RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 130

Posted on

Yes people… it’s FRIDAY!! I did get to leave work early yesterday, at 3:00, and I was home and napping by 3:15! I woke up around 4:30 and went to my parents to get Winston and came back home and dropped him off because I had to go and pick my friend Chantal up from the train station. We went to Friday’s for dinner and then came back to my house and caught up. I haven’t seen her in a few months and that’s way too long! We had a very nice evening and have promised to have dinner once a month from now on. I have no plans tonight so maybe it will be a movie night! What are you doing to get your weekend started?!

My post for today is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge from Linda…

Freshly Made Sketches #130

I got my inspiration from my comforter, I look at it all the time and for some reason I just had to make a card using the colors in it…

FMS 130 Insp

My card is very simple and has a sort of ombre look to it. The base is a piece of Island Indigo Card Stock and the background, a piece of Whisper White. I backed another piece of Whisper White with some Bermuda Bay to create the frame for my sentiments. They are from the Hello, Lovely Stamp Set and are stamped in Island Indigo, Bermuda Bay and Coastal Cabana, I cut them out with my Paper Snips and adhered them with some Stampin’ Dimensionals. Before I adhered the panel to the card I put a piece of Retro Fresh This & That Designer Washi Tape down. The ampersand is from the same set and is stamped in Coastal Cabana and cut out with my Paper Snips and also mounted with Stampin’ Dimensionals. Like I said a very simple card that pulls all of it’sย colors from the comforter! Let me know atht you thought of today’s card by leaving me a comment! Thanks very much for coming by to see what I’m up to and have an awesome Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

FMS 130-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Whisper White, Island Indigo andย Bermuda Bay

Ink: Island Indigo, Bermuda Bay and Coastal Cabana Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Hello, Lovely Clear Mount

Embellishment: Retro Fresh This & That Designer Washi Tape

Tools: Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest sets are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

30 responses »

  1. I love it! Love, love, love it! Will you please send me a copy of this card (without your watermark) so I can watermark it and pretend it’s mine? I won’t post it or anything. I’ll just look at it on my phone and feel happy that I designed it.

    Reply
  2. Beth K. Mills

    Love the graduation of blues!! Simple and very striking!! The best touch is the arrows of the Coastal Cabana washi tape inviting to open the card!!! Enjoy this Spring weekend! P.S. Don’t give in to Brian!

    Reply
    • Thank you Beth! It’s rainy and a little chilly here today, hopefully the weather will improve over the weekend! I hope that you have a great weekend and I won’t give it to Brian, I’ll tell him you said! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. This is fabulous, Justin! I LOVE it! It’s clean, fresh, and just expertly designed.

    Reply
  4. Hi Justin! LOVE your card!! Before I scrolled down to see your creation, I thought you were going to use the arrows embossing folder. Your comforter looks just like that. The fussy-cutting is impecable! And the little peek of washi tape caught my eye right away. I really need to try that ombre look soon. Once again, another beautiful card! Hope your day flies by so you can get started on your weekend. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen,
      Thank you! I was thinking about using the Arrows Embossing Folder but I wanted the card to be really clean. The bedspread does look a lot like it though! I want to do more of the ombre look too, it’s fun! I hope my day zooms by too! Have a great Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. Love this card Justin. I especially love the way the blues kind of melt into each shade as they go down the card. Quite the comment from Brian – heck, that’s equal to receiving a trophy for this card! LOL It really must be wonderful to be able to get inspiration from “things” that surround you, That’s the artist in you. Wish I had that talent. Have a Fantastic Friday and enjoy the weekend.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! I know, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw Brian’s comment! I have to say I see the comforter every day and it took a while for it click! LOL! I hope you haven a lovely weekend my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Isn’t that always the way it goes? Something is right in front of your eyes and you don’t realize it. Not until you have that ‘duh’ moment. Ombrรฉ is so in style lately. Another great creation. Oh and that Brian, watch him closely, he can be sneaky. LOL

    Reply
    • LOL! Yes Lisa, I do love the “duh” moments! I love ombre, especially with dots. We need some plain solid circle stamps! Ha1 Oh I know Brian quite well! LOL! You are correct! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. Cool blues….cool card!

    Reply
  8. Super fun card! How did you ever find a blanket that matches SU products? Kismet! Sorry about the rain. It has been relentless here. Put the top up!! Have a spectacular weekend in spite of the rain. We have flood watches here and our dry ravine is filled. Oy, what a mess…but your cards give me comfort! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! LOL! I think that’s why I bought it to be honest! I got it at Target! Yes, my top was up today, it was rainy and chilly. I hope that my cards can keep you dry! LOL! Have a great weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. P. S. The rain is far, far better than snow! NB

    Reply
  10. Great card, Justin! Love the “ombre” look. By the way, I have socks from H&M with InColors plus crumb cake in them… ๐Ÿ™‚
    Claudia

    Reply
    • Thank you Claudia! Ooh! I actually think that I saw those in H&M! LOL! It’s funny how you see colors differently now isn’t it?! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  11. Clean, fresh and wonderful! Love the ombre effect of the sentiment! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  12. Good evening Justin,
    Hey, how are you? I’m hanging in there, I have gone back to work with the use crutches ๐Ÿ˜ฆ UGH, I absolutely hate them, but, l must continue to use them till at least the 24 of this month. I have also started therapy which is not going so well, l am in a lot of pain. But, everyday l continue to heal. So, l can’t complain. Enough about me.
    I have been reading your blogs daily, as always your work is magnificent. Your cards are always awesome and your creativity just blows me away. l look forward to seeing your creations and l truely enjoy reading your emails everyday.
    Oh, and by the way, your nephew is the cutest little guy. I just love those little chubby cheeks. It’s good that I am not around, because I would always be pinching them.LOL! He’s precious, and enjoy him while you can. Because as you know they don’t stay little for long.
    So, Justin, have a great weekend, get out there and lavish the warmer weather we’re supposed to have today and tomorrow. Take care! ๐Ÿ™‚ Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      I’m glad that you are on the mend! It sounds like a long road but any progress is good right? I admire you for your strength! Keep it up!
      I really am happy that you stop by and we get to “chat”. Yes, Daniel is quite the cutie and really a pretty good baby. My parents are over the moon about him! I love his hair, the little tuft as I refer to it! They definitely do grow up way too fast, today is my daughter Taylor’s 18th birthday. Seems like only yesterday she was the same age as Daniel.
      I hope that you have a great weekend too! (((HUGS))) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  13. I love love love this card and the colors. I thought you just might put in banners like your comforter, which by the way is very nice. These are some of my favorite colors.

    Reply
    • Thank you Sandy! I was thinking of using some banners, maybe for the next one inspired by the comforter! They are my favorite color too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  14. This is fabulous Justin! You have such a way of making all of your cards modern with your choices of colours and stamps! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches this week!

    Reply
  15. Hi Justin, I just spotted this Hombre card and it stopped me in my tracks! LOVE IT! It’s so great how and where we get our inspiration isn’t it, its all around us! The colors you’ve used are heavenly together and that peek of washi really makes me want to open it! Such a great card!

    Reply
    • Hello Sherry,
      Thank you! It was a fun card to make! I love to take in everything and then get translate it to a card. Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

