RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 132

Posted on

Happy Thursday to you! Only one day away from my favorite day of the week! Today was a busy day at work, but a good one, I actually got some things accomplished which is always good. I left work a little early today and met Andrew to take the train into Manhattan. On our walk up I passed the Giant Needle and Button in the Garment District and it reminded me of my friend LeAnne so I took a picture of it.

Giant Needle and Button

We met up with my friend Kim for some dinner, we went to Zuni. The burgers were pretty good, however, I would stay away from the garlic mashed potatoes. LOL! Afterwards we headed over to Times Square and Andrew and Satellite Lane performed some songs in front of Military Island. The reason they were in the city was to sing for a wedding proposal. After some impromptu singing, the couple showed up and at 8:45 a picture came on the SONY Jumbo-Tron in Times Square where the man asked for his girlfriend’s hand in marriage. Satellite Lane gathered around and performed “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri. A large crowd gathered and all cheered for the happy, newly engaged couple! I have to say, it was quite an experience to watch it happen in person. Below you can see a clip of them performing one of the songs they did before the proposal, Andy Grammer’s “Keep Your Head Up”.

Satellite Lane Times Square 4-2014

Yes, it was a little chilly last night but it pretty cool, huh?! If you’d like to keep up with all of Satellite Lane’s happenings, you can visit their website HERE.

I got home a little late last night as you can imagine, but decided to do my card forΒ this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge…

Freshly Made Sketches #132

It was a great sketch because it was perfect for a quick card. The card base is Pool Party Card Stock and the background is a piece of Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper. I rounded the corners on the top of the background and card with the 1″ Circle Punch. My image and greeting are both from the Peachy Keen Stamp Set. The heart is stamped in Pool Party and cut out with my Paper Snips. For the greeting I heat embossed the “Hello Friend” on a piece of Pool Party in Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder. Both elements are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. Like I said, a nice simple card! Since Pool Party is a light color, the card almost has a monochromatic look to it, but because of the stripes, the heart and sentiment really jump off the face of the card. Let me know what you think of my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. Thanks very much for stopping by today. I hope you enjoyed the video as well and that you have a very good Thursday! πŸ™‚

FMS 132-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Pool Party and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Kaleidoscope

Ink: Pool Party Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Black

Stamp Set: Peachy Keen

Punch: 1″ Circle

Tools: Heat Tool, Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

24 responses »

  1. Oh this is beautiful Justin! I want that DSP just for that striking black and white striped paper! Thanks for joining us at FMS this week! ps. Love seeing your pics – keep ’em coming!

    Reply
  2. Pop Pop Pop! Exactly what your card says to me. I love any color paired with black and white. Always so fresh and crisp looking. What a memorable proposal indeed! Great exposure for Andrew and Satellite Lane. Oh the New York night life, anything can happen.

    Reply
  3. First I love your description of NYC and your photos. I never heard of that needle and button and it is so great. I caught a glimpse of this card in the Instagram photo next to the NYC pic and said to myself, Oh that is a nice one too. I never saw it. (I’m not an Instagram person.) My surprise when it was your card of the day. I love it, The colors and simplicity are super. I love hearts and try to use them more than just for Valentines.

    I was wondering about your card making area. Do you have a room? A corner? A Fungeon? πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! The needle and button is in the fashion district. It’s fun! A little sneak peek of the card before you scrolled to the bottom! It is simple but I love that Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper! Hearts are love and anytime is a good time for some love right?!
      My card making area is a corner of my bedroom that has grown to take over most of it! LOL! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Great card with instant “pop” appeal. Loved the Manhattan pics and video- the guy who danced impromptu was a great addition- gotta love NYC!

    Reply
  5. Sounds like a fun night last night. But when do you sleep, Justin??? Love your card, and the bold color combo and graphic stripes.

    Reply
  6. Hello Justin! Great pics of the city and a wonderful clip of Andrew’s group. How exciting for the couple who got engaged! A story they’ll be able to tell for years. LOVE your card! The soft pool party with the striking stripes…just gorgeous. Such a nice card! I so look forward to your blog each day…thank you! Have a wonderful Thursday! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thanks! I really do love the city and it was so much fun to be there for the proposal! The couple actually met 14 years ago to the day! I so appreciate you coming by to visit! It means a lot to me! I hope that you have a great day too! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Gorgeous card! I love the strips and the heart!

    Reply
  8. Justin, Such a great card! I love the simplicity and the boldness of it! The pool party looks great with that DSP.
    I love your daily stories! Today’s was great! How special was that engagement?! I also like when you take pictures of your journey! The needle and button are great!
    Thanks for sharing your talent and your life with us!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Thank you Donna! It’s definitely simple but I really do love the stripes! It makes me so happy that you enjoy hearing about what I’m up to! The engagement was definitely special! I always make sure to take some pictures so I can post them here. I’m so glad that you come along with me on my little journey! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Love your card and I love how you just pop in and out of the city all of the time! For an upstater like me a trip to the city is a BIG deal!

    Reply
  10. So striking how that pool party accentuates the black and white. Love it, Justin. And you lead the fun-est life, you know it? You make me smile every day! Keep up the good ‘work’. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Thank Georgie! I love the Pool Party with the Black & White! LOL! I do have a pretty good time! It’s definitely better if I get to make you smile! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  11. Great card Justin! I love that diagonally striped paper! Looks great with that sentiment! Such a fun card! Sounds like an exciting trip you had! I love that button and needle! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  12. Laurie Burns Gachewicz

    Oh my goodness Justn, great pics, as usual, great video of Andrew and Satellite Lane!!! I want to see more!!! I did click around on YouTube so I have seen a bit more of them in their glory, but WOW, in person & live must be even MORE thrilling!!! What an awesome proposal in NYC, how amazing!!!
    And now, on to your card… so simple, yet so striking and classy, with those bold stripes & the crisply stamped sentiment!!!!! Pool Party is just perfectly pleasing for Spring too!! Hearts DO equate LOVE & I will take (& give!!) a little more love every day!!!!!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Laurie! They do have a few videos on YouTube, I told them they need more! We’ll see what I can do! They really are great live! I go every time! Times Square was definitely fun! I’m happy you like the card too! I think that we all need to take and give a little more love every day! It makes the world a much better place! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

