RSS Feed

Paper Players 181

Posted on

So, the Superbowl was great huh?! Ok, I’ll admit the only thing that I watched was the half-time show. I thought that it was a pretty good show, Bruno Mars sounds good live and appearance by the Red Hot Chili Peppers was neat if not a bit odd. There was plenty of food and friends to keep me occupied. My friend Michelle brought over fresh strawberries with caramel, chocolate ganachè, peanut butter and cream cheese dip for them. They were delicious and I had a hard time picking a favorite, so I sampled them a few times! LOL! I also had a nice day in Manhattan, I visited some people in the morning and then met my friend Kim for some lunch. We ate fresh, I had my usual BMT, I haven’t had it in a long time and it was yummy! I then stopped by my friend Julia’s house and her little girl Cecily gave me a card that she made for me. It’s so cute! I think we have a future crafter on our hands!

Cecily Card Open

Cecily Card Front

I even got some pictures for you. I was walking down the famous Park Avenue and snapped these. The first one is facing downtown and the second one is facing uptown.

Park Ave Downtown

Park Avenue Uptown

My post today is for this week’s Paper Players, but before I get to that I wanted to thank LeAnne for choosing my card for her Cut Above in last week’s challenge. You can see my original post HERE and the Paper Players winners post HERE. Now for this week the lovely Anne Marie has given us this theme challenge…

Paper Players #181

As I was siting there pondering what I was going to do I spied a Vintage set of Framelits and that’s where the idea for this card began. My card base is Whisper White Card Stock. I stamped my sentiment on a piece of Coastal Cabana from the Countless Sayings 2 Photopolymer Stamp Set in Baked Brown Sugar. On the bottom part I embossed a piece of Baked Brown Sugar with the Scallops Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. My lollipops are form the Sweets for the Sweet Stamp Set and are stamped in Crisp Cantaloupe, Pistachio Pudding and Strawberry Slush and punched out with the 1″ Circle Punch. I used bamboo skewers for the sticks and adhered them to the card with Multi-Purpose Glue. A piece of Window Sheet stamped with the “Vintage” Perfectly Preserved Stamp Set in Opaque White Staz-On and cut out with the “Vintage” Cannery Framelits Dies is adhered to the skewers with more Multi-Purpose Glue. To cover up the glue I cut out a piece of Champagne Glimmer Paper with the heart from the Circle Card Thinlits Dies and adhered it with a Stampin’ Dimensional. I love the Window Sheet stamped with the Opaque White Staz-On, it really does look like glass and the Champagne Glimmer Heart give the card just a little bit of sparkle! Thank you for stopping by to see my card for this week’s Paper Players theme challenge. I hope you all have a great Monday! 🙂

Paper Players 181-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Whisper White, Coastal Cabana and Baked Brown Sugar

Specialty: Window Sheet

Ink: Baked Brown Sugar, Crisp Cantaloupe, Pistachio Pudding and Strawberry Slush Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Countless Sayings 2 Photopolymer, Sweets for the Sweet and Perfectly Preserved (Vintage) Clear Mount

Framelits: Cannery

Thinlits: Circle Card

Embossing Folder: Scallop

Punch: 1″ Circle Punch

Tools: Big Shot, Multi-Purpose Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Countless Sayings 2 PP

Sweets for the Sweet CM

Champagne Glimmer Paper

Cannery Framelits Dies

Circle Card Thinlits Dies

Scallops TIEF

1%22 Circle Punch

Current Promotions:

It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest ones are Countless Sayings 1 & 2. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

36 responses »

  1. Such a sweet card – I love the mix of brown with a little pop of color. Your card is sweet, too, Justin! 🙂

    Reply
  2. This is a very “Sweet” card Justin! Love it.. and I just ordered that framelit set.. WooHoooo!

    Reply
  3. Really, really cute card!

    Reply
  4. Great colors for the background and the embossing looks like a shelf for the treats! The bright lollipops stand out beautifully! Penny Candy anyone!! Thanks for sharing all the NYC pics. Wonderful card Cecily!!

    Reply
  5. I agree, another great card maker in the making. I can see this being framed. Super job Cecily! Justin, what a fun card today. I remember getting theses swirled lollipops as a kid at our local five and dime store. Oh dear, that dates my age. Good memories.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa! I’ll let Cecily know! I had so much fun making this card! Yes, it reminds me of mason jars with candy in them! There are still places that have that! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Immediate words came to my mind . . . OMG That card is great!! Love everything about it, a real sweet card! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Hello Justin! Happy Monday! Isn’t that the sweetest card from Cecily? A keeper for sure! Love the pics of Park Avenue (I’m humming the Green Acres theme song…dahling I love you but give me Park avenue…) Yeah, dating myself. 😉 This card is cute! I need to start using my window sheets more often! Have a great day and thanks for sharing with us!

    Reply
    • Hey Karen!
      I was so happy that she gave me the card! She is such a cutie! LOL! Park Avenue really is one of the nicest streets to walk along. I need to use the Window Sheets more too! I hope that you have a lovely day too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Justin, LOVE this card!! I love the jar frame lit. Don’t know why they discontinued that set, it’s one of my favorites. Love the lollipops!! Just love everything about this!!!

    Reply
    • Yeah! Thanks Gerri! I don’t know why they did either! But it’s on the clearance rack and I didn’t even know that! LOL! I hope you have a fantastic day! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Oh my gosh Justin – I have that Perfectly Preserved set and forgot all about until today when I saw your card. Now I have to dig around to see if I have window sheets – I’m sure I do it’s a matter of where the heck did I put them? I’m a very organized person but finding that as I get older the “logical place” to put something can change from day to day! LOL I love this card – it’s bright, it’s bold, it’s beautiful. Also, Cecily made such a precious gift for you with that lovely card. What a sweetheart. Children’s cards and drawings are such a treasure, especially once they are grown.

    Reply
    • LOL I had forgotten all about the Perfectly Preserved set and the Framelits! Heck, I didn’t even remember that they are on the clearance rack at the moment! I also can’t find things and agree with you that the logical place varies! I’m glad you like the card, It was a fun one to make! Cecily’s card was a very nice surprise! 🙂

      Reply
  10. I was slowly scrolling to read your introduction when I spied scribbles, and I thought, Oh, dear, what has Justin done this time? I was afraid to look, but was so pleasantly surprised by Cecily’s card. How darling is this! Something to treasure and keep! What a full blog today…photos of my beloved NYC, your full weekend, Go Hawks!, and your card! I love it! I love what you did. The lollipops look so real. Thanks for sharing it all. Have a great week…Nancy B

    Reply
    • LOL! Ha ha! That’s pretty funny Nancy! Yes, there is nothing like a card from a little one! Yes, very full blog today, but it helps to get us through Monday! Enjoy your week too! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Cicily’s card is so cute – nothing beats love, does it? Another Stampin’ Up! girl on her way up.
    I love today’s card! You’re right, we sometimes forget those favorites from the retired section of our supplies. (Who actually gets rid of favorites just because they retire?) What a great idea for a card to make someone’s day.
    My shelves arrived, and I’m finally starting to turn my craft room into something other than a warehouse for my supplies “collection”. Can’t wait to see what it looks like when I’m finished?

    Reply
    • Thank you Carol! No, there is nothing better than love! I have a lot of “Vintage” favorites and I do try to use them. Some of the old goes really well with the new. Oooh, redoing your craft area! FUN! I wish I had more space! 🙂

      Reply
  12. Laurie Burns Gachewicz

    Woah Justin!! Your card is AMAZINGLY AWESOME!!!!! I love EVERYTHING about it!!! 🙂 What a SWEET & FUN combination of current and vintage products!!!! And Cecily’s card is SUPER-CUTE!!! 😉

    Reply
  13. I love the framelit set, too, but I never thought of putting lollipops in the jar! And that card from Cecily is presh- she really spent some time on that, you know? Last of all, I love when you show us NYC pix. Thanx for being there for us everyday. You bring the sunshine to us 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Georgie! I have put quite a few things in that jar! Yes, Cecily’s card is just the cutest! I really am glad that you come along with me on my adventures! You all bring a lot of sunshine and happiness to my days too! 🙂

      Reply
  14. You are welcome for the pick, Justin, and you are on a roll…you continue to crank out creative and fresh ways to fulfill our challenges! THIS IS AWESOME! Such a fun way to use that Perfectly Preserved set. I don’t know what SU was thinking when they retired this so quickly…it has so many awesome uses! Thanks for playing along with the Players again this week!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much LeAnne! I miss the Perfectly Preserved Set too! I was shocked when they retired that set too! Jars are still quite trendy! I love you guys! 🙂

      Reply
  15. Once again you have rocked another Paper Players challenge, Justin! Perfect stamp set choices. I totally forgot that the Sweets for the Sweet set even existed, and how perfect it is combined with your vellum jar. Thank you so much for participating in the challenges on such a regular basis. {hugs} 🙂

    Reply
  16. LOVE this! I say that alot on your blog! Great use of this set and I am loving the window sheet jar–perfect for our challenge. So glad you played along with us at The Paper Players!

    Reply
  17. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    *Love* your blog, Justin! I SO enjoy reading about your adventures with your friends, the personal touches, like Cecily’s card, and the pix that you take. Oh, and of course, your great cards! I really liked your Cut Above card, too, and your use of the specialty window sheet in your card design for today was a *great* idea for the jar. Love it!!!

    Reply
  18. Such a fun card, Justin! A very creative way to combine the stamp sets and you just reminded me that I “need” that Countless Sayings stamp set ASAP. Thank you so much for joining us over at the Paper Players! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

