RSS Feed

Mojo 328

Posted on

Hello my crafty peeps! How is your week going so far? Mine is not too bad, work was filled with meetings today. Not my favorite I will admit. After work I ran some errands and relaxed for a bit. The fog rolled in again last night, we have had a lot of fog lately but is seems to be gone this morning. It’s supposed to rain here today and we might get some snow on Saturday. I really am finished with winter! I think I need to have a fundraiser so I can head on over to Oz to see some of my peeps over there! It’s summertime right?!?! 🙂

On a Stampin’ Up! related note while we were at Leadership we got a sneak peek at the next two Paper Pumpkin Kits. The ones for February and March and let me tell you they are amazing! If you were a subscriber and cancelled now is the time to sign up again. They will not send you another starter kit! If you have never subscribed you will definitely want to. The February kit is great but the March kit is a “must have”! I think I will be getting more than one of each that’s how good they are! If you want to subscribe you can click here! I assure you that you will not be disappointed!

My inspiration for today’s card comes from this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. This time around Theresa Kline has given us a very simple sketch…

Mojo328

Soft Sky Card Stock was my choice of a base color today. Since it is a simple sketch, I decided to use a bold background – a piece of Designer Series Paper from the High Tide Designer Series Paper Pack. Above that is another piece from the same DSP pack that is backed with a piece of Smoky Slate Card Stock. The greeting is from the Hello, Sailor Stamp Set and is stamped in Pacific Point. I backed the Whisper White with another piece of Soft Sky and popped it up with some Stampin’ Dimensionals. A very simple card that would work really well for a masculine birthday, and it’s highly mailable too! It’s always nice to have you stop by and see what I’m up to. I hope you enjoyed my card for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. Have a wonderful Wednesday! 🙂

Mojo 328-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Soft Sky, Smoky Slate and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: High Tide

Ink: Pacific Point Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Hello, Sailor Clear Mount

Tools: Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Hello, Sailor CM

High Tide DSP

Current Promotions:

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Eye-Catching Ikat. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

25 responses »

  1. very cool card – wasn’t sure of the paper and stamp set but like what you did with it.

    Reply
  2. Very nice.i like how you did the whales.

    Reply
  3. I like the color scheme and simplicity of this card, Justin.The DSP is very cool too.

    Reply
  4. Hello Justin! Nice card—great colors! This is another DSP that I wasn’t too fond of but you’ve made me want to get it! Nice layout too. Have a great day!

    Reply
  5. Hi Justin – I didn’t think the card was too simple at all. The color combo was fabulous and really did pop. Sometimes the beauty of a card can get lost if it’s overdone. This one is just right.

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      Thanks! It is definitely much more simple compared to the ones I usually make. I too love the blues! I like the way you put that! I’ll go with it! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Good morning Justin 🙂 Love what you did with the card and dsp! I’m with everyone else, I wasn’t sold on the dsp, but now I can see the possibilities 🙂 Hope your day went well.

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin! Great card. I loved this paper from the start but wasn’t quite sure how to use it. I love how you displayed the whales. I’m trying to figure how to use it with some water related stamps like ‘the Open Sea’ or ‘By the Tide’. It’s just too cold to think beach right now…lol

    Reply
    • Hello Gerri!
      Thank you! The whales are my favorite pattern from the DSP. I think It would work nicely with either of those sets. Yes, it is too cold but thoughts of the beach can have a warming effect! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Ok, Justin. You’ve never steered me wrong yet, lol. I just went and signed back up for MPP.

    Reply
    • Thank you Theresa! I would never steer you wrong! I think that you will be pleasantly surprised with the next two Paper Pumpkins! You’ll definitely have to let me know what you think! 🙂

      Reply
  9. I’m back from our business convention! I love the feel of this card, so beachy it reminds me of Moby Dick and the show on Nat Geo Wild about the endangered blue whales. I can’t wait to get the whole sea collection in the new Catty. I particularly like the way you used the diagonal stripes to set off the whales and the Pacific Point ink. It’s snowing here and we will have 3″ by Saturday night. Ug! I do not like the cold, the snow, and the ice out there! Blue seas have such an appeal now. Have a great Friday and weekend! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Welcome back Nancy! Thanks, and yes, I can definitely see you reference! I do love nautical themed things and anything with planes! I’m so done with the snow, how bout you?! I think that we will all appreciate the summer a little more this year! I hope you have a great Friday too! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Hi Justin, Yep it sure is Summer here right now. Do you really want to be in 113 degree Fahrenheit? Thats what the temp has gotten too this week for like the 3rd day i think it is 😀
    Love your card and when it cools down just a little here I am going to CASE it if you don’t mind.

    Reply
    • Hello Monique!
      I would rather have summer and 113 than -15! That’s just way too cold for me! I’m happy you like the card! CASE away and have a great day! (actually evening for you!) 🙂

      Reply
  11. Great card! This stamp set and DSP didn’t appeal to me, but I might now change my mind! No snow here in the UK, but lots of rain and flooding – I love the idea of a trip to Oz right now! Roll on summer.

    Reply
    • Thank you Joanne! I loved them both as soon as I saw them! Yes, you have had a lot of rain! I have a ton of family over in London. Oz would be great right about now! 🙂

      Reply
  12. Love this card and will be CASEing it too! I have not yet completely open this pack of DSP but I feel like I might be playing with it this weekend…..

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Ahoy there! | Monique Benn

Leave a Reply

