RSS Feed

Paper Players 187 & Pics

Posted on

I know I say it every Monday, that weekend just flew by. I guess what they say is true, time does fly when you are having fun. I had a nice morning in Manhattan and yes I have a few pictures for you. It was quite cold and windy, which of course made it feel much colder than it was. I got in a little early so I got to go to Starbucks and have a cup of coffee and just relax for an hour. I try to get in early so I can do that, I need it. I was on the Upper West Side and walked over to Riverside Drive on 87th Street. When I got to the end of the block and looked left I saw this really neat monument. I later discovered that it is the Soldiers and Sailors Monument to honor those that served in the Union Army during the Civil War. You can click HERE to learn more about it.

Soldiers and Sailors Monument

After I crossed the street and took a picture of Riverside Park and the Hudson River. If it was Summer you would have to go down in the park to take a picture of the river because all of the leaves would be on the trees.

Riverside Park & the Hudson

I decided that I was going to meet my friend Kim for lunch and she is on the East Side. I thought a little exercise was in order so I decided to walk over through Central Park. I don’t know if I have mentioned this but I can never get through the park without getting lost. You may laugh but none of the paths go straight across, they all curve. I decided to stay close to the reservoir since I have had success before! LOL! I came across this little bridge that leads up to the path that goes around it and I thought it was neat. I believe it’s called Bridge #27, I kid you not!

Central Park - Bridge #27

You can see some people running around the Reservoir getting in their exercise too! I’m not a runner, unless I’m being chased! When I came out of the park I was near the Guggenheim Museum, I thought you might like to see that too!

Guggenheim Museum

If you want to read a little more about the Guggenheim you can click HERE. It a fun building right? With all of the round edges along side all of the sharp ones of the other buildings.

No on to today’s post, Monday means it’s time for this week’s Paper Players challenge and this week clever Jaydee has a Clean & Simple Spring one for us…

Paper Players #187

I really do love that Sale-A-Bration Designer Series Paper but I have another favorite that I wanted to use more! My card starts off with a base of Whisper White Card Stock. I took another piece of Whisper White and used the Ovals Collection Framelits to cut out a window in the lower right corner. The stamped images are from the Happy Watercolor Stamp Set. My flowers are stamped twice, both times in Basic Black, once on the main panel and again on another piece of Whisper White. I used my Blender Pen and some Bermuda Bay Ink to color in the flowers and cut them put with my Paper Snips. The dots are stamped in Encore Gold Metallic Ink randomly. A piece of Watercolor Wonder Designer Washi Tape goes down the left side and Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere the flowers to the panel and the panel to the card. My greeting is from the Moments Ago Stamp Brush set and is cut out from a piece of Bermuda Bay with my E-Cutter. Some 2-Way Glue holds in inside the window. The butterfly is a piece of Gold Foil Sheet that I cut out with the Beautiful Wings Embosslit to finish off the card. I really like this card a lot, it’s simple and soft. I love the Bermuda Bay and the Gold together, but then again gold makes everything better right?! I really hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Paper Players challenge. I also hope you enjoyed the Manhattan pics! Thank you so much for coming by to see what I’m up to! Have a great Monday! ๐Ÿ™‚

Paper Players 187

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Whisper White and Bermuda Bay

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Ink: Basic Black and Bermuda Bay Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Encore Gold Metallic

Stamp Set: Happy Water Color Clear Mount

MDS: Moments Ago Stamp Brush Set

Framelits: Ovals Collection

Embosslit: Beautiful Wings

Embellishments: Watercolor Wonder Designer Washi Tape

Tools: Big Shot, E-Cutter, Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, 2-Way Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Happy Watercolor CM

Moments Ago Stamp Brush Set

Ovals Collection Framelits

Beautiful Wings Embosslit

Watercolor Wonder Designer Washi Tape

Current Promotions:

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Clickย HEREย for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s time forย Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014ย Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Clickย HEREย for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest setsย are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

41 responses »

  1. Good morning! Was very pleased to see your picture of the Guggenheim Museum as I remember visiting there as part of my high school German class trip!! Had incredible bratwurst at a local German restaurant. I agree with you that gold and Bermuda Bay go together beautifully!! The Hello in the oval window jumps out (even though it’s set back)!!

    Reply
    • Good morning Beth!
      The Guggenheim is a great museum. I will have to check out the local German places next time I’m near there! I had fun making the card and the cut out is definitely my favorite part of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. Hi Justin! Love your card! Love the gold and bermuda together. Great job on the flowers also! I also think the window effect on your card really makes your “hello” pop. Thanks for sharing your pictures. The Guggenheim is on my bucket list! Have a wonderful day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thanks! Yes, the Bermuda and the Bermuda Bay and Gold work well together! Glad you enjoyed the pics too! Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. MaryJo Marshall

    Really like your card. Thank you also for the pictures – I love seeing those.

    Reply
  4. Hi Justin!
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this card!!! The gold and bermuda are awesome together. The gold dots ground the flowers beautifully! The washi tape and gold butterfly tie in so well. Another WOW card.
    I also enjoy your NYC pics. My husband and I were in the city the previous weekend. We were in Times Square. We need to branch out a bit and see more of the city.

    Reply
    • Hello Gerri!
      Thank you very much! This card is one of my favorites! LOL! Did you enjoy your trip into Manhattan?! You definitely need to “anded” like I do! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. What an absolutely gorgeous piece of eye candy this card is. The Bermuda Bay and Gold on white – totally sophisticated! However, my favorite little piece of this amazing card is the gold butterfly. You did a fantastic job with the blender pen for sure Justin. I love it!

    O.K. – so brave soul, how long did it take you to walk from the west side to the east side of Manhattan? Most likely I”m just getting too old because I would probably call a cab! LOL I just love when you share photos with us. NYC is such a beautiful and exciting city. I don’t think anyone could ever do everything it has to offer. Thanks so much for taking us with you.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Grace! I did have fun making the card and I love the Gold and Bermuda along with the White!
      I took a cab over in the and I think it took me about 20 minutes to walk from 87 and West End Avenue over to 87th and Lexington, not too bad. I definitely love Manhattan and am so glad that you enjoy coming along on my little adventures! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Another fantastic travelogue to begin my Monday morning- fascinating – thank you for the links so we can learn more. I agree that your card and colors are stunning!

    Reply
    • Thank you Marty! I think that the links are fun so you can get more info if you like. I always like to know as much about something I have seen as possible! Glad you enjoyed the card too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. What a gorgeous and stylish card! Love that combo and your little butterfly is so cute! And I like the little window you created for your sentiment. What kind of E-Cutter do you have? I have both a Cricut (2 actually) and the Silhouette but I am not using them enough lately.

    Thank you for taking us all along on your NYC adventures. You are quite a good narrator and your photos are absolutely great. LOL I guess you decided to walk to “spend” those limitless fries you had on Friday!!! Have a great Monday and week.

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! I have a Silhouette Portrait and love it! I waited a year to use mine and wish I hadn’t!
      I thank you for coming along on my adventures! My iPhone takes pretty good pictures and I’m glad you like my little descriptions. I absolutely did walk to try and get rid of some of those fries! Enjoy your week too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  8. What a great way to start a day — your card and pictures! My cousins live on West 104th. Street, so I know just where you were. They live down by Riverside Drive and have only to walk up to Broadway. Thanks for all the wonderful pictures. Everything seems so beautiful in NYC.
    Speaking of beautiful, I love what you did with the flowers, butterfly, and oval. I don’t know why a recessed word pops out of the oval cut, but it does. I like to go out for coffee and just sit back and relax too! Have a great week! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Yeah! Thank you Nancy! Ahh, yes I was right near them! Riverside Drive is nice, it’s actually a very nice area over there. NYC is very beautiful and fun!
      It’s pretty neat the way the greeting does seem to pop out. I thinks it’s the white that makes it “pop”. I need to go out for coffee and sit and relax more often! You enjoy your week too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. WOW.. beautiful card! Love the way you color the flowers and die cut window for the sentiment. Thanks for the inspiration today!

    Reply
  10. Thanks for the tour of NYC. I remember going to the Guggenheim in college, but had never seen the Soldiers’ Monument. Looks very cool! And so is your card….lovin’ the gold, especially that little butterfly! It actually looks like it’s made of metal! Thanks for playing with the challenge this week. We are actually getting SNOW right now…ack! Spring can’t come soon enough!

    Reply
    • Welcome LeAnne! I know that you know your way around the city! I had no idea that the monument was there either. It’s pretty cool. Glad you like my card too! Love the Bermuda and gold! Oh no! Not more snow!! I’m so over the Winter!! It’s just really cold up here today. Enjoy the rest of your week! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  11. Justin, I have been avoiding this set… but your card made me realize I really NEED it. It’s beautiful. I love the popped flowers and the cut out for the sentiment. the mixture of the blue with the gold is gorgeous, too.
    Now… thank you for sharing the photos of NYC and yes, I can totally understand getting lost in Central Park… but what a wonderful place to get lost! I love the Guggenheim – it’s an amazing architectural masterpiece.
    So glad you joined the Paper Players again this week
    Jaydee

    Reply
    • Woo hoo! Thank you Jaydee! The flowers really are wonderful in the set. I will definitely use the Bermuda and gold again too!
      I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos too! Yes, Central Park can be a little confusing but not the worst place to get lost indeed! I love the architecture on the Guggenheim too, actually I love looking at all the different types in Manhattan. Thanks again for the great challenge! Have a super week! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  12. I love your card; the popped up flowers, the gold in it, and the dots which I really enjoy. Thanks for the pictures, it is really beautiful in New York. I always wondered why anyone would live there. I’m a small town gal in the boonies in the mountains. But I love your sharing of pictures that makes it a desirable place to visit.

    Reply
  13. Love this card, Justin! I am certain it will provide inspiration for many cases to come… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  14. Beautiful card, and thank you so much for sharing your beautiful photos!

    Reply
  15. Loved the card Justin, LOVED the pictures and the links of course. Have a good week ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  16. Great spring card, Justin! Love all the white space, the gold accents, and your e-cutter sentiment. Great pics of the city too! The Guggenheim is such a cool structure. Always so happy to see you playing along with The Paper Players! Hugs!

    Reply
  17. Justin, this is one of my favorite cards from the Happy Watercolor set! I love the blue flowers, the cut out for the sentiment, the washi tape AND the gold butterfly! Awesome!!!!!

    Reply
  18. Beautiful, Justin! These are fabulous colors together. I loved your “tour”! The bridge picture with the view of the river was my favorite…awesome! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players this week!

    Reply
  19. I love everything about this card, Justin! ugh, your photos of the city really make me want to plan a trip soon. I miss my home state so much lately. Not the snow…but everything else. Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Anne Marie! The city misses you too! Soon the snow will be gone and the warmer weather will be here! Perfect time to visit! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  20. Wow, in LOVE with this Justin!!!! Fresh breeze of SPRING!!!

    Reply
  21. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Great card, Justin! Love the washi tape and the way you have coordinated the gold butterfly and the Encore Gold Metallic dots. Your watercolored flowers are soooo pretty!

    Thanks for sharing the NYC pix! I really enjoy seeing the sights vicariously. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

