RSS Feed

Creation Station Blog Tour – Work of Art

Posted on

creation station header

Happy Sunday and welcome to the second blog tour for the Creation Station! Thanks so much for joining us. If you came by on the last one you know that we focus on one stamp set and an accessory every other Sunday to give you inspiration! If this is your first time with us welcome! If you are following the Tour you have arrived here from the very clever Deborah Smart’s blog. How was that for inspiration?! I hope that I can give you some ideas on how to use our featured stamp set Work of Art and accessory Bakers Twine. The post has lots of pictures that I have taken during the process of making the projects so sit back relax and enjoy!

My first project is a card and it’s packed full of new goodies! I used my new favorite color Lost Lagoon* for my base. The background is created with a piece of Blushing Bride that I stamped in Blushing Bride with the longest stroke from the Work of Art* Stamp Set. I used my Gird Paper to help me line it it all up.

Creation Station Blog Tour 4

Next up is a Tea Lace Paper Doily that I brayed in Lost Lagoon*. I went over it a few times to make it nice and dark to help my heart in the middle stand out a bit more.

Creation Station Blog Tour 6

The smaller heart is stamped in Lost Lagoon* using my Stamp-a-ma-jig to make sure they are nice and even. The greeting is from the Really Good Greetings Stamp Set and is stamped in Versa-Mark and heat embossed with Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder.

Creation Station Blog Tour 1Creation Station Blog Tour 3

I used the Hearts Collection Framelits to cut it out and a piece of Brushed Gold Card Stock. I used the Occasions Paper-Piercing Pack to pierce around the edge.

Creation Station Blog Tour 2

Across the bottom are 5 hearts that I stamped in Lost Lagoon* and punched out with the Small Heart Punch. Stampin’ Dimensionals hold them and the large heart to the card.

Creation Station Blog Tour 5

Finally I used the Owl Builder Punch to punch out a tiny heart from some Blushing Bride to go in the middle of the greeting. I have to say that Lost Lagoon* goes really well with so many different colors. I think it looks quite snazzy paired with Blushing Bride and some Gold thrown in for good measure!

Creation Station Blog Tour 7

Creation Station Blog Tour 8

Next up is a card again using the Work of Art Stamp Set for a Background and my favorite little fish! This card starts off with a base of Basic Black and the background is Whisper White embossed with the Chevron Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. The background for the goodies are the zig zags from the Work of Art Stamp Set, stamped in Island Indigo, Lost Lagoon*, Pool Party and Soft Sky.

Creation Station Blog Tour 9

I backed it with more Basic Black and adhered it to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My fish is from the By the Tide Stamp Set and is heat embossed in Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder and cut out with my Paper Snips. Some Silver Foil Sheet punched out with the Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack and a standard hole punch make the bubbles.

Creation Station Blog Tour 11

The greeting is from the May Paper Pumpkin Kit and is stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black on adhesive cork sheet and cut out with the Word Bubbles Framelits.

Creation Station Blog Tour 10

I really love using cork sheet, it cuts nicely with our Framelits and takes ink pretty well. The stamps that come with the Paper Pumpkin kits are some of my favorites too!

Creation Station Blog Tour 12

Creation Station Blog Tour 13

My final card uses our featured accessory Bakers Twine. The base for this card is Soft Sky and the background is s piece of So Saffron that is embossed with the Decorative Dots Textured Impressions Embossing Folder from Sale-A-Bration that is in the new Catalog! I used the Something for Baby Stamp Set* to stamp the safety pins and heat embossed them in Silver Stampin’ Emboss Powder, I think it gives a nice real look to them.

Creation Station Blog Tour 14

They are cut out with the Baby’s First Framelits*, love matching Framelits don’t you?! Next up I cut out a piece of Soft Sky with the same Framelits and used the Eclectic Paper-Piercing Pack* to pierce around the edge. A needle and White Bakers Twine sew the twine through the piercing.

Creation Station Blog Tour 15

My greeting is from the Baby, We’ve Grown Stamp Set from the Occasions Catalog, it’s carried over! I stamped it in Soft Sky and punched it out with the Extra Large Oval Punch. Stampin’ Dimensionals hold all of the elements to the card. I think that the sewn Bakers Twine adds so much along with the silver safety pins. A fun card to welcome in a new little one!

Creation Station Blog Tour 16

Creation Station Blog Tour 17

And that’s a wrap on my second Creation Station post! I really hope that you enjoyed the projects and sneak peeks at some of the new 2014-2015 Annual Catalog* goodies! Now you are off to see what Jen Arkfeld has created for you. I’m sure that you win’t be disappointed! Thanks so much for coming along, I really hope that you enjoyed yourself! Have a super Sunday! 🙂

creation station nextcreation station back

Full Blog Tour List:

Jen Arkfeld

Ilina Crouse

Kathy Kartak

Cindy Beach

Teneale Williams

Sarah Levin

Heidi Boos

Jennifer Frost

Kallan Quinn

Jennifer Downey

Deborah Smart

Justin Krieger – That’s Me! LOL!

*2014-2015 Annual Catalog

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card 1:

Card Stock: Lost Lagoon*, Blushing Bride and Very Vanilla

Ink: Lost Lagoon and Blushing Bride Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Gold

Stamp Sets: Work of Art* and Really Good Greetings Clear Mount

Framelits: Hearts Collection

Punches: Small Heart and Owl Builder

Embellishments: Tea Lace Paper Doilies

Tools: Big Shot, Occasions Paper-Piercing Pack, Paper-Piercing Tool, Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Brayer, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Card 2:
Card Stock: Basic Black and Whisper White
Specialty Card Stock: Silver Foil Sheet
Ink: Island Indigo, Lost Lagoon*, Pool Party and Soft Sky Classic Stampin’ Ink and Memento Tuxedo Black
Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark
Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Basic Black
Framelits: Word Bubbles
Embossing Folder: Chevron
Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL
Card 3:
Card Stock: Soft Sky, So Saffron and Whisper White
Ink: Soft Sky Classic Stampin’ Ink
Specialty Ink Versa-Mark
Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Black
Stamp Sets: Something for Baby* and Baby, We’ve Grown Clear Mount
Framelits: Baby’s First
Punch: Extra Large Oval
Tools: Big Shot, Eclectic Paper-Piercing Pack*, Paper-Piercing Tool, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL
About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

50 responses »

  1. love the ombre chevron bkgnd!

    Reply
  2. Hello Justin! Your cards are wonderful!! I love all of them! Starting with the Work of Art card, love the colors you chose and especially the brayering technique on the doily! Need to try that! Such a pretty card with the gold embossing. Your Father’s day card is great! LOVE the new PP stamps and kit, just got that yesterday! And I really need to get some cork—love how you used the framelit with the saying. So cute! And lastly your baby card is so sweet! I wouldn’t attempt the stitching like you did—it looks perfect! Great cards (as usual 😉 )—thanks for the inspiration! Have a fabulous Sunday!

    Reply
    • Hi Karen,
      Thank you! I am really loving the Lost Lagoon, can you tell?! Brayering the doilies is easy and they look so nice! Yes, the Paper Pumpkin kits are great! I love using the cork, it adds so much and is so easy to use! The stitching took a little longer than I had anticipated but it was fun! You have a fabulous Sunday too! 🙂

      Reply
  3. sonny peterson

    Bravo ! Great presentations ,Justin !! All three cards are great and I have to tell you that this is like being in a class . I love it ! Last ,but not least ….aren`t those safety(diaper) pins the cutest ? Oh, and I have to mention your stitches with Baker`s Twine !! I would like to comment on each card ,but they are all super !

    Reply
    • Thank you Sonny! I’m glad that you enjoyed the format of the post. Yes, the safety pins embossed in the silver are cool. I’m happy you enjoyed the cards and I hope that you have a lovely day! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Justin,

    Great cards!! The heart card is stunning! Love its streaky look using the Work of Art stamp set. You have such a creative mind! Also, using the cork and the fish is so perfect for a Father’s day card. Just love checking your blog every morning! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Hey Gerri,
      Thanks! I was having trouble using the Work of Art Stamp Set but now that I think of it as a background set it’s better! Love my cork! I love having you come by and “chat”. You make my days brighter! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Nancy Farrell

    Can’s say enough how much I love these cards. The first one is my favorite, such detail. Love the bubbles in the second one and the stitching in the third. Great, fantastic, beautiful. Thanks a whole bunch. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! I like the first one the best too! I had the most fun making that one. Thank you! I hope that you have a great Sunday! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Boy oh boy Justin, you really outdid yourself this time! All three cards get an A+++ from me. I love the little touches that really make each card. For instance, the different sized bubbles on the Father’s Day card, the silver embossed pins for the baby card and, of course, the stitching on the onesie. Heck I’m a quilter and don’t know if I could hand stitch on card stock like that. Very impressive indeed. Thank you for all your work in presenting us with beautiful cards every day. We all appreciate your talents. Have yourself a Special Super Sunday!

    Reply
    • Why thank you Grace! Yeah!! I had fun making all of them and you guys are the icing on the cake! The Onesie stitching was a little more complicated that I thought but I do like the look! I really need to learn how to use the sewing machine! I’m happy that you come by each day to see what I’m up to! You make it all worth it! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Happy Sunday, Justin! All three cards are beautiful, the first two are my favorites! I love the fish and the bubbles!

    Reply
  8. All three cards are great; however, my favorite is the Father’s Day card with the fish. I also just got My Paper Pumpkin Kit and the stamp set is perfect. You did a fantastic job in show casing all three cards! Have a good day.

    Reply
  9. WOW! I think we must have channelled each other with this posting….chevron image as a background, the stitching….great minds! And yet, our projects are so different! Really love your first card and the brayering of the doily! Can’t wait to see what you come up with next time.

    Reply
  10. Thanks for stepping through the cards – especially the first one! We used the Work of Art set at hostess club this month and although the girls were a little disappointed they couldn’t get the set this month, I know it’s on several wish lists!

    Reply
    • P.S. I am so thankful for great Mother’s Day and Father’s Day stamps in the last 2 Paper Pumpkin kits! I had nothing. 🙂

      Reply
    • Welcome Becca! I took the most pics of the first one, I thought it was the most complicated out of the three. It’s a great set for backgrounds and I’m glad that we got it at the Catalog Premiere! 🙂

      Reply
  11. All there of your cards are AMAZING! The more I see Work of Art the closer it moves to the top of my priority list! Love how you bray erred the doily! All three cards have real WOW factor!

    Reply
  12. Justin! You are amazing, SO many fabulous cards in one post! I am loving the first card with the hearts.

    Reply
  13. Well I wasn’t sure about the Work of Art set but you have definitely convinced me! Super clever to stamp those brush strokes and then cute a heart out of it. I LOVED the embossed sentiment on it too! All of your cards are absolutely fabulous!

    Reply
  14. OMG I love everything, but the first card literally takes my breath away, it is gorgeous. i love Lost lagoon, and paired with Blushing Bride and gold, PERFECT. I love how you colored the doily, i’m a doily nut, usually I spay them but I will try a brayer next

    Reply
    • Thank you Linda!! The first one is my favorite too! I too am a huge fan of Lost Lagoon! It really does go well with so many colors. Definitely try brayering the doily, it makes it nice and rich! 🙂

      Reply
  15. Hi Justin,
    I am amazed at your creativity and how you share the details in your posts. These projects are outstanding! It’s hard picking ONE favorite, but it has to be the Lost Lagoon hearts card. LOVE the color combo!

    Reply
  16. Terrific cards, Justin! I was never a fan of that fish, until I saw your Father’s Day card; great use of the chevron from Work of Art for the background 🙂 Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  17. Wonderful ideas! Love the how you used the long narrow Work of Art stamp on the first card for the background. You got my wheels in the head turning! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  18. Love the look you got by stacking the image used for the heart. That resulted in great texture.

    Reply
  19. Wowie Justin!!! A terrific trifecta of talent, technique, and triumph!!! 🙂 All of your cards are extraordinarily creative, but the first and third are my favorites. The great pictures really show us how creatively you think, step by step, so a BIG thanks for that!!! Lost Lagoon, Blushing Bride, and glorious Gold is my new go-to color combo because if you!!! The piercing adds so much texture & detail, and then to thread a needle and “embroider” your onesie? SO CLEVER!!! 😉

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Laurie! You make me smile! I too love the way the first one came out. It was fun to put it together and I’m happy that you like the format for the post. It is a pretty neat color combo! The onesie was a bit harder to stitch than I anticipated but I think it gives it a fun look! Enjoy you day! 🙂

      Reply
  20. Hi Justin, that heart you created is just gorgeous. I can’t resist a touch of gold! I wasn’t overly drawn to this stamps set but these backgrounds you’ve created have piqued my interest. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Hello Jenn!
      Thank you! I too love a touch of gold, it makes everything better! I too didn’t love the stamp set but after using it for a bit it has grown on me. Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  21. WOW Justin!!
    You are so talented! I am in awe of your creativity! I love all three cards. The first one is beautiful! I love the colors and the god embossing!, just puts it over the top beautiful! The father’s day card is perfect! I love the fish embossed in black! The embossed chevrons and then the stamped chevrons add so much texture to this card! Perfect! The baby card, OMG! Hand stitching that onesie was brilliant! I love this set and framelits! You did a great job with all three cards!
    Thank you so much for the pictures, they really help to see how you put it all together.
    Donna

    Reply
    • Gee Thanks Donna!
      I am humbled by your comments! I’m so happy that you like the format for the post and that you really enjoyed the cards! I had a so much fun making them and even more fun enjoying your kind words! 🙂

      Reply
  22. Justin, Love your cards and the way you “led” us into the final product with the picture directions. The heart card is my fav, but all are great.

    Reply
    • Thank you Jackie! It’s a good format for a post showcasing the Stamp Sets and giving you ideas on how to use them! I too love the heart card the best! Thanks so much for coming by! 🙂

      Reply
  23. OMG! I can’t wait to CASE this!!! Love the idea of brayerind the lace doily – why did I not ever think of this!!! Turns out GREAT! Thanks for such great inspirations, Justin!!!
    Hugs, Nola

    Reply
  24. Such an awesome trio of cards and project! So many fun details!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

