RSS Feed

Happy Sun & Clouds

Posted on

Hello there! How nice to see you today! I hope your weekend is turning out to be a good one. Mine is pretty good so far. I had a lovely time in Manhattan yesterday. It was so nice to wake up and be in the city already and not have to drive in. I had a nice relaxing morning with Kim and then went to see my friends Jim & Diane. After that I met Kim for some lunch at the Shake Shack. They have really good burgers, shakes and fries, you need to be bad every once in a while right?!?! We wandered over to BestBuy for a bit and then went back to her apartment and watched a little TV. I came home and finished up some crafty projects before relaxing with a book for a bit before bed. A very nice day indeed. When I got to Manhattan I’m usually on the Upper East side and find myself on Lexington Avenue a lot. I took this picture of Butterfield Market. They have been there for a long time and they have some really tasty treats inside. If you ever find yourself in the are you should definitely stop in for some goodies!

Butterfield

I find that I need a quick simple card every once in a while just to say hello, how are you. The See Ya Later Stamp Set from the Sale-A-Bration Catalog is perfect for those cards. I also wanted to see if I could make a card and not use 20 products! LOL! Here is what I came up with. My card base is Basic Black Card Stock. I stamped the greeting on the background of Smoky Slate from the See Ya Later Stamp Set** in Basic Black. My sun is a piece of Crushed Curry that I cut out with the Starburst Framelits Dies. I used the Word Bubbles Framelits to cut out my clouds and adhered them with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I love the way the cut outs mirror the stamp and the bright pop of Crushed Curry says it all! So what do you think? Pretty neat for a simple card. I hope you enjoyed it and my little Saturday recap. Thank you for visiting and have a super Sunday! 🙂

Happy Sun & Clouds-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Black, Smoky Slate, Whisper White and Crushed Curry

Ink: Basic Black Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: See Ya Later** Clear Mount

Tools: Big Shot, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

**2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog (January 28 to March 31, 2014)

Word Bubble Framelits

Starburst Framelits Dies

Current Promotions:

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Eye-Catching Ikat. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. Cute! Love the clouds!

    Reply
  2. Cute cute cute! Looks like no snow accumulation in NYC. Thanks for the picture-have a great Sunday.

    Reply
  3. You did all of that in one day?! But I knew you were amazing! As for your “less is more” card, your great style shines through. It is a must CASE… Off to pin…. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Good Morning Justin:

    Terrific card today. I’m definitely a CAS card type stamper. The Crushed Curry sun really popped this one up. I think I”m starting to rethink the smoky slate. I always felt it was a depressing color but you and Brian have been using it for fantastic cards.

    Butterfield’s is absolutely fabulous but, as with anything in the upper East side, pretty pricey. It’s always a “special” treat to go there for goodies. Nice shot of the building by the way. Glad you had such a great day yesterday and hope that today is just as fun. It’s snowing here yet again.

    Reply
    • Good morning Grace!
      Thank you! Yes, the Crushed Curry makes for a nice sun! I love Smoky Slate, it’s a happier gray than Basic!
      Yes, the Upper East side is a little pricey but worth a splurge every once in a while! I’m sorry that you are getting more snow. 😦
      Do have a good day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Hi Justin—great card! Sometimes simple is better, huh? This would be so easy to mass produce too. Thanks for sharing the picture of NYC…sounds like a yummy place! Have a great Sunday!

    Reply
  6. Good morning Justin!
    Love seeing and hearing about some great places to go in Manhattan. Will need to make a list so that I might experience these places if I get down to visit family in NJ this summer!
    This card maybe simple in design, but captures what we all see and feel many days. The Word Bubble framelits are next on my wish list!! Thanks for bringing a bit of sunshine (great color!!) to our gray and WHITE day in Maine!

    Reply
    • Hello Beth!
      I’m so glad you enjoy my little travel journal! You can always just refer back to the posts! That is a wonderful way to describe the card! Thank you! You made my day! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Good morning Justin! Good card! You definitely help me to see “outside the box” on some of these products (love the “sun” and the “clouds”). It’s so nice to see your pictures of New York City as well. I’ve never had the pleasure of experiencing it in person – your photos are so enjoyable. Have a great day today!

    Reply
    • Hey Kay!
      Thank you! I love when I can see things a little differently too! I love that you enjoy the NY pictures! I always think when I’m in the city to take pictures to share with you! I hope that you had a nice Sunday! 🙂

      Reply
  8. So simple but makes an impact. Don’t you just love what you can do with a Big Shot, Framelits, and all the other dies? (Rhetorical question!) Your cards and photos make me happy no matter what’s in the sky. Sun is out here after snow. Go and figure…have a terrific time away from work! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! Yes, I love it when simple can be fun! I love that you enjoy my blog, that makes me happy and it all worth it! I hope you had a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Super fun card, Justin! I love your sunburst!

    Reply
  10. Augh! I really thought I ordered the Word Bubble bundle and I was so excited to see this!! I feel another order coming on, and the last order won’t even arrive until Monday. How bad is that?!! At least I have everything else needed, either already here or soon to be.

    Reply
  11. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Cute card, Justin! Love the sentiment! Also love it when you share pictures of your adventures. I’m almost a week behind, trying to catch up.

    I wonder what the weather is like this weekend. In any case, hope you’re warm and cozy, relaxing and enjoying the weekend.

    Reply
    • Thank you El! A week behind is a lot on my blog! LOL! We had some snow again this evening, about three inches. I am warm and cozy now and am having a nice weekend! I hope that you are too! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

