RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 190

Posted on

A very good Saturday to you! Yesterday at work we had the Longevity Awards at the Hilton. The best thing about them… breakfast! I had some eggs, bacon, sausage and French toast! I told you that I tend to eat way too much towards the end of the week! This morning I’m off to Manhattan to see my friend Jim and then I’ll meet Kim for some lunch. We are supposed to get more snow Sunday night into Monday, but not the 30 inches that they had originally called for! Whew! Thank heavens for that! What kinds of things are you up to today?!

My post for today is for this week’s Pals Paper Arts challenge. This week we have a nice color combination…

PPA 190

I saw the colors and immediately thought of a Valentine, but I needed something a little different and this is what I came up with. My card starts off with a base of Blushing Bride Card Stock. A strip of Silver Foil Sheet goes along the bottom. I stamped a piece of Rose Red with the World Map Stamp in Rose Red and adhered it on an angle. My tag is Basic Gray and I used the Angle Tag Topper Punch to make it and flagged the bottom for a little bit of a different look. The stamped images are form the Love You More Stamp Set, the globe is stamped in Basic Gray and cut out with my Paper Snips and the greeting in Rose Red and cut out with the Bitty Banners Framelits Dies. Two arrows from the Label Card Thinlits Dies are cut out from Blushing Bride and Rose red and adhered to the globe. I doubled a piece of White Bakers Twine for the top of the tag and adhered it to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. A few scattered Basic Jewels Rhinestones finish it off. My obsession with tags continues but I think the flagged bottom mixes it up a little! LOL I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Pals Paper Arts color challenge. I wish you all a very nice Saturday and thank you for checking in! 🙂

PPA 190-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Blushing Bride, Basic Gray, Rose Red and Whisper White

Ink: Basic Gray and Rose Red Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Love You More and World Map Background Clear Mount

Framelits: Bitty Banners

Thinlits: Label Card

Punch: Angle Tag Topper

Embellishments: White Bakers Twine and Basic Jewels Rhinestones

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Love You More CM

World Map Background Stamp CM

Silver-Gold Foil Sheets

Bitty Banners Framelits

Label Card Thinlits Dies

Angled Tag Topper Punch

White Bakers Twine

Basic Rhinestones

Current Promotions:

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Sans and Stripes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

25 responses »

  1. Great card, Justin! I love the colors and your unique vision for the layout of this card. Happy weekend!

    Reply
  2. Good Saturday Morning! This color combo is striking? Love the world map stamped on the Rose Red. Wonderful reminder that love (and understanding) makes the world go round especially with the Olympics taking place now! Have a relaxing weekend with friends and NO SNOW!

    Reply
  3. I don’t know how you come up with your design concepts but I really like this one. The globe and saying are perfect for the big “V” day. Hope you have fun in Manhattan today. I’m jealous, I have a huge case of cabin fever and all I can dream about is getting away from the snow and cold. A good seat to see Rock of Ages would cure that for sure!

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! Sometimes they just float into my head! LOL! I had a great time yesterday as you can tell from my late reply! I have not liked staying in so much so we braved the cold! I want to see Book of Mormon! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi! I love the way you pull elements from so many different sets, framelits, etc. Rose Red is not a color I go to, but it has been growing on me since I bought the seam binding in that color. I love what you did with the globe and the piece of map, two of my favorite collectibles in real life. Have a wonderful time in NYC! I big trip these days is to the grocery store in-between snows. Nancy B

    Reply
    • Hello Nancy! Thank you! I figure I have all of this wonderful stuff, lets see what we can put together! I rarely use Rose Red either, but that’s why I love the color challenges. Make you use ones that are neglected! I’m with you on the globe and map! I had a wonderful time in Manhattan! A trip to the grocery can be made an adventure! 🙂

      Reply
  5. I have always liked Gray with the pinks and reds. The sliver of the World Map background is nice touch. Looks like you used two pieces of twine to make your bow. Really like that. Hope your Manhattan day was filled with fun. Oh so many things to do!

    Reply
    • Thanks Lisa! I like the colors together too! I just forget sometimes because I get stuck in blue/red mode! LOL! Manhattan was great! Hope you enjoy the pictures today! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Something went wrong with me post above. It’s me Lisa

    Reply
  7. Now I see my messed post is gone. I’ll try again. I have always liked gray with pinks and reds. The sliver of the World Map ties in nicely. The use of what looks like two pieces of twine for the bow I really like. Hope the day in Manhattan is good. Seems like you always have fun with your friends. What’s not to like about the big city, always something to do.

    Reply
  8. Hi Justin,
    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!!! The colors are great together! I too would love to know how you pull so many elements from different sets together? Just how do you dream up all these ideas? Where do you get all your inspiration from? Do you study magazines, books, other peoples work? Wherever they come from, I’m so thankful that you share them with all of us. KEEP UP THE AWESOME WORK!!!! Enjoy your day! Hugs 🙂 Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you! It is a fun color combo this week! They just float into my little brain! LOL! Cards like this happen when I have a little extra time to just sit and play! I get my inspiration from all around. I do read a lot of design stuff and I am very interested in the layout of web sites and color choices they make when they design them. I’m grateful that I have people like you that take some time every day to stop by and have a little “chat” with me!I hope that you are doing well! 🙂

      Reply
      • Hi Justin,
        Today, I am feeling somewhat better. They put me on a stronger medicine, so now I can hold off a little longer. I am taking one day at a time. But, with all the people who are praying for me, I’ll be better in no time. Your card is very unique today, and I love the colors of course. Awesome! Thanks for caring and asking about me! Have a great day! 🙂 Donna

      • Hello Donna!
        I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better! You are in my thoughts always. I needed a little different today! Here’s to your speedy recovery! 🙂

  9. Hi Justin! Great card…loving these colors together, especially with the silver. There you go, fussy cutting again! 😉 You do such a great job with that. I would love to see how you organize your supplies. Would you be willing to post pics of that sometime? Have a great time in the city! Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply
    • Hey Karen!
      Thanks! The colors are fun and I thought a little shine from the silver would be a nice addition! LOL! I really do like to fussy cut! I would love to share a picture of my teeny craft space but it’s not always as organized as it should be! I hope that you are having a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Wonderful card, Justin. I love how you added the piece of World Map under the globe. Thanks for joining us at the Pals Paper Arts this week.

    Reply
  11. Justin your cards are so clever! This one’s another winner!

    Reply
  12. You are simply amazing! Love everything about this! Clean, classic…..just totally fun! Thanks for sharing your endless talent!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

