RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 133

Posted on

Did I get out of work early yesterday you might ask… why no, I did not. I made a few attempts but with no avail. Sigh… I really did try too! Oh well, I made the most of my Friday night by coming home and starting some of the 12 projects that I need to get finished this weekend. I watched a little TV for a bit, had some dinner and puttered around. Not an overly exciting Friday night but they don’t all have to be now do they?! Andrew did stop by late last night, a visit from a friend is always good. Tomorrow will be more work on the projects and then who knows. Sunday morning I will be heading into Manhattan for a bit. Looks to be a busy but fun weekend and those are always the best kind wouldn’t you say?!

My post for today is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge and it comes to us from Cindy L….

Freshly Made Sketches #133

I really like the sketch, simple but with just enough to add some interest wouldn’t you say? My card starts off with a base of Smoky Slate Card Stock. The half circle and flagged strip are both pieces of paper from the High Tide Designer Series Paper Pack. I used the Circles Collection Framelits to cut out my circle and flagged the end of my strip with my Paper Snips. The center panel starts off with a piece of Whisper White that I stamped with an image from the By the Tide Stamp Set in Calypso Coral. It’s an image of coral so I thought the color was fitting! LOL! I backed it with some Calypso Coral and then adhered it to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My fish is from the same set and is heat embossed with Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder on Smoky Slate. The greeting is from the Teeny Tiny Wishes Stamp Set and is stamped in Basic Black and cut out with the Bitty Banners Framelits. Stampin’ Dimensionals hold both of them to the panel. Clean, simple and even though there is some coral I still think it would make a great masculine birthday card, don’t you? I thank you for coming by to see my Freshly Made Sketches challenge card. I always love my time with you and I hope that your weekend is off to a great start! ๐Ÿ™‚

FMS 133-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Smoky Slate, Calypso Coral and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: High Tide

Ink: Calypso Coral and Basic Black Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Black

Stamp Sets: By the Tide Clear Mount and Teeny Tiny Wishes Wood Mount

Framelits: Circles Collection

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The Retired List is HERE! Get your favorite soon to be “Vintage” products before they sell out!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Clickย HEREย for a PDF of the flyer.

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest setsย are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

31 responses »

  1. Hi Justin! Love your card! I do think this would be a great masculine card or a Father’s day card especially if they like to fish. That High Tide dsp is a perfect choice for your card. I think you are the best fussy-cutter I’ve ever seen!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wow—12 projects?? Yikes! Some people do their best under pressure don’t they? Enjoy your Saturday—the sun is shining here and the birds are singing!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! Yes, it would definitely be for the fisherman! I do like to fussy cut, I never used to but I fin it relaxing! LOL! Imagine that! Yes, I am going to be back on one the design teams I was on last year and I am taking part in a whole new adventure with some other stampers! I do like a full plate! LOL! I hope that you have a great Sunday, it’s raining here but hopefully not all day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. Good morning Justin! Love the color combination! Will have to look closer at the High Tide DSP as June 1st approaches. The fish is the focal point with the black embossing on the Smokey Slate. You can see the scales! Wow, 12 projects in one weekend! Enjoy your trip into Manhattan.

    Reply
    • Hello Beth!
      The colors in the High Tide DSP are really great! Yes, that fish has some great detail! Let’s see if I can get all 12 projects done! LOL! I will make sure and try to take some pictures! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. Sonny Peterson

    Like this sketch and I like that you stuck with it by placing your Bitty Banner on the main square . Great card ! And I love the High Tide DSP but, I need to get that stamp set to put with it for some summer cards or maybe that pretty By The Sea Shore set ! And speaking of weather…would you believe we had tornadoes in N.C. yesterday !! Wow ,never a dull weather moment this year ,huh ? Have a fun Saturday !

    Reply
    • Thank you Sonny! I really like the sketch too! Simple but too plain. The By the Tide and By the Seashore sets are both really good sets to have. I can’t believe all of the wild weather that we have been having! It’s crazy! I hope that you have a good Saturday too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. sonny peterson

    Great card ! I like where you put the Bitty Banner in order to keep with the Sketch too . And I like the High Tide dsp combined with this stamp set ….super for summer cards , Another great one to put with High Tide is that Seashore set with the sea shells . Hope you have a fun Saturday !

    Reply
  5. Love, love, love this card Justin. Of course the color combo is great but I”m always looking for ideas for masculine cards. Most of the men in my life love to either fish or golf so this design is perfect for both I think. I would be overwhelmed with having to do 12 projects in one weekend so I wish you luck. Did Andrew get to see your blog yesterday? I bet he was thrilled . Have fun in Manhattan tomorrow. We are supposed to get rain starting late afternoon today and all day tomorrow. A good day to catch up on housework. Tonight NASCAR Sprint Cup racing at Richmond.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Grace! I like when you can use a seemingly non-masculine color and make it work! Yes, it’s a good one, especially for those fishermen! I am a little overwhelmed but I just want them finished! It’s supposed to rain on and off here all day today, right now it’s sunny though. Maybe they are wrong?! Yes, Andrew loved the scrapbook page. I’m going to get a frame and give it to him. Enjoy your NASCAR! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Hi! I love how your embossing makes the fish seem so real! So glad Andrew loved the scrapbook page…what’s not to love? Are you going anywhere for the catalog reveal? Your weekend sounds busy but at least you are not running too much and accomplishing much. Sunny here…enjoy the rest of your weekend! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Hey Nancy!
      Thank you! It does really make the fish pop! He did really like it, thanks! I am going to Connecticut on Monday for the Catalog Reveal, it was the closest one… 2 1/2 hours away! LOL! I hope that I get to accomplish it all, I had some phone issues so that ate into my day. It’s sunny here at the moment and warm, loving it! Enjoy the rest of you r weekend too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. Yes it passes for a masculine card. Or even for anyone who lives by the ocean. Just mix up the colors for the appropriate gender. Your card came together very nicely. My, after a long tiring work week, now you have 12 projects waiting for you to complete! Torture! LOL I know you will prevail. Hope you have a nice sunny Manhattan day.

    Reply
    • Yeah! Thank you Lisa! It would definitely work for a beach person too! I always look forward to my crafting projects, but I am on a lot of teams at the moment, maybe I have finally overextended myself! We shall see! I hope it’s sunny tomorrow too! Enjoy your Saturday! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  8. Gorgeous…. I was never a fan of this set but the more I see creations with it I think i now “NEED” LOL The fish really pops with the embossing, that is what sold me. I envy you, I hate fussy cutting, I never like my results, I have no patience I guess

    Reply
    • Thank you Linda! I liked the set from the first time I saw it! Love anything to do with the ocean! I never used to like fussy cutting but I really enjoy it now. I am not the most patient person but I have it to cut. It relaxes me! I stopped looking at as a chore and concentrated on how nice it would look when I was done! You’ll get it, if I can anyone can! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. Justin,
    Great card! I have this set and have struggled using it, you make it look great! I am definitely pinning this!
    Hope you make good headway with your 12 projects today! I have many that need to be done but today was spent outside, it was too nice not too!
    Have a great night,
    Donna

    Reply
    • Donna,
      Thank you! I love that set! As you have read by now I didn’t get as far along with my projects as I wanted to. Have to see what I can get done today! It was sunny here today but cool. I hope that you are having a great weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  10. I love how clean and crisp this looks! And that fish is amazing! Have a marvelous weekend!

    Reply
  11. Great card, Justin! I love the embossed detail in the fish! I may have to case this one for one of the males in my life ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply
  12. Yep, I love this card and agree it could be either masculine or feminine no problem. I have seen so many people make great things like this one out of the By the Tide stamp set. I should probably add that one to my wish list! Thanks for sharing this sketch challenge as I decided to give it a try as well!

    Reply
  13. So fresh and sleek! Love the color scheme for this nautical card!!

    Reply
  14. Justin,i am always very happy to find your cards on our Blog!! You have such a beautiful style,a great eye for colors and details!! You are one of the reasons,i would like to try out some SU products.Yes,i really don’t own anything from this company,crazy isn’t it?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I even know a few SU Demonstretors here in Germany,but never got around to order.My money is always planed for other things! hehe
    Anywho…your card is stunning,the colors are awesome and i love the fish!!!
    Thank you so much for joining us!!
    I hope you had a great weekend! Would love to see Manhatten one of these days!! Too bad that NY isn’t around the corner!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Cindy! I appreciate your compliments! That’s pretty cool that you want to try Stampin’ Up! I love their products! I can’t believe that you don’t have anything especially since most of the other DT are Demos! That fish is fun! I had a good but busy weekend. I hope that yours was good too! I do love being able to pop into the city! Have a great week! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  15. Fabulous use of the sketch!! Love your DSP choices and, of course, that fish. So glad to see you at FMS this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

