed!!Wouldn’t that be cool if we were on the same flight! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  12. Thought I was on the wrong page for a second ๐Ÿ™‚
    Great new clean look and font! And the card is terrific. I was hesitating about purchasing the set, but you let us know how to make it work.
    Hope you have a great time at Leadership, and safe travel – with this crazy weather, you just never know what’s going to happen.

    Reply
    • LOL! A little different huh Carol?! I’m glad you like it, it was time! Yeah! You guys are just the best! I will keep you updated on the happenings at Leadership! Fingers crossed that all goes well in the morning!

      Reply
  13. I agree with all of the above comments on today’s card. I have faith you will making your way tomorrow. Can’t wait for pics and updates. The best of luck with your presentation. โœˆ๏ธ

    Reply
  14. Great revamp of your blog Justin!! I couldn’t agree with you more about this Kaleidoscope DSP!!! I wish you and all the other demos safe travels back & forth to Texas, and good luck with your presentation!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  15. I love the new look and I LOVE your card! Have fun at leadership!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

