RSS Feed

Paper Players 193 & Pics!

Posted on

Now you know I am not normally a fan of Monday but this Monday is different! I will be leaving work early and heading up to Connecticut with my friend Sandy for the Stampin’ Up! 2014-2015 Catalog Premiere! I can’t wait to see what new goodies we will get to play with come June! It’s a 2 1/2 hour ride each way but well worth it don’t you think?! Yesterday was sunny but cool here in New York. I had a lovely morning in Manhattan. Some diner breakfast with Kim and then off to see some friends for a bit. I met back up with Kim and we went to the Target in Riverside Plaza. I got home around 3:15 and did some laundry and worked on some of my projects that I needed to finish, I didn’t get all of them done but I made a dent! I have some Manhattan pictures for you too! The first one is the tunnel exit from Grand Central for the Metro North trains. I have to admit that I didn’t even know that it was there! It goes right down the middle of Park Avenue and comes out at 97th Street. I took a shot in the other direction too, I love all of the buildings and there is even a little park.

Metro North Park Ave Tunnel

97th & Park

The next picture was taken from the parking garage at Riverside Plaza. There really aren’t many places in Manhattan where you can’t take a pretty neat picture!

Riverside Plaza

That’s the FDR Drive and the East River, the land across the river is Randall’s Island. I think that the clouds in the sky look pretty neat too, it’s like they parted!

Today being Monday also means that It’s time for this week’s Paper Players challenge and this week we have a sketch from sweet Anne Marie…

Paper Players #193

I wanted to keep my card nice and simple but colorful too so I used some Birthday Basics Designer Series Paper. The base of the card is Basic Gray Card Stock and the background is a piece of Crisp Cantaloupe that I embossed with the Perfect Polkadots Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Both of the panels use Birthday Basics Designer Series Paper, the long one is backed with Gumball Green and the other with Raspberry Ripple. My greetings are both from the Sketched Birthday Stamp Set, the cupcake is stamped in Bermuda Bay, punched out with the 1 3/4″ Scallop Circle Punch and has a little Silver Sparkle Dazzling Details on it. The eat cake is stamped in Raspberry Ripple and is cut out with the Bitty Banners Framelits. All of the pieces are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. Three Basic Jewel Rhinestones complete the card. I do enjoy the colors in the Birthday Basics DSP and the Sketched Birthday is a fun set! I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Paper Players sketch challenge from Anne Marie. Hopefully I will be coherent enough when I get home tonight to remember the Catalog Launch! Thanks so much for coming by today and I hope that you all have a great Monday! 🙂

Paper Players 193-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Gray, Crisp Cantaloupe, Gumball Green, Raspberry Ripple and Very Vanilla

Designer Series Paper: Birthday Basics

Ink: Bermuda Bay and Raspberry Ripple Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Sketched Birthday Clear Mount

Framelits: Bitty Banners

Embossing Folder: Perfect Polkadots

Punch: 1 3/4″ Scallop Circle

Embellishments: Silver Sparkle Dazzling Details and Basic Jewels Rhinestones

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The Retired List is HERE! Get your favorite soon to be “Vintage” products before they sell out!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest sets are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

28 responses »

  1. Fabulous card, Justin! I, too, got up with a smile on my face when the alarm went off this morning. Can’t wait for the catalog reveal party tonight! Have fun!

    Reply
  2. Can’t wait for the premiere! I live in ND so would have gone to Minneapolis, a 4 hour drive, but they sold out, so I’m going to Des Moines instead. Just 8 hours from home! Needed a mini road trip vacation, right? Luckily, an old friend lives in the middle so we are able to visit. Adventure time!

    Reply
  3. Cute, cute, cute and a great take on the sketch! This happy card is sure to make someone smile. See ya later, alligator!!! Woo, hoo!!!

    Reply
  4. Hello Justin! Nice card! I struggle with this dsp but the way you’ve used it looks wonderful! Love your pics of Manhattan! It looked like a very pretty day there. Have a blast tonight, can’t wait to hear how it went tomorrow! Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! Some of the patterns in the DSP are a little busy but in small doses they are great! Glad you enjoyed the pictures. It was a nice day, could have been a little warmer! I can’t wait for later! Enjoy your day too! 🙂

      Reply
  5. So jealous! Wish I could have gone to the catalog premier. I wasn’t adventurous enough to travel that far. Guess I’ll have to wait till Thursday to see it. Have a great time!

    Reply
  6. OMG Justin, are you going to the premiere event in Branford, CT? So am I along with two downlines! I know Laurie Burns Gachewicz and I would LOVE to finally meet you in person!!

    Reply
  7. Dang it Justin! I’m going to CT on Sunday for a week and wouldn’t you just know it, you’re going tonight! What town is the reveal in? 2-1/2 hours really isn’t so bad. We used to do it several times a year when my daughter was at Hofstra. Now it’s 5 hours for me just to CT by car and then almost two hours to Manhattan on Metro North. LOL The Metro North photo was pretty familiar. Don’t know why I never think to take photos from the train. Anyway, I hope you have a fantastic time tonight and that you are inundated with lots and lots of fantastic product! Can’t wait to hear your report.

    Reply
    • Aww, Grace! We seem to just miss each other. The movie theater is in Branford. I remember you saying that you take Metro North and the picture is where you enter the tunnel. I love to take pictures, I never used to but I do now. I can’t wait to let you guys know all about it! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Beautiful card. Perfect alignment too with all the dots… wow. Have fun tonight. Lucky you! Ours (in Canada) is only on Wednesday night. Won’t be much of a “premiere” I guess but hey we are lucky we can go. There are only 4 venues all across Canada. It will be abuot 1 1/2 hour drive each way but I am sure it will be well worth it. Can’t wait. Now I’ll have to decide if I come back to your blog in the meantime or wait till AFTER our reveal…. LOL

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! I am very much looking forward to tonight! It will be a fun new adventure! I wonder why they moved the Canadian ones back a few days? It is definitely going to be worth it! I don’t know how much they will let us share. Have a lovely day! 🙂

      Reply
      • LOL….. Louise here. You were too much in a hurry to get going, were you! But I love Grace’s name too.
        I wish I knew as my whole day had been organized for TODAY and it was a lot easier to take a whole day off on a Monday. Now I will have to rush to get out of work by 3:00 and hopefully make it on time. Maybe they will keep you all hostage until Wednesday night….LOL Have fun. Enjoy! Louise

      • LOL! I’m always in a hurry to get where I’m going! I’m surprised that they had to change the date, I wonder why? I hope that you enjoy the release as much as I did! 🙂

  9. Hi Justin,
    Great Card! I don’t have this dsp…don’t know how that happened! I am usually a dsp hoarder! I will need to act fast to get some before it is gone. I missed getting the Fine feathers stamp set (I think that is the name), by time I placed my order is was gone! Oh well…I am sure there will be great stamps in the new catty.
    Unfortunately I am not able to make the premiere. It was sold out so quickly! I would have had to go to Baltimore, about 3 hours each way, but I would have done it!
    Have fun tonight! I can’t wait to see all the new goodies!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Sorry for my late reply! Thank you! I am definitely a Designer Series Paper hoarder! I have so much, I need to stop… maybe not! LOL! I love the Fine Feathers Set, it was one of the first ones that I got last year. Our Premiere had some space but there were a lot of people there. The new Catty is great! You are going to love it! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Laurie Burns Gachewicz

    Wow Justin, great pictures, and a sweet birthday card!!
    Today is officially the BEST MONDAY EVER!!!!!
    I received my very own copy of the new SU catalog, I had lots of fun seeing new products with local demos, I got to share the excitement with my upline Super Stamp Girl, my sideline Melissa, and 7600 other demos, AND I was lucky enough to meet you and Sandy!!!!!
    Mega-super-amazingly-awesomeness!!! Xoxoo

    Reply
    • Thank you Laurie! It definitely was the best Monday ever!! I had a great time! It was awesome to meet you both! I love getting to see the people that I talk to on my blog! I’m glad that you had a fun time!! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Cute card, Justin! Love this little cupcake, especially with the SPARKLE!! Thanks for sharing this with us at the Paper Players this week!

    Reply
    • Thank you LeAnne! I have to tell you that when I went to use the Silver Sparkle I squeezed too hard and it all came out all over the desk! I just laughed! And then sucked it back up into the bottle! Have a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  12. jaydeestamping

    Justin, thanks for your sharing photos…. loved them. I also loved your card. I love that you mixed the candle DSP with the polka dot paper and then repeated the circles with the polka dot embossed background. Fabulous!
    So glad you joined the Paper Players this week
    Jaydee

    Reply
  13. I have always loved those sentiments! Anything that says cupcakes and cake are a win in my book. Haha! I love how you mixed the DSP with the embossed background, too. Fabulous photos of the city. I am pretty sure I am going to call you on my next trip back for a guided tour of all the best “hot spots”. So glad you played along with my sketch this week. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Anne Marie! I love them too! I’m with you on the cake too! I like the new cupcake set in the Catalog, a lot more fun than the old one! I look forward to being your tour guide in Manhattan! Have a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

