RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 120

Posted on

It’s my favorite day as you well know! It’s FRIDAY! Wee! The past two weeks have not been full work weeks but them seem longer for some reason. I hope that the weekend goes just as slowly! I have a party to go to tomorrow night and it’s supposed to snow again. I’m sure that you are sick of hearing about my hatred of snow, but I really do not like it! LOL! Sunday I think will be a relaxing day, maybe even a movie! What’s on for the weekend for you?!

The card that I have for you today is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge and Rita has given us this…

Freshly Made Sketches #120

I had a few different versions of my card before I actually decided to glue it all together! My card base is Basic Black Card Stock and the background is a piece of paper from the Fresh Prints Designer Series Paper Stack. The piece that I used is quite different from the rest of the prints, love that! I created my banner by using two sizes from the Banners Framelits Dies to cut out some Basic Black and adhered it to the background with 2-Way Glue. My greeting is from the You’re Lovely Stamp Set** from the Sale-A-Bration Catalog, just four more days until you can get some goodies for yourself! I used Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder to heat emboss the image on Basic Black. The Deco Labels Framelits Dies are used to cut it out and also for the piece of Gold Foil Sheet that I backed it with. Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere both to each other and the card. I’m liking the black embossed with the gold and the DSP is a really neat pattern! I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. Thanks you for coming by to see me and have the best Friday!! ๐Ÿ™‚

FMS 120-WM

FMS 120 Close-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Black

Designer Series Paper: Fresh Prints Stack

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stamp Set: You’re Lovely** Clear Mount

Framelits: Banners and Deco Labels Collection

Tools: Big Shot, 2-Way Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

**2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog (January 28 to March 31, 2014)

Fresh Prints DSP Stack

Banners Framelits

Deco Labels Collection Framelits

Gold Stampin' Emboss Powder

Current Promotions:

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Eye-Catching Ikat. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

31 responses »

  1. Justin, Beautiful card! I love the gold and black!

    Reply
  2. Wow, that piece of DSP worked great with your gold accents. Great find!

    Reply
  3. Absolutely stunning. And now I can see that yes indeed you used the gold foil. I just could not figure out how you had embossed the whole label.

    This weekend I am going to a scrapping retreat, called U-Treat, that my upline is hosting. Really looking forward to it and if we are stuck in the snow it is not very far from home…. LOL… no flying out of Buffalo this time … LOL. Taking off work around noon; should be a blast. Have a very super weekend.

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! Yes, I did use the Gold Foil! I hope that you have a great weekend and lots of fun! Thank god you are not going out of the airport! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin and Happy Friday to you! This is a beautiful card! I am loving the banner framelits…been using those a LOT lately! You made me chuckle with your comment about hoping the weekend goes by as slow as your week did…I recently retired from my corporate job and I tell people that my work day NEVER went by as fast as my days do now. So, I hope for a nice, slow weekend for you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      A very happy Friday to you too! Thank you, the card was fun to make. The Banner Framelits are great! Wouldn’t it be great if the weekend seemed longer?! They do say time flies when you are having fun! Enjoy your weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. Wow! Justin, this is utterly beautiful! That gold embossing with black is so elegant. I, too, have absolutely had it with snow. This is our 4th day in a row out of school. I’m almost caught up on watching all the old movies I love! Ha

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Georgie! The black and gold is a great combo! I’m glad that I am not alone with my hatred of the snow! Catching up on old movies is pretty neat though! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Gorgeous! I am such a sucker for gold and black and this card makes its mark! I love it! You always seem to come up with perfect combinations of products with your artist’s eyes. Have a great, slooooow weekend! We are getting more snow tonight! Ugh! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Nancy! I do love a little gold and black, I think the DSP balances it nicely. You are far too kind to me! I hope that you have a fantastic weekend! I really am done with the snow as I’m sure that you are too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! I too love a little gold and black, I think the DSP balance it nicely! You really are way too kind to me! I hope you have a great weekend. I’m sure that you are just as done with the snow as I am! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. Absolutely, Positively LOVE this elegant card. How in the world did you ever get the tag cut out to match the background piece so perfectly? Black and gold are the “now” favored colors for weddings and I’ve been to two featuring these colors. Definitely “dressy” events. This is a fabulous card Justin and you did an amazing job on it. Have a wonderful weekend. It’s going to be a busy one here. We are having a dinner party tomorrow evening and after Church Sunday we will go to brunch and then relax late afternoon and evening at home. Should be a great weekend.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! I actually cut the middle out of the black banner, it does trick the eye a bit! Black and gold just has that elegant feel. I’m very happy that you like the card! I have a busy weekend ahead too, but I like it like that! I hope your weekend is fantastic! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  8. This card is so beautiful Justin. As someone else said, Wow! Thanks for continuing to share with us – totally not what I expected from that dsp.. again, not one I was too fond of, but now I want it! Have a great Friday!

    Reply
    • Thank you Kay! I love sharing with you guys. You comments make it all worth it! I’m glad you like the DSP a little better! I hope you enjoy the rest of your Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. WOW!! What a great card!! You are the master ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  10. I really like this card. I love symmetry! I cannot get my heat embossing to look presentable. I think I need a lesson! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  11. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    I think your card is *lovely*, Justin! Very pretty!!!

    Reply
  12. Laurie Burns Gachewicz

    Stunning elegance with your card Justin!! TGIF and enjoy your weekend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can relate to all your comments about the snow… I am craving warmth and Spring!!! At least above 20 degrees & maybe even some temps in the 30’s… is that too much to ask?!!?!! LOL!!!

    Reply
  13. Oooh,la,la! That gold and black look so elegant together. I totally forgot that sheet of dsp is even in that pack. What a fabulous way to use it!

    Reply
  14. So, so great Justin!! Elegant and such a great use of the sketch. Glad to see you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

