RSS Feed

SUO Challenges 92 & Satellite Lane!

Posted on

A very happy Tuesday to you! Why is it a very happy Tuesday, you ask? We’ll get to that in a minute. We had some snow flurries yesterday morning just to remind us that winter is still not over, but it did manage to get up to 50° in the afternoon, which is tropical compared to what most of the winter has been, in the 20’s! Work was productive and quiet again. Last night I came home, made a card, and plotted with Andrew (again, you’ll see why soon). Okay, okay, enough suspense. Last Wednesday I told you that Andrew and his a cappella group, Satellite Lane, had a big announcement. Well, today’s the day! And who better to tell you about it than Andrew himself?!

Hello there, JK Cards readers! Before I even get started with my announcement, I want to thank you all. So many of you have been concerned about me when I had surgery back in December, when I got really sick in January, and I’ve had quite a few requests to make another card to post on Justin’s blog! I never thought that making a cameo on the blog would turn me into such a celebrity! LOL! I obviously look at Justin’s post every day and I look at all the comments, too. Your sincerity and kindness is truly appreciated! I was just waiting for the right time to thank everyone, and now seemed appropriate. Now on to the exciting announcement! Before I get to the actual announcement, let me give you all a little background on Satellite Lane. We are a group of seven geeky teachers who came together to make music two years ago. In that time, we’ve done some pretty awesome things like sing for people’s wedding proposals, compete in major competitions, and have concerts with groups that are known world wide. All of that has been great, but our announcement today may be our biggest one yet! After a lot of hard work, we are proud to release our first official single, “Geeky Girl”! If any of you like nerdy TV shows, comics, video games, or any other geeky stuff, this is the song for you! If you don’t like any of those things, it’s still a pretty catchy tune, so you should give it a listen! You can get a preview of the song HERE, and it is available for purchase on Loudr.fm HERE. We are really proud of how it came out and we’re hoping we can get as many people as possible to get the word out! So, if you like the song, share the link with your friends, post it on your blog, post it on Facebook, and don’t forget to buy a copy for yourself! As I said before, your help and support for me in general has been amazing, I can’t thank you all enough! I hope you enjoy the song, and I promise, I’ll make another card this week! Thank you so much for your time, it is greatly appreciated.

GeekyGirlCoverArt

Wow! Sorry for that, once he gets typing, there’s no stopping him. LOL! Thanks for reading his book, it’s the first in a series. Ha ha ha! All joking aside, I heard several drafts of the song throughout the process and have had my copy since last week on repeat. It’s really a great song and brings back so many memories! I really hope you enjoy it. Now on to today’s business, my design team card for this week’s SUO Challenges. And this time around we asked you to use pinks and purples in your project.

My card starts off with a base of Blushing Bride Card Stock. The background is a piece of Afternoon Picnic Designer Series Paper. I really like the look of notebook paper and we really don’t have any, but it’s not really that hard to create. I took a piece of Very Vanilla and used the “Vintage” Spiral Border Punch (a favorite of mine) and a Wisteria Wonder Stampin’ Write Market to draw the lines. Ta-da! Instant notebook paper! Two banners, one in Wisteria Wonder cut out with the Banners Collection Framelits and embossed with the Beautifully Baroque Textured Impressions Embossing Folder, and the other a piece of Very Vanilla stamped in Blushing Bride with the Hearts a Flutter Stamp Set and cut out with the Hearts a Flutter Framelits Dies. Two butterflies from the Papillon Potpourri Stamp Set, stamped in Blushing Bride, are punched out with the Elegant Butterfly Punch and adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My greeting is from the Moments Ago Stamp Brush Set and is cut out with my E-Cutter from a piece of Elegant Eggplant. On the top is a Subtles Designer Series Button with some Linen Thread tied in a bow. How’s that for some pink and purple?! And by the way, I really think we should start a petition to bring back the Spiral Border Punch! So there you have my card for the SUO Challenges. Click HERE to visit the blog and see what the other designers have done with the challenge and let’s see what you come up with! As always, I appreciate your time, but today I have to say that I think Andrew appreciates it more seeing as he took up more of it. LOL! Thanks again for stopping by today, and have a musical Tuesday!

SUO Challenges 92-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Blushing Bride, Very Vanilla, Wisteria Wonder and Elegant Eggplant

Designer Series Paper: Afternoon Picnic

Ink: Blushing Bride Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Papillon Potpourri and Hearts a Flutter Clear Mount

Stampin’ Write Marker: Wisteria Wonder

MDS: Moments Ago Stamp Brush Set

Framelits: Banners and Hearts a Flutter

Embossing Folder: Beautifully Baroque

Punches: Elegant Butterfly and Spiral Border (Vintage)

Embellishments: Subtles Designer Series Buttons and Linen Thread

Tools: Big Shot, 2-Way Glue, Mini Glue Dots, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Papillion Potpourri CM

Hearts a Flutter CM

Moments Ago Stamp Brush Set

Banners Framelits

Hearts a Flutter Framelits

Afternoon Picnic DSP

Elegant Butterfly Punch

Beautifully Baroque TIEF

Linen Thread

Subtles Designer Buttons

Current Promotions:

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Sans and Stripes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

30 responses »

  1. Congrats to Andrew and his group! I am looking forward to his next card! I love how you put these collage style cards together! I just cannot seem to figure out how to put lots of elements together to look good. I particularly like how you “made” the notebook paper.

    Reply
    • Thank you Cathi! Andrew is supra excited about the single, it’s a lot of fun! He is looking forward to making his next card! I really enjoy the collage cards, they are random and fun. The notebook paper was easy, a ruler and marker… done! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  2. I don’t do collage well. Many attempts at trying I’m better off letting you create them and sharing them with all of us. I like the airiness and softness of it today. Kudos to Satellite Lane! I listened to the snippet. Quite a catchy song. I wish them the best of luck with it. How did they come up with their name? Thanks for sharing time with Andrew today and letting him ramble on. LOL Maybe Andrew should start his own blog. Thank you for another lovely card today Justin.

    Reply
    • LOL! Thank you Lisa! I love collage style, just a mish-mosh of goodies! Andrew is quite excited about the single and just as excited to post today! He appreciated you reading the “book”! I keep telling him that he should start a blog! Their name comes from the street of where one of the members lives, it’s actually right around the corner from my house! Glad you like the card and the song! Have an awesome day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin & Andrew!! First of all, GREAT song! Very catchy and I wish you all the luck with that. Sounds like you’re going places! Congrats! I’m anxious to see your next creation pop up here on Justin’s blog. 😉 I love your card Justin! I’m thinking it’s saying “hello….SPRING!” These colors are so bright and spring-like! Very nice. We were spoiled yesterday, high 50’s and tonight they are saying snow again. We wanted to grill out last night for dinner and had to shovel the 4 ft of snow that was in front of the grill on the patio. Geesh. I’m sooo done with it! Thanks to the both of you for sharing your creative-ness with all of us! Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Yeah! Thanks! He is quite proud of the song! He is quite keen to do his next card as well! I’m so happy you like the card! It’s collage-y but not overloaded. Yes, HELLO SPRING, where are you?!?! LOL! We too had decent weather here yesterday and it’s supposed to be in the high 50s today but then right back to the 20’s and snow on Thursday. I’m done too! Mmm, who doesn’t like a little BBQ?!?! We appreciate your visit Karen! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Wow, gorgoeus card Justin! Love the colors and all the layers. And congratulations to Andrew!

    Reply
  5. Wow wow wow- I love a Capella and the snippet I heard this morning is fun fun fun! Andrew’s “book” was wonderful reading and I wish Satellite Lane success. Now back to the card-wonderful card again Justin and you really have encouraged me to begin mixing more of my embellishments and papers. You are a fantastic teacher! I love this creative and eclectic blog.

    Reply
    • Yeah!! I’m so happy that you enjoyed the song! I’ll let Andrew know that you enjoyed his “book”! I’m very happy that you like the card! It’s fun to mix up things! I’m honored that you think of me as a teacher! I appreciate having you come by and spend a little time with me! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Reply
  6. I agree! Bring back the Spiral Punch…they didn’t give it a fair chance to take off! lol! Love all the details and texture in your card…beautiful! Great job with the SUO challenge!

    Reply
    • Absolutely Connie! Love that punch! It really is quite a popular trend right now too! Thank you very much, I’m glad you enjoyed the card! Have a wonderful week! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Hi Justin and Andrew,
    How are you doing? It’s been a while since I chatted with you. Nice work on the card. I really, really like this. Awesome! I love how you made the notebook paper, ( l would’ve never thought of that). Knowing me, I probably would have torn a piece out of the notebook itself. LOL!!! As always your work is very enjoyable to look at.
    Way to go Andrew! I think the song is upbeat! Great job! Wish you the best. Does this mean that Justin is taking you out to celebrate the occasion?
    Well guys, have a great day! Take care and stay safe! 🙂 Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      We are well and I hope that you are too! Thank you! I really do love the notebook paper and we don’t have any so I thought hmmm… I’l just make some!
      Glad you like the song too! Yes, I will take him out to celebrate! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Hi Justin,
    Great song!! Puts a smile on my face!
    And love the card!! Embossing the banner is such a great touch. Always love your collage cards. Wish I had the knack.
    Have a great day!

    Reply
  9. Congrats to your friend Andrew. Indeed very catchy! both the song and the group name.

    Great card Justin. Funny I used Afternoon Picnic this weekend too! Love how you put so many pieces and it looks so awesome! And apparently we have to prepare for another snow storm tomorrow… so hope they are ‘wrong’ with the amount of snow predicted!!! Have a great day and again congratulations to Andrew and Satellite Lane

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! They did a great job! Glad you enjoyed the card too! Yes, we are to get more snow too. Maybe the last of it?! We can hope! Thank you so much! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Added to my workout playlist on my iPod. It’ll be fun for my jog/walk days. Great tune! Love the wide variety of pop culture references.

    Reply
  11. Wow! Your post is jam packed today! Satellite Lane is so good! Catchy tune — yes, I listened. My son Ben and I love Weird Al too! Congratulations! I am looking forward to Andrew’s card and a blog! Justin, your card is another collage artwork. I love the “notebook” paper, the colors, and all your details. In my case, collage can hide “errors.” Yes, you are a great teacher! Don’t I tell you I learn so much from you! I see we are both at 58 degrees in our areas. I hope your card chases the winter away. Thanks for sharing again. Nancy B

    Reply
    • Yes Nancy, it definitely is jam-packed! It was a big day! It really is a great song! Glad you like it! I too am looking forward to Andrew’s card! Thank you! I have to say that the collage cards are definitely my favorite! I’m really happy to know that you learn stuff here too! Yes, it was gorgeous today! I had the top down in the car!! Winter will be back on Thursday, but only for a bit! Come on Spring!!!!

      Reply
  12. Wow, wow, wow!!! Listened to the song link for Satellite Lane! Very toe tapping beat! Congratulations to Andrew and the whole group! Great way for teachers to relax and earn some extra money. Your card is definitely a collection colors, textures and angles. The embossed banner is eye catching and love the greeting! You are great at blending the old vintage items and new technology with the MDS and e-cutter!

    Reply
    • Woo hoo! It’s a fun song! Glad you enjoyed it! They are pretty talented little teachers! I had fun making the card, nice a soft. Thank you so much!! Have a great evening! 🙂

      Reply
  13. Hi Justin and Andrew,
    First, Andrew…I love that song! I was listening to it when my daughter walked into the room and she really liked it also! I look forward to more songs in the future! What a great feeling it must be for all of you to achieve this! You deserve it! Thanks for giving us a sneak peek and for you share on Justin’s blog.
    Justin, I love love love love love this card!!! Oh my Goodness! It is my style! I love every detail…collage style art really inspires me and I love the process of putting it all together. I too love the spiral border punch, was sad to see it go but I still use it! You have a great sense of detail in your designs, it is in all of details that really bring a collage style card together and not make it just busy.
    Thanks for both of your shares today and I look forward to hearing more songs from your group Andrew!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      We are both so happy that you like the song!! The proceeds from the sales of the singe are going towards recording an album. They are quite talented! I was honored to be able to give you the links to the song.
      I’m very happy that you like the card too! Collage is my favorite style by far! I wish they would bring back the Spiral Punch, who knows?! I’m so glad to have you come by and see what I’m up to and look forward to your comments! 🙂

      Reply
  14. Beautiful card Justin.

    But Andrew, there is not a button to share you preview on FB. How do we share without a button?

    Reply
  15. Sharon Broussard

    Adorable card! The song blew me away…went right over to buy it!! Very catchy!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

