RSS Feed

Fab Friday 38

Posted on

It’s the most wonderful day of the week! It’s Friday! LOL! Are you all ready for the weekend?! I have no definite plans but that can be good right?! I had a good day yesterday and after work I went over to have dinner with Heather. It was very nice, candlelight and all the trimmings. We had some salad, vegetable lasagna and wine. The conversation is always the best and we always end up laughing, a lot! Heather definitely is good people and a great prelude to my Friday!

Today is really great because it’s time for Fab Friday! This time around we have an interesting color challenge for you…

Fab Fri 38 Sketch 3-28-2014

I did look at this for a few days before I decided what I was going to do but once I did it all fell into place nicely. The card base is Very Vanilla Card Stock (it’s well hidden though!) and is only 4″ wide. I need to leave a little room for my flower to hang off the side. My background is a thin piece of Venetian Romance Designer Series Paper and a piece of Baked Brown Sugar, popped up on Stampin’ Dimensionals, is adhered above and below. I used some Gold Foil Sheet for the flagged piece and the flower that is punched out with the Petite Petals Punch. My tag is a piece of Sahara Sand with a piece of Linen Thread through the top. The greeting is from the Perfect Pennants Stamp Set and is heat embossed in Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder. Stampin’ Dimensionals also adhere that to the card. Next up is a piece of Very Vanilla that I stamped with the Background Builders Stamp Set in Pistachio Pudding. I then stamped one of the greetings from the Really Good Greetings Stamp Set in Baked Brown Sugar. My gold flower has the petals slightly bent up and three Basic Jewels Pearls are in the center. To complete my card I used a sprinkling of gold sequins. I actually really love the colors together with the gold and the layout of the card is fun! I really hope that you enjoyed my Design Team card for the Fab Friday color challenge. Go on over to the BLOG and see what my talented teammates have for inspiration for you and enter your card in the gallery. I thank you for stopping by today and wish you all a Fabulous Friday! 🙂

Fab Friday 38-JK-WM

 

Fab Friday Close-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Very Vanilla, Baked Brown Sugar and Sahara Sand

Designer Series Paper: Venetian Romance

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Ink: Pistachio Pudding and Baked Brown Sugar Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stamp Sets: Perfect Pennants, Background Builders and Really Good Greetings Clear Mount

Punch: Petite Petals

Embellishments: Basic Jewels Pearls and Linen Thread

Tools: Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest sets are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

24 responses »

  1. Justin, this is such a cool card! Love the sequins and the gold flower and the gold embossed sentiment!! Really striking card!

    Reply
  2. This card is so elegant. I like the pistachio pudding pieces the best. So soft. Very nice. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Hi Justin! What a pretty card! I love that the neutral colors aren’t so blah with the touches of gold…very nice! And need I mention the return of the sequins??? Love those! Very clever how you put your sentiment together! Have a fantastic Friday and an even better weekend!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! There are a lot of neutrals in there so it definitely needed some gold! I thought you would like the sequins, I do! You noticed the sentiment! Yeah! Have a wonderful Friday and a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  4. We had the same idea to go with gold accents with these colors! Love the CAS feel of this…the attention is really on the tag! TFS!

    Reply
  5. Wow Justin – that was a color combo I would not like to be challenged with LOL! You managed to pull it off though and why oh why am I not surprised! So glad to see sequins back in the limelight. Great job. Hope you have a fantastic weekend. The weather doesn’t want to cooperate until at least Tuesday. It’s snowing now but supposed to rain all weekend. NASCAR racing will probably be postponed yet again! Dang!

    Reply
    • LOL! Thanks Grace! I did have to think about it for a while! I think we may be getting Stampin’ Up! sequins?!?! Shh!! I hope that you have a fantastic weekend too! We are to have rain so it might be a crafty weekend! My dad loves NASCAR, he will be disappointed too!

      Reply
      • Laurie Burns Gachewicz

        Dang is right LOL!! Those pesky rain delays get in the way of the racing, right Grace?!! 😉
        And SU sequins Justin?!! Be still my beating heart!!!!! 🙂

      • Yes Laurie, there is a sneak peek picture floating around and there is a whole container of Stampin’ Up! Sequins!! Woo hoo! 🙂

  6. Hi Justin, I like your card a lot, not a big fan of those sequins, but you used them perfectly. Also like the different flags on the card. Hard colors to see, but very nice when done well. One little note, looking at Fab Friday 38, it seems the wrong card is posted there…

    Reply
    • Hello Carol,
      Thank you very much! I love the sequins and they are everywhere in paper crafting now. The card definitely looks better in person! I just looked at the Fab Friday and the correct card is there. What one did you see?

      Reply
  7. Good thing I read the intro before the card…I think you left out the Background Builders in your list, but you did post the photo of the set. I love what you did with the color challenge. Gold is the perfect touch! I just ordered the sequins, and I can’t wait to see what I do with them. It’s supposed to rain here tomorrow. It’s been in the high 50’s here! Have a fun weekend in spite of the weather! Steaks again tonight! So, Andrew, where’s the card? Love ya, Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you very much for letting me know Nancy! I just went and fixed it! The colors were a little more difficult for me than usual but the gold definitely helped! Sequins are just fun, especially when “sprinkled”! LOL! We are to have rain all through the weekend. I will take the high 50’s anyway over our recent temps! Mmm… steaks! I will yell at Andrew when I see him, he has been quite busy lately. I hope that you have a great weekend too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. LOVE this card! Everything about it is perfect! You managed to make a bland boring (interesting?) color combination really pop with the gold accents. Genius!! It was cool enough that it got me to click through to your blog for the details.

    Reply
    • WOW! Thank you very much Phyllis! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the card and decided to pay me a visit! I hope that you’ll be back! Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

      Reply
  9. How on Earth could you NOT love this combination of GOLD and PEARLS??? Ooooo soooo pretty!! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Laurie Burns Gachewicz

    Gloriously gold embossing compliments these neutrals with just the right amount of pearls & sequins!!! I LOVE your combined sentiment Justin, these 2 sets go together perfectly!!! Have a fabulously fantastic Friday and a wickedly wonderfully weekend!!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Laurie! The colors needed something to give them a little oomph! I’m glad that you noticed the sentiment! I hope that you have an amazing weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Your card is now showing up, not sure if it was my eyes playing tricks or my computer acting up, LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

