RSS Feed

Paper Players 186

Posted on

Well that weekend seemed to go a bit faster than recent ones in memory. It can’t only be because of the time change… can it?!?! I had a nice day yesterday. I ran some errands with Heather and crafted a bit too. It was a pretty quiet day, needed every so often I guess. I’m not a huge fan of them but it does do the mind good to rest a bit! How was everything for you this weekend?

It’s Monday so that means that once again it’s time for my card for this week’s Paper Players. Anne Marie has given us a neat color challenge…

Paper Players #186

I think the picture for the color challenge is pretty neat and I wanted to do something film related but thought that too obvious! My card starts off with a base of Smoky Slate Card Stock. The background is a piece of Marina Mist. I used the Music Notes Standard Wheel and heat embossed it with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder on an angle across the lower half. The stars from Crushed Curry are cut out with the Circle Card Thinlits and one that I punched out with the “Vintage” Large Star Punch are randomly placed on the background. My tag is also Smoky Slate, The top is punched with the Scallop Tag Topper Punch. The stars that are on the tag are created using Embossing Paste and a stencil that my daughter brought me home from work. Have I mentioned that Taylor works at Michaels?!?! She brings me home little goodies every once in a while and I have to use them, right?! LOL! On the top of the tag is a piece of Crushed Curry 3/4″ Chevron Ribbon tied with some White Bakers Twine. My greeting is from the Really Good Greetings Stamp Set and is stamped in Marina Mist. The tag and greeting are adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I really like the way the embossing paste stars look on the tag and the embossed music notes across the bottom. There you have my card for this week’s Paper Players color challenge from Anne Marie. I really hope that you enjoyed the card and I thank you for visiting! Have a marvelous Monday! 🙂

Paper Players 186-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Smoky Slate, Marina Mist, Crushed Curry and Whisper White

Ink: Marina Mist Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White

Stamp Sets: Really Good Greetings Clear Mount and Music Notes Standard Wheel

Thinlits: Circle Card

Punches: Scallop Tag Topper and Large Star (Vintage)

Embellishments: Crushed Curry 3/4″ Chevron Ribbon and White Bakers Twine

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

NON Stampin’ Up!: Embossing Paste and Star Stencil

Really Good Greetings CM

Music Notes Standard Wheel

Circle Card Thinlits Dies

Scallop Tag Topper Punch

White Stampin' Emboss Powder

Crushed Curry Chevron Robbon

White Bakers Twine

Current Promotions:

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Sans and Stripes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

27 responses »

  1. Love your style! Just starting to use embossing paste. Nice texture.

    Reply
  2. I instantly thought of Andrew and the whole cast of singers up on stage. Why? The white embossed musical notes stand out and shine. Your card is a shining star today. How exciting to receive surprise crafting supplies from Taylor. I’d say she has the love of crafting in her blood also.

    Reply
    • I was definitely thinking of Andrew when I made the card! I did purchase the Music Notes Wheel with him in mind! LOL! Yes, I do like a crafty surprise from my child! I’m glad that she works there, they are nice people and she likes it a lot! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin! I love this card! Something about those stars! How nice of Taylor to get you some supplies…I’m sure you were running low. 😉 I love these colors together and the use of the wheel…just a fun card. My weekend was great (aren’t they all???) but I agree with you, they sure do go by fast. We are supposed to have a beautiful day today in the low 50’s. It’s been a long time coming! Have a fantastic Monday!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! Stars are just fun! Yes, Taylor is a good child! I’m lucky! Ha ha! Running low… what’s that?!?! I’m so happy to hear that you had a good weekend! Yes, they are always too quick! Enjoy the day, get outside for a bit! Soak up some sun! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Good Morning Justin-great interpretation of the theme and colors. Really a pleasure to look at. Thanks once again for sharing your creativity.

    Reply
  5. Very lively and musical card Justin. Love the stars. And yes weekend always seem to go too fast and Monday mornings come way too fast. Change of time does not help either but at least it will be light longer this afternoon and won’t go back home in the dark. Enjoy your day!

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! I needed some happy and I thought this fit the bill! Yes, weekend is far too quick, we need to change that. I am looking forward to the longer light! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Great job making the stars with the embossing paste and stencil. I don’t think embossing paste likes me very well as, try as I might, even when taped down snug as a bug in a rug, it seems to end up under the stencil at one place or another. Your stars are so perfect!
    I love Michael’s as they have the most fantastic array of yarns. You’re right – the employees are always so nice and friendly and helpful. How sweet of Taylor to remember Dad and bring him little surprises. So fun. Have a Marvelous Monday.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! I had some issues when I first used it but a light touch and a good spatula did the trick!
      Yes, Michaels does have some stock of yarn! I think the employee’s are nice because who wouldn’t be surrounded by all of that creative stuff?! She is a good kid! You enjoy your Monday too my friend! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Fabulous, Justin. I love how you showcased some of the older – and newer – goodies in your stash and I am in love with the repetition of stars. So glad you joined the Paper Players again this week
    Jaydee

    Reply
  8. Hi! How eerie is this? I was going to ask about Taylor today because you haven’t mentioned her lately! I love the stars and music notes. I have a pile of stencils, big and small designs, and you are inspiring me to drag them out and try my hand again. I’m not crazy about the color combo, but you pulled it together as always. Hi Taylor! I hope you both have a great week. I would never bring home any pay if I worked at Michael’s. Nancy B

    Reply
    • Wow! We are in sync huh Nancy?! I really liked the stencil! It was much easier to use than the cut out one that I did for the honeycomb. I actually like the colors, I wouldn’t have thought to mput Marina Mist with Crushed Curry but they work well together. I’ll let Taylor know that you asked about her, enjoy your week too! LOL! She spends too much there too! 🙂

      Reply
  9. I love your card today!! The colors, the design, all work together for a wonderful, cheerful card! And I love the addition of the music score – it just adds another cheerful touch. I look forward to your creative offerings every day…
    Sunny skies and high 70s today. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Carol! I love that Music Note Wheel, I can’t believe that I waited so long to get it! I’m so happy to have you along! It was 50 degrees here today but is to get into the 20’s again by Thursday. Almost!! 🙂

      Reply
  10. So cool how your did the stars with the embossing paste, yet another thing I want to learn to do! So many products to play with, so little time…. Awesome project for color challenge, love it! Send Taylor a hug and tell her I miss her!

    Reply
  11. I love it, Justin! How perfectly thought out and put together…from the stars to the sentiment to the music notes! And what a sweet daughter…yes you do have to use those goodies!!! Hugs!

    Reply
  12. Hi Justin! I really like your card. You don’t see people use the wheels much. As a music teacher, I love the use of the music note wheel and the stars. I’ve never heard of embossing paste. I’m gonna have to check it out.

    Reply
  13. Cool card, Justin! Those embossed stars are awesome….how fun that your daughter brings you home crafty goodies! I love the music notes, too! Thanks for playing!

    Reply
  14. What a cool card, Justin! I love all of the stars and the embossed musical notes…I’m thinking a blockbuster motion picture score here! How cool is embossing paste? Looks like I’m headed to Michaels soon. How fun that your daughter brings you home crafty treats from work, you lucky duck. So glad you played along with my colors this week at the Paper Players! Have a happy day! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Anne Marie! I like the motion picture score reference! Embossing Paste is the coolest! Since Taylor started working there I have expanded my arsenal of crafting supplies, she gets a really good discount! I hope that you have a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

