RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 198

Posted on

FACT: My favorite cup of coffee is definitely the first one of the day! πŸ™‚ Hello peeps and welcome to Saturday! I had a rough day at work yesterday, we moved offices and that was way more work than it needed to be. I’m not loving my new space but it’s temporary because we are moving again in October to a brand new space. Why just move once when you can do it twice?! I did haveΒ a very relaxing evening at home last night. I watched a couple of movies on HBO and crafted for bit. It was rainy and chilly here yesterday so I had no desire to go anywhere. A nice quiet evening at home was just what I needed after my busy week! How was the start to your weekend?

This week over at the Pals Paper Arts they have a color challenge. I love when I see one of those and think hmmm…

PPA 198

After a little pondering I saw stars! LOL! I also made my card skinny (3 3/4″ x 5 1/2″) so I could let the sentiment hang off the side and it still will fit inside a standard envelope. The base of today’s card is Old Olive Card Stock. My background is a piece of Whisper White that I stamped some images from the Gorgeous Grunge Stamp Set in Pool Party on. For the greeting I heat embossed one from the Four Your Stamp Set in Pool Party Stampin’ Emboss Powder on a piece of Old Olive and cut it out with the Word Bubbles Framelits Dies. The stars are from the Simply Stars Stamp Set and are stamped in Summer Starfruit and cut out with my Paper Snips. Three more stars are punched out from some Summer Starfruit with the Merry Minis Punch Pack. All of the elements are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. So, after finishing my card I really do like the color combination! The greeting heat embossed on the Old Olive is definitely my favorite element on the card. I hope you enjoyed my card for this week’s Pals Paper Arts color challenge. You know how much I appreciate you coming by to see what I’m up to and I hope that you have an excellent Saturday! πŸ™‚

PPA 198-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Old Olive, Whisper White and Summer Starfruit

Ink: Pool Party and Summer Starfruit Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Pool Party

Stamp Sets: Four You, Gorgeous Grunge and Simply Stars Clear Mount

Framelits: Word Bubbles

Punch: Merry Minis Pack

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest sets are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

28 responses »

  1. Nancy Farrell

    Oh I like this card very much. I like how the colors are distributed and who doesn’t love stars! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Justin,
    I look forward to your blog every morning. Not only for your creative and inspiring cards but I am always amazed at the amount of things you accomplish in a day! You must never sleep. Enjoy your weekend and keep up the creative ideas πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Mary! I’m glad that you enjoy my posts! I don’t sleep a lot, maybe 5 hours or so. There is just so much going on and I don’t want to miss it! I hope that you have a great weekend! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin! I love this card! That Simply Stars set is a good one! Love the way you sprinkled them across the card. And the way you placed the framelit off the paper just a little…awesome! I love that first cup in the morning too…I’m enjoying my Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice right now! Enjoy your day, you deserve it!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Yes, the Simply Stars set is great, now if only there were a punch! I think that when something is hanging over the edge it gives it a little more personality! I love the Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice, that had that on clearance in Target last week for $4.98! I hope you day is wonderful! πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • No way—$4.98??? That’s crazy good. Maybe I will take a trip there tomorrow just to see if I can get some for that price. I found another spot online to get some because around here it’s seasonal and you can’t always find it. I love it all year round! Thanks for the tip!

      • I know!! My friend Heather is a big fan too Karen! She bought 10 boxes! Good luck! πŸ™‚

  4. Great card! It can be used with a variety of shapes and sentiments. Very quick if you need something in a hurry but with a great impact. I am not a coffee drinker myself but I do read your blog every morning!

    Reply
    • Thank you Cathi! It’s a good layout and would work with lots of different sentiments and colors. I enjoy having you visit me, coffee drinker or not! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. I don’t utilize Gorgeous Grunge enough (note to self) so versatile. Great layout and love the stars sprinkled all over. Also need to get some Pool Party embossing powder, love the way it pops off the Old Olive. Ditto, the first cup is the best. Off to try and come up with a anniversary card that I need for tomorrow. Yikes, I’ve been dragging my feet. Have been working on several swaps.

    Reply
    • I use Gorgeous Grunge Lisa, but I need to use it more too. I thought the embossing looked cool on the Old Olive too! Good luck with your anniversary card and enjoy your Saturday! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. I saw the colors for the challenge and thought “How the heck can you make those colors look at all palatable together?”! Well, obviously, you know how to do it. What a terrific card. The white background piece really made it all possible. Of course, gold stars still mean “the best” and I think you deserve a gold star for this one. I really like it – CAS is definitely my style. Great job Justin.

    Reply
    • LOL! Me too Grace! Sometimes less is definitely more! Thank you! I will miss Summer Starfruit! I actually like all of the soon to be “Vintage” In-Colors! I hope that you have a fantastic Saturday my friend! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Nice job , Jason !!!
    Had a nice week , of course I’m retired
    But there’s always Somthing going on
    Mostly running around town , we live in the country so no matter where we go it’s at least 20-30 min drive ,
    Oh well it could be worse ,
    Have a better week end ,
    Hugs Frenchie

    Reply
    • Thanks Frenchie!
      I’m glad that you had a good week, I am looking forward to retirement, but it’s a long way off! I like being busy so I don’t mind the always something going on! I hope that you enjoy the rest of your weekend! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Love this card! Like Karen above, I, too, am enjoying my first cup of Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice coffee and catching up. Your blog is always one of the first I visit. Now, back to your card. I recently purchased the Stars set and really see lots of possibilities with it. This is a great color combination and I really liked how it all came together for you! Can’t wait to give it a try!

    Reply
    • Thanks Brenda!
      Wow! Lots of Pumpkin Spice lovers! I’m so glad that you visit, and the first one, cool! The Stars Set is very versatile, love it! Have fun with the colors and enjoy your weekend! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. You are the star creating this card! Love it!

    Reply
  10. Fantastic color-combo and layout………..even with the blue.

    Reply
  11. Great card! Love the “Hello” in the word bubble framelit. I need to remember that one.

    Reply
  12. Love what you did with the color challenge! Simple, but shows the colors off together in a pleasing way. I just stocked up on more Summer Starfruit card stock before it’s all gone. The “hello” stamp in that set is well worth the cost for the 4 stamps. I have the old star stamp set, but I have this one on my April list. All the merry minis sets are so great to have on hand too. I can’t wait to see the new In Colors, but I will miss Gumball Green, Midnight Muse, and Summer Starfruit. The sun has been shining gloriously today. Enjoy! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Nancy! I need to remember to order some more Summer Starfruit! Yes, I agree that the hello is worth the whole set! I find that is true for some more that I own! I didn’t know that we had an old Star set! I am still looking for the old small star punch. I use the star in the Merry Minis set a lot! I am looking forward to seeing the new In-Colors but will definitely miss the old! I’m glad that you had a nice Saturday and hope that your Sunday is just as good! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  13. Love this CAS card, not what I pictured when reading the ‘recipe’, tho. I was picturing the lines from Gorgeous Grunge. I own the set and always use your cards for inspiration when using it. Love the bubble, who knew pool party and old olive would look good together? Have an enjoyable weekend.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lynne! I was going to use the lines but I do love a little spatter so I went with that instead! What an honor to be an inspiration it is for me! I was just as surprised with the Pool Party and Old Olive! Enjoy the rest of your weekend! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

