RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 204

Posted on

Love Friday! I said that once on a card this week already didn’t I?! LOL! Well, I really do love Friday! My trip into Manhattan last night was nice except that it has gotten warm enough for the Subways to start to have that lovely pungent odor again! I got to my friend Ella’s and she had gotten me a nice slice of pizza with big chunks of garlic, yum! We had some wine and caught up. She is such a great person. I did manage to snap a picture of the 6 train as it was pulling in. Going into the city at 6:00PM is always fun. You have to fight your way through the crowds that are heading to Penn Station, it’s not an easy task!

6 at 59th Street

See all of that yuck in the middle of the tracks? I think that’s what gives the Subway it’s signature smell!

Now on to today’s card which is for this week’s Pals Paper Arts sketch challenge from Margaret Moody…

PPA 204

I always like to have some masculine birthday cards on hand and the new Traveler Stamp Set* is great for those. My card is sort of inspired by my train rides last night too. The base is Lost Lagoon* Card Stock, a new favorite of mine! I stamped the locomotive from the Traveler Stamp Set* in Lost Lagoon* on Very Vanilla and backed it with a piece of Basic Black. The strip of paper is from the Modern Medley Designer Series Paper Pack and is also backed with some Basic Black. I choose my greeting from the Label Love Stamp Set, also stamped it in Lost Lagoon* and punched it out with the Artisan Label Punch. A piece of Basic Black is cut out with the Apothecary Accents Framelits and backs the greeting. They are adhered to each other and the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. The sketch provided a great layout for a nice and simple masculine card don’t you think?! I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Pals Paper Arts sketch challenge. Thank you for stopping by and make sure that you have an amazing Friday! 🙂

PPA 204-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Lost Lagoon*, Basic Black and Very Vanilla

Designer Series Paper: Modern Medley

Ink: Lost Lagoon* Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Label Love and Traveler* Clear Mount

Framelits: Apothecary Accents

Punch: Artisan Label

Tools: Big Shot, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

*2014-2015 Annual Catalog

 

Current Promotions:

The Retired List is HERE! Get your favorite soon to be “Vintage” products before they sell out!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

32 responses »

  1. Justin, Love this card!!! The train image is great in this color! And the dsp is perfect! Hope you don’t mind if I CASE this one….. I just received this set. Ordered it because of the card you did with the ship. Thanks again for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Nancy Farrell

    Good Morning Justin, Love this card. The colors look so nice together. The stamp set is going to be a big hit I’m sure. It works right into your “going to Manhattan” all the time. The DSP reminds me of reading the newspaper on the train. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hello Nancy!
      Thank you! I love the Lost Lagoon and it’s quite spiffy with the black. Yes, the train definitely does go with my trip to Manhattan. I love that you saw the connection between the DSP and the train. When I used to commute I would read the paper on the train everyday! I hope that you have a lovely weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  3. I love your blogs about New York City – I live in Brisbane, Australia…much quieter than New York. I also love this card – so can’t wait to get this stamp set, great for masculine cards. I am a demo too, but we can’t pre-order till 1st June (aaargggh!). Gerri K mentions a card with a ship, will have to go looking for that one. Cheers and have a great weekend!

    Reply
    • Thank you Naomi! I love sharing my adventures with you and it makes me very happy that you enjoy reading about them! I would love to come to Australia, I have always wanted to go, maybe one day. The stamp set is perfect for masculine cards. It’s not fair that you have to wait for so long! I hope you enjoyed the ship card too! Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy your weekend too! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin:
    I am always at a loss when making masculine cards. This one is absolutely perfect! What a great combination of colors……….masculine yet not screaming testosterone if you know what I mean. Not every guy hunts or plays golf or drives race cars yet they exude masculinity like this card does. Perfect, perfect, perfect. Thank you for this one. Have yourself a fantastic Friday.

    Reply
    • Hello Grace,
      Believe it or not sometimes I’m at a loss too. That’s why I’m so happy when I make one that I really like. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the card too! I completely agree that the card doesn’t have to be testosterone ladened. I thank you for your visits, they make my day! I hope that you are having a great Friday too! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Happy Friday Justin! I love this card! The Lost Lagoon looks wonderful paired with the black. And that stamp set is a good one, isn’t it? Very nice. Your pizza sounded so good to me. But I could eat pizza 5 days a week. 😉 I’m off to play with more goodies I received yesterday…yay! Have a great rest of your day!

    Reply
    • Happy Friday to you too Karen!
      Thank you!! I’m really loving Lost Lagoon, but then blues are my favorite! The pizza was delicious. If you follow me on Instagram I posted a picture of it. It didn’t have any cheese but lots of chunky garlic! I too could eat pizza all the time. I hope you are having fun with your goodies and that you enjoy your evening! 🙂

      Reply
  6. With every card you make with this stamp set, you’re convincing me to buy it. One is more gorgeous than the other. Oh, you enabler, you! You do it to me all the time!

    Reply
  7. Love x 3, Justin! I love the new Lost Lagoon color, I love the new stamp set and I love Modern Medley. I agree it will make a great masculine card! Happy Friday!

    Reply
    • Thank you, thank you, thank you Crystal! Yes, Lost Lagoon is awesome! The stamp set is definitely a favorite of mine, I will miss the Modern Medley but the new “newsprint” one looks cool! Happy Friday to you too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Justin,
    Another great card! I love Lost Lagoon! I love the Traveler Stamp set! I love the layout! Everything works! It is a great masculine card.
    I know what you mean by the “lovely” smell in the Subway! Phillie’s is not ripe yet, but give it another warm day like yesterday and it will be!
    Hope you are staying dry today! It started raining here at 6am and is still going strong!
    Glad you had a nice visit with your friend. It is so important to take the time to catch up on life! I had a very dear friend pass last week and I hadn’t spoken to him in 2 years, since I moved from Ohio. It has been hard to not have regret for the time we missed…sorry, I don’t mean to get all maudlin on you. Just remember to always say I love you and stay connected to those that you have in your life.
    Hope your Friday is good,
    Donna

    Reply
    • Donna,
      How nice to see you twice in a row! These are definitely some of my favorites! LOL! Yes, the Subway has a signature scent all it’s own!
      We were lucky and it didn’t start raining until around 4:00 and it has stopped temporarily. We are supped to get it bad tonight. I always try to make some time for my peeps. They make my life so much richer and I am lucky enough to have a very diverse group. That is so sad, I’m sorry to hear that. I always think that the people I have around me won’t be here forever so I always try to see as many as I can. I definitely feel the people in my life how much I appreciate and love them. I am thankful that I get to talk to you almost every day! You have became a nice part of my day and you should know that! My Friday has been good, I hope yours was too! XO
      🙂

      Reply
  9. I love this set. It will make masculine cards so easy. And Lost lagoon, what can I say its perfect. Well I live in chicago and we had snow today, not flurries but real snow, enough to cover cars, roofs and grassy. So I would take a smelly train over snow, at least in indicates summer. LOL

    Reply
    • Yes, I too love the set Linda! Ditto on the Lost Lagoon! I’m sorry that you had snow! I wasn’t complaining about the Subway, merely stating a fact! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Lost Lagoon is the color of my front door! Really! I’m lovin’ it! And I can’t wait to get my hands on that Traveler stamp set. New catalog time is such a thrill, isn’t it? 😍 Thanks for sharing with all of us a bite of the Big Apple. You make it fun.

    Reply
    • Wow! I’m jealous Georgie! Love Lost Lagoon! New Catalog time is really fun, I agree! I love that I get to share some of NY with you! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Love the black with Lost Lagoon!

    Reply
  12. Love the card. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  13. Love the color combo! Great card!! I just wanted to tell you Thank You for posting all your pics of NY! I really enjoy looking at all of them!! I have always wanted to go to NYC but my hubby will not fly and it’s a long road trip from here!!

    Reply
  14. Hi Justin!! I couldn’t agree more with all the accolades you have received on this card!!! It is an AWESOME trifecta of paper, design, and color!! You have officially convinced me as well, between this crisp and brilliant card, along with your regal Bon Voyage card, that I DO need this stamp set!! 😉 I LOVED your Friday love card earlier this week too, by the way!!! Have a fabulous weekend!!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Laurie! Yeah! I’m so happy that you like the set now! It really is great, lovely detailed images! LOL! I had to make the Love Friday card because I really do! I hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  15. Justin, You did a great job on this layout! I LOVE that train image – toooot toooot–and I got it too as part of my pre-order – maybe I shoud case YOUR card and see how my version comes out! As always it’s great to see what YOU come up with. Have a good week – stamp, create, play … Everyday! Hugs, Nola

    Reply
    • Thank you Nola! Definitely CASE the card! I love the Traveler Set! I do Stamp, Create and Play everyday! Have a wonderful week! Hugs back to you! 🙂

      Reply
  16. Such a crisp clean card, Justin! Absolutely love the color combo you used.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

