RSS Feed

Creation Station Inaugural Post

Posted on

creation station header

It has been a busy couple of days on the JK Cards blog! Friday I had four projects, yesterday I had two and today I have three! Today is the first post for a new design team called the Creation Station. We are here to give you lots of inspiration, so there will be plenty of photos. Every other Sunday we will focus on a few stamp sets and other items from the catalog giving you ideas on how to incorporate different items together in new and fun ways. I was honored when I was asked by Jen Arkfeld to participate and what fun it is to be with such a talented group of people. Feedback from you is very important, so be sure to let us know what you think! Let’s get started, shall we?

The first stamp set that we are focusing on today is the Stippled Blossoms Stamp Set. It’s a two step stamp set that gives you great shading details. My card begins with a base of Whisper White Card Stock and I stamped the Hardwood Background Stamp in Sahara Sand directly on it. Across the top is a thin piece of Gold Foil Sheet. The flowers from the stamp set are stamped in Strawberry Slush and Rose Red.

Creation Station Card 1 Creation Station Card 2

The Stamp-a-ma-jig make the two step stamping nice and easy. The leaves are stamped in Old Olive and Always Artichoke. They are all cut out with my Paper Snips.

Creation Station Card 3

To back them, I created a tag from Crumb Cake Card Stock using the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch. I stamped the flourish from the Everything Eleanor Stamp Set in Old Olive and adhered the tag and flowers to the base with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My greeting is from the Label Something Stamp Set and in stamped in Old Olive, punched out with the Ticket Duo Builder Punch and it too is adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I cut the card base to 4 inches wide so I could let the flowers hang off the side of the card, while still allowing the card to fit into a standard sized envelope. I really like the Hardwood Background with the florals, it gives the card a nice, outdoorsy feel.

Creation Station Card 5

Creation Station Card 4

On to the next card! The next stamp set we focused on is the Geometrical Stamp Set. I did a hybrid card using both the stamp set and the digital download with my E-Cutter. The card base is Strawberry Slush Card Stock. The panel is a piece of Bermuda Bay that I cut out with my E-Cutter and the Geometrical Digital Download.

Creation Station Card 6

I stamped the second part of the greeting in Basic Black from the Traditional Stamp Set.

Creation Station Card 7

Each of the cut out triangles is backed with a piece of the Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper. The triangles are stamped in Basic Black, Basic Gray and Crushed Curry and they are all punched out with the Triangle Punch. The panel and all of the triangles are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I think the sentiment and the triangles look really cool when they are cut out of the panel and the DSP behind the triangles is a fun way to tie in the colors of the card.

Creation Station Card 9

Creation Station Card 8

The last we are focusing on today are the Tag a Bag Gift Boxes. There is a neat accessory kit that you can buy to go with them, but I opted to do something a little different. After assembling the box, I stamped a piece of Very Vanilla Card Stock with the Dictionary Background Stamp and scored it with the Simply Scored Scoring Tool.

Creation Station Box 10

I wrapped a piece of Watercolor Wonder Designer Washi Tape and a piece of Crushed Curry 3/4″ Chevron Ribbon lengthwise around the card stock before adhering it to the acetate sleeve with the new Fast Fuse Adhesive. My flowers are from the Secret Garden Stamp Set, I stamped them in Memento Tuxedo Black and colored them in using the Daffodil Delight Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers.

Creation Station Box 11

The Secret Garden Framelits cut them out and Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere them to the ribbon. My greeting is from the Four You Stamp Set and is stamped, again, in Memento Tuxedo Black. I flagged the ends of the strip and adhered it to the box with Stampin’ Dimensionals. Some Basic Jewels Pearls in the centers of the flowers complete the box. I think the Dictionary Background Stamp is a perfect background canvas for a little box like this and I really love the way the flowers came out using the new Blendabilities Markers.

Creation Station Box 13

Creation Station Box 12

And there are my three projects for my first ever Creation Station Design Team post!

Be sure to take the entire tour; if you started with me, click the ‘Next’ button below to visit our fearless leader, Jen Arkfeld! I really hope you enjoyed the projects today and that you will join us again two weeks from now for the next Creation Station blog tour! 🙂

creation station back     creation station next

 

 

 

Full Blog Tour List:

Jen Arkfeld

Ilina Crouse

Kathy Kartak

Cindy Beach

 

Stampin’ Up! products used:

 

Stippled Blossoms Card:

Card Stock: Very Vanilla and Crumb Cake

Specialty Paper: Gold Foil Sheet

Ink: Sahara Sand, Strawberry Slush, Rose Red, Old Olive and Always Artichoke Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Stippled Blossoms, Everything Eleanor and Label Something Clear Mount

Punches: Scalloped Tag Topper and Ticket Duo Builder

Tools: Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Geometrical Card:

Card Stock: Strawberry Slush, Bermuda Bay and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Kaleidoscope

Ink: Basic Black, Basic Gray and Crushed Curry Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Geometrical Clear Mount

MDS: Geometrical Digital Download

Punch: Triangle

Tools: E-Cutter, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Tag a Bag Gift Box:

Card Stock: Very Vanilla

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers: Daffodil Delight

Stamp Sets: Secret Garden and Four You Clear Mount

Framelits: Secret Garden

Embellishments: Watercolor Wonder Designer Washi Tape, Crushed Curry 3/4″ Chevron Ribbon and Basic Jewels Pearls

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

45 responses »

  1. Love it! Can’t wait to get my hands on the Blendabilities! I can see already that I am going to LOVE the New Creation Station!

    Reply
  2. Justin – these are awesome! I really am digging the e-cutter usage with the Geometrical download…now I NEED the download. Great job!

    Reply
  3. MaryJo Marshall

    Oh my gosh!! I LOVE them all!! You did fantastic work with these. I have been seeing so many things using an e-cutter. I do not have this – what one do you have?? Thanks!

    Reply
  4. sonny peterson

    Justin ! Wow ! What great cards with directions ….love it ! I am excited about the Creation Station for you ….what fun !

    Reply
    • Thank you Sonny! It;s nice that we are encouraged to give a little extra with this Design Team. So happy to have you along for the ride! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Justin: What a brilliant idea to show the process for making these cards! Your cards are gorgeous and I especially love the flowers colored with Stampin’ Up’s new Blendabilities on top of the Dictionary background stamp. Lovely!!

    Reply
    • Thank you Kathy! It’s funny because the paper started out nice and clean and just gets progressively messier as I go along! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the projects and the step-by-step! I’m loving the Blendabilities! I haven’t colored in that much stuff since I was a kid! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Justin, you’ve been a busy guy! Great projects!! The hardwood background is one of my favorites. The geometric card you made with the e-cutter is fabulous!! I don’t have an e-cutter and don’t see one in my future but I love the projects you have made with yours. And I love what you did with the tag-a-bag box. Those boxes are the best deal ever!! I used them at Christmas last year. Great job with the blendabilities!! Can’t wait to get my hands on mine!
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Reply
    • Yes Gerri, I have been haven’t I?! Thank you very much! I love that Hardwood Background too! I have been using my e0cutter a lot more and actually think of most times before I start a project. I haven’t used the Tag a Bag Boxes as much as I should have, thankfully they are in the new Catalog! You are going to love the Blendabilities! I hope that you have a wonderful Sunday! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Creation Station Blog Hop! | StampAndCreate.net

  8. I absolutely love the Stippled Blossom card, thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  9. Justin, all I have to say is, “Awesome Sauce!” You make we want to get an E-cutter even more now. All your projects are fabulous! Thanks for sharing and I’m looking forward to being on this blog hop journey with you! 😉

    Reply
  10. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Wow! That’s a LOT of creativity, Justin!!! I love the detail and stippled effect created by the 2-step stamping with your Stippled Blossoms design. I get a very festive and bright feeling from your second geometric design. 🙂 And I’ve changed my mind about Blendabilities. At first, I wasn’t going to buy them because I have 68 Copic markers, but I love the effect created by the Blendabilities and have decided to give them a try. Great coloring effect, Justin! The flowers look 3-dimensional!

    Congratulations on being asked to be a part of Creation Station! You certainly have a *lot* to offer!!! Soooooo fun!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much El! I had a lot of fun making the projects! The Blendabilities really are great! I have never used colics before, I found our markers very easy to work with. They do give the flowers a neat 3D look! I’m so happy to be with the rest of these guys! Can’t wait for the next tour! 🙂

      Reply
  11. WOW Justin, where do you find the time?!? This is awesome. Really looking forward to all the great ideas this new design team will be putting forward. Love your cards. I have neglected my Cameo and I did download the trial version of MDS but I must confess I have not really played with it. As for the Blendabilities, I have ordered one pack but I do have almost, if not more, 300 Copics!!!! Your flowers on the box really have a 3D look.

    Reply
    • LOL! I have been a very busy boy Louise! I love to create so I always find the time. They are a very talented bunch with different takes on things, it should be fun! You should really give the Cameo a try, I think that once you get used to it you will love it! 300 Copics… WOW! I have never used them, I’m glad that we have our own now, they are great! I hope you have a lovely Sunday! 🙂

      Reply
  12. OMG! These ALL are FANTABULOUS!!!!!!! Where do you find time, I love following you. Thank you for sharing your talents, and YES!!! Can’t live without my e-cutter

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Linda! When you love doing something there is always time, right?! Definitely love my e-cutter! I appreciate having you along and hope that are having a nice Sunday! 🙂

      Reply
  13. Justin you have hit a Triple Grand Slam! They are all gorgeous! I’m off to check out the rest of the blog tour.

    Reply
  14. Awesome projects, Justin!! I can’t wait to get my Blendabilities, and you’re convincing me that I “need” an e-cutter! 🙂 It’s a privilege to be part of the blog hop with you!

    Reply
  15. Great projects, Justin. I have seen your projects around Pinterest and SC and have always enjoyed them. Good for you. Please feel free to visit my blog anytime!! 🙂

    Reply
  16. Wonderful projects, Justin, but I wouldn’t expect anything else. You really make me want an e-cutter now. The way you’ve used it for the triangles is absolutely stunning!

    Reply
  17. HI Justin, Great projects! Love them all, especially the triangles cut with your e-cutter! And those Blendabilities…oh I need to get those!! You did a fantastic job on all of these! You never cease to amaze!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thanks! Love the Geometrical Set, so glad that it carried over! The Blendabilities are awesome! I have never colored so much in my life! I can;t thank you enough for stopping by and you wonderful comments! You rock! 🙂

      Reply
  18. Nancy Farrell

    Hi Justin. What wonderful items. Love the colors. Congrats on the new concept. Looking forward to CASE’n a whole lot. 😊

    Reply
  19. Wow Justin, you were so busy! They are all amazing and I really love the Geometrical Card with the cut images! AMAZING Stuff.

    Reply
  20. Pingback: The Creation Station Blog Hop! | Inspired By Hue

  21. Awesome job with the Blendabilities! Love all of your projects! So honored to be on the blog hop with you!

    Reply
  22. hi justin! your projects never fail to inspire me! i love how you used the e-cutter & am thinking i need to start ‘hinting’ for a christmas present! tfs your creativity ~ smiles, karen 😉

    Reply
    • Hello Karen,
      Yeah! Thank you very much! I have so much fun with my e-cutter! That would make a lovely Christmas gift for sure! Enjoy the week! 🙂

      Reply
  23. Pingback: Creation Station Blog Tour – Work of Art | jk cards

Leave a Reply

