RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 129

Posted on

Yesterday was a nice quiet day all around. Work was low key, a very nice change to the usual! I got home and relaxed for a bit and worked on some projects. I even watched some TV! Today will be more of the same, it’s supposed to rain so it will be a good day to be crafty!

My post for today is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge and this week Jen M. has this for us…

Freshly Made Sketches #129

I had the urge to use my Aquapainter which I haven’t done in a really long time. My card base is So Saffron Card Stock. I used a piece of Watercolor Paper and heat embossed the flowers from the Sumer Silhouettes Stamp Set in White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. My Aquapainter and some Bermuda Bay Re-Inker is used to color the paper making the flowers really stand out. Across the middle is a piece of Whisper White with another stamp from the Summer Silhouettes Stamp Set stamped in Bermuda Bay and backed with a piece of Bermuda Bay. Some Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere it to the card. My greeting is from the Hip Notes Stamp Set and is stapes in Bermuda Bay on one of the Essentials Wooden Elements. I really like the way the watercoloring came out, I have to do that more often! Thank you so much for checking in with me today! I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches and that you all have a great Saturday! ๐Ÿ™‚

FMS 129-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Cards Stock: So Saffron, Bermuda Bay and Whisper White

Specialty Paper: Watercolor Paper

Ink: Bermuda Bay Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White

Stamp Sets: Summer Silhouettes and Hip Notes Clear Mount

Embellishments: Essentials Wooden Elements

Tools: Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Aquapainter, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest sets are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

18 responses »

  1. Love how you heat embossed on watercolor paper and then watercolored! Gorgeous!

    Reply
  2. The bright colors are just what is needed on a rainy day! Have not used watercolor color paper and aqua painters yet, but the affect is beautiful!! Have a relaxing weekend!

    Reply
  3. Hi Justin! What a pretty, summertime-feel to your card! Love the watercolor paper and how that turned out. So many nice textures to this card, I can almost feel them! You know I’ve neglected to mention this to you but your photographs are very nice…you do a great job with that! Enjoy your day and hope you get lots of crafty things done!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! With the gloomy weather here today I needed something to brighten up the day! I have to use the watercolor paper more often. Thanks for the props to my photos! I have been crafting all morning! Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Laurie Burns Gachewicz

    Love your use if the aqua painter Justin!! At first glance, I thought your card used the bleaching technique!!! I’ll have to try both if these with this stamp set. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The agapanthus flower in this set is one of my all time favorites!!! Enjoy the rain, I’m hoping it will bring LOTS more Spring flowers!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Laurie! I have never tried the bleaching technique! I’ll have to add that to my list! I love that flower too, and now I know what it’s called! It’s raining but it’s not freezing so we are halfway there! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. I really like using the aqua painters also. They certainly make for a beautiful effect such as that shown on your great card. The Summer Silhouettes set is fabulous and as versatile as any stamp set can get for sure. Nice job, and isn’t it great once in a while to just come home and relax? You are having the rain today, we are getting it tomorrow. So we will run errands today and hunker down, hang out and watch the race tomorrow.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! I don’t use the Aquapainter enough. I do like that set and it was feeling neglected. Yes, it is nice to just relax, I don’t do it nearly enough. I enjoy a rainy day at home every once in while, I think it’s good for the soul. Good luck with your errand and enjoy the race! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Your embossing and “painting” are lovely. Nice technique and I just love the Summer Silhouettes stamp set. Relax, enjoy your weekend. It’s good to have some down time with no pressures, no worries, just play, do whatever you want. Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Nancy! I am having a relaxing day, much needed! It definitely is nice to not have anything I “need” to do today! I hope that you have a lovely day too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. I think the wooden elements are so stinkin cute. I have them but yet to use them. I actually am working on an embossing project now, but I don’t do a lot of it. Really like the white against the blue. Plus the watercolor paper gives great texture. Cold drab day in Ohio also.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa! Yes, I agree, they are fun! I have been heat embossing a lot lately, I love the way it looks! Yes, that watercolor paper does have some great texture to it! Just a drab day here in NY but at least it’s not snow! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  8. I love that watercolor background too! It really makes the white embossed flowers really stand out! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  9. This is just lovely Justin! Your watercolouring is perfect (a technique that I barely even know how to use!) and looks fabulous over Summer Silhouettes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

