RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 203 & Happy Mother’s Day!

Posted on

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you wonderful mothers out there! Where would we be without you? In big trouble and if the truth be told not here at all! I do have a Mother’s Day card for you today but it’s not mine. I had a very nice relaxing day yesterday. I got my haircut and then crafted for a bit. I watched some TV and then Andrew stopped by to make his mom a Mother’s Day card. I think he did a great job! He used the Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers and even did some fussy cutting! I have the pictures to prove it too! Here he is coloring…

Andrew Coloring

And here he is fussy cutting…

Andrew Fussy Cutting

The funny thing is I asked him if he wanted a stamp that had a Framelit and he said yes. After he cut them out he didn’t like the white around the flower so he ended up cutting them out anyway. He did an awesome job coloring and cutting. He did some heat embossing too. And here is the card that he made for his mom…

Andrew MD 2014-WM

I think he did a great job! I’m sure that she will love it! And the flowers are just amazing! You’ll have to let us know what you think! ๐Ÿ™‚

Now off to my card which is for this week’s Pals Paper Arts color challenge…

PPA 203

When I see theses colors I think of fall but I decided that if your mom liked the colors my card might even make a good Mother’s Day card! LOL! I needed a collage style card. There areย a lot of goodies on it so be warned! The base of the card is Cajun Craze Card Stock. I adhered one of the Tea Lace paper Doilies in the right corner for a little background. Next up is a piece of Very Vanilla that I cut the top edge of with the File Tabs Edgelits Dies. I stamped the greeting from the Countless Sayings 1 & 2 Photopolymer Stamp Sets in Night of Navy. In the lower right is a piece of Night of Navy that I cut out with the Hexagon Hive Thinlits Die and then trimmed some of it away. The angled strip of Cajun Craze is embossed with the Decorative Dots Textured Impressions Embossing Folder and on top of it are two tickets from the That’s the Ticket Stamp Set. They are stamped in Night of Navy and punched out with the Ticket Duo Builder Punch. Above that is a piece of Night of Navy thatย I cut out with one of the elements from the Circle Card Thinlits Dies. The xoxo is from the same and is cut out from a piece of Gold Foil Sheet. My tag is a piece of Night of Navy thatย I used the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch and the Project Life Corner Rounder on. I also Paper-Pierced around the edge with the Eclectic Paper-Piercing Pack*. A piece of Natural 5/8″ Chevron Ribbon tied with some White Bakers Twine goes through the top. My flowers are from the Secret Garden Stamp Set and are stamped in Cajun Craze on Cajun Craze. I used the Gold Stampin’ Dazzle Marker to make the centers. Last up is a Regals Designer Button adhered with the new Fast Fix Adhesive. Like I said there is a lot but I think that it all works quite well together. I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Pals Paper Arts color challenge and also Andrew’s Mother’s Day Card. Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope that you all have a great Sunday and a wonderful Mother’s Day! ๐Ÿ™‚

PPA 203-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Cajun Craze, Very Vanilla and Night of Navy

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Ink: Night of Navy and Cajun Craze Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: That’s the Ticket and Secret Garden Clear Mount and Endless Wishes 1 & 2 Photopolymer

Marker: Gold Stampin’ Dazzle

Framelits: Secret Garden

Thinlits: Circle Card and Hexagon Hive

Edgelits: File Tab

Embossing Folder: Decorative Dots

Punches: Scalloped Tag Topper and Ticket Duo Builder

Embellishments: Natural 5/8″ Chevron Ribbon, White Bakers Twine and Reglas Designer Buttons

Tools: Big Shot, Eclectic Paper-Piercing Pack*, Paper-Piercing Tool, Stampin’ Pierce Mat, 2-Way Glue, Fast Fix Adhesive*, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

*2014-2015 Annual Catalog

 

Current Promotions:

The Retired List is HERE! Get your favorite soon to be “Vintage” products before they sell out!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Clickย HEREย for a PDF of the flyer.

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two newest setsย are Sweetie Pie and Sweetie Pie Frames. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

43 responses »

  1. Both cards are wonderful. I am sure that Andrew is happy to have such a talented person with awesome supplies to help him.

    Reply
  2. Hi Justin! Beautiful cards!!! Wow—Andrew did a GREAT job on the coloring…was this his first attempt at the Blendabilities? Amazing job! And I love all the elements on your card and the new File Tab edgelit…love that. Great cards! Enjoy your day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! Yes, he did do a nice job with his coloring! It was his first attempt, I tell he has a talent and he doesn’t believe me! LOL! The File Tab Edgelits are fun! I hope you enjoy you day, it’s gorgeous here! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin, Both cards are beautiful, but I have to say, Andrew has quite a touch with the Blendabilities! Love them both!

    Reply
  4. WOW – Andrew, you did a great job. I really like your layout. And, of course, Justin, your card is over the top. It has a lot going on but all of it fits together beautifully. Great cards!

    Reply
  5. Love them both! ;))

    Reply
  6. Thanks fellas- great cards- I agree with Andrew- I often get overwhelmed in my own stamp room!

    Reply
  7. sonny peterson

    Wow ! Andrew you did a great job on your card ! And you sing too ! Justin will have to have you do another card for us to see your artistic talent once again . Justin , your card is loaded with detail …love it and those colors are so rich ! Yay for you two !!

    Reply
    • He’s quite the talent isn’t he Sonny?! I tell him that you guys like to see his cards! Glad you enjoyed both cards! Have a wonderful day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  8. Love both cards!!

    Reply
  9. Nancy Farrell

    Two great cards. Love them both. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  10. Andrew’s card is beautiful, I commend anyone who fussy cuts, I have no patience, thats why I have framelits, LOL and yes the whhite bugs me also.

    I am speechless over your card, absolutely gorgeous. I love it, everything about it fromt the style, colors, tag, doily, very vintage.

    Reply
  11. Love, love, love both cards. They are both beautiful. I love the simple elegance of Andrew’s card, and your card is stunning with all the detail! Wonderful job, as always.

    Reply
  12. Justin, I think you need to get Andrew to sign up. He has talent in cardmaking. Also a great job coloring and shading. His whole card is very nice. Plus Justin you card is lovely. As always you have a lot of elements on your card and they combine so well. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • LOL! I have explained to him that he’s really good! I’m just happy to have him make a card to share every once in a while! I do love a collage card! Thanks so much Lisa! I hope that you had a nice Sunday! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  13. Hi Justin,
    Andrew did a great job on his card! I love that he fussy cut after the framelit cut! The white always bothers me, sometimes I trim it off but most times not…
    I love your card! I love the collage style of stamping and this is definitely collage! Great job!
    We are having such beautiful weather here. Perfect day to be outdoors!
    I hope your Sunday is a good one!
    Thanks for sharing yours and Andrews talent with us!!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Yes, thank you! He did! Glad you enjoyed my “loaded” card too! We too had a lovely day here, it was just perfect! I had to be outside, hence my late replies! I hope that you really enjoyed your day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  14. Andrew did a fantastic job making the card for his mom! Your card is also awesome. You have a knack for collage cards. Who am i kidding? You just have a knack for card making ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Shellie!! You really are way too kind! I’m so happy that you liked them! You are pretty awesome yourself you know!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  15. WOW! BOTH cards are just beautiful…Andrew you must listen to Justin. you DO have talent, and plenty of it. The coloring of your flower is outstanding! I’ve been doing this awhile, and my first attempt at Blendabilities is NOTHING like yours. Great job! Thanks for sharing guys!

    Reply
    • Yeah! Thanks Bobbi! I keep telling him! It really was the very first time he had used alcohol markers! I was pretty impressed too! I hope that you had a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  16. Andrew’s card is beautiful! Love the way he colored the flowers…maybe I can learn to use the Blendabilities:)

    Your card is absolutely stunning!

    Reply
    • Thank you Kat! He impressed me too! You will be great with them too! Glad you enjoyed mine too! I hope youSunday was a good one! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  17. Good Evening Justin!!

    It was indeed gorgeous today!!! I couldn’t stand being inside at all today, not to make cards or do hardly anything at all LOL!!! I ate outside, gardened for a bit, and even painted my nails outside with my daughter too!!!

    So Andrew, when are you doing a video for your tips with the Blendabilities??!!! Satellite Lane could do the intro, background, and closing music!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ What a stunning card; I have no doubt your mother loved it, what a lucky lady!!!

    And Justin, you are the King of collage cards!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ You remind me that I need to make more tags and use my lacey tea doilies more often!!

    I hope you both took advantage of the awesome Spring weather we are FINALLY having!!!

    Hugs, Laurie

    Reply
    • Hello Laurie!
      I too needed to be outside! It really was the perfect day weather wise! LOL! I look forward to his comment about the video! LOL! That is actually a great idea with the music! Thank you very much! I do love the collage style, it’s fun to get all of the different stuff to look like it somewhat belongs together! I actually do use the doilies, they are a great quick accent! I definitely took advantage of the weather and loved every second of it! XO ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  18. Justin, your PPA card is over the top! I love all the details, and you’ve made the colors really pop! Both cards are gorgeous! Thank you so much for joining us this week at Pals Paper Arts!!

    Reply
  19. I loved the sneak peak at your stamp studio as well as the project. Any chance we could get a full view of your studio sometime? I know you are a good photographer as I have been enjoying your photo tour of NYC. Thanks in advance if you decide to do this challenge ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • Thank you!! LOL! I don’t know if you need to see all of the chaos in the rest of the stamp area! LOL! I’ll straighten it up a bit and then take some pictures. I’m so glad that you enjoy the NYC Pics. It reminds me that I haven’t been there in a while and I need to go back, I miss it! Thank you for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  20. First of all, I love your collage style card, Justin. You did a great job adding just the right amount of “stuff”. However, Andrew’s card absolutely blows me away! I LOVE it! Thanks for playing with the Pals this week ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Ann! They are my favorite style of cards to make! I will let Andrew know how much you like his card! He will be very happy! Hugs! Have a great week! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  21. I love all the elements in your card! There’s just so much to look at and take in. I think my favorite part is the gold xoxo – it’s unexpected, and perfect!

    Reply
  22. You both did a great job!! I’m sure you brought tears to your mother’s eyes Andrew! We moms all love it when our children take time to give of themselves to make us happy!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

