RSS Feed

Mojo 347 & Pals Paper Arts 205

Posted on

Technically it was a long weekend but they are never long enough even when they are three days! I did have a very nice time. Yesterday I went out to my brother’s for a BBQ and then came home and relaxed. It really is nice to just sit around for a bit, it never lasts very long though. I always get an itch to do something and that usually results in me sitting at my craft desk. I realized that I didn’t do my Pals Paper Arts card so I made one on Sunday night. Yesterday I decided that I didn’t like it so I made another one. I don’t usually post the cards that I don’t like but it will be at the end of today’s post and you can judge for yourself.

My first card is for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge…

Mojo347

Tall and skinny, my favorite! The base of the card is Coastal Cabana Card Stock. In the middle is a piece of Eastern Elegance Designer Series Paper backed with a piece of Smoky Slate. The strip across the lower half is also Eastern Elegance DSP, I backed it with a piece of Crushed Curry to make it a little sturdier. The ribbon is Silver 1/8″ Ribbon. Tucked behind it is one of the images from the Happy Day Stamp Set stamped in Coastal Cabana and cut out with the Circles Collection Framelits. In the middle is one of the greetings from the A Dozen Thoughts Stamp Set, stamped in Crushed Curry and punched out with the 1″ Circle Punch. I used some Stampin’ Dimensionals to adhere the whole panel to the card. One of the Basic Metal Buttons is added with a Mini Glue Dot on top of the ribbon and finishes off the card. I have neglected the Eastern Elegance DSP for a while and am glad I got to use it one more time before it goes “Vintage”!

Mojo 347-WM

Next up is my final card for the Pals Paper Arts sketch challenge…

PPA 205

This cad is filled with new goodies! The base is Pistachio Pudding Card Stock and the background is a piece of Hello Honey that I embossed with the Chevron Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. The three panels are Lullaby Designer Series Paper backed with Baked Brown Sugar. All of the images are from the Nuts About You Host(ess) Stamp Set. The tree is stamped in Baked Brown Sugar and cut out with the Circles Collection Framelits. Apparently I lost my mind a little because I stamped the tree again in Pistachio Pudding and fussy cut the leaves out. Nuts right?! (Goes with the name of the stamp set!) The bird is also cut out with my Paper Snips and is stamped in Coastal Cabana and Baked Brown Sugar. My greeting is also stamped in Coastal Cabana and adhered with a Stampin’ Dimensional. I used the 3/4″ Circle Punch to punch out the other little bird, the greeting didn’t make much sense with just the one bird! LOL! The leaves were a lot of work but I think well worth it. I really hope that you enjoyed both cards for Mojo Monday and the Pals Paper Arts challenge. The other Pals Paper Arts card is at the end of the post, I’m sure you will see why I didn’t like it! I appreciate you coming by to see me today. Enjoy your Tuesday peeps! 🙂

PPA 205 Final-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Mojo Card:

Card Stock: Coastal Cabana, Smoky Slate, Crushed Curry and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Eastern Elegance

Ink: Coastal Cabana and Crushed Curry Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Happy Day and A Dozen Thoughts Clear Mount

Framelits: Circles Collection

Punch: 1″ Circle

Embellishments: Silver 1/8″ Ribbon and Basic Metal Buttons

Tools: Big Shot, Mini Glue Dots, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Pals Paper Arts Card:

Card Stock: Pistachio Pudding, Hello Honey*, Baked Brown Sugar and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Lullaby*

Ink: Baked Brown Sugar, Pistachio Pudding and Coastal Cabana Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Nuts About You* (Host(ess)) Clear Mount

Framelits: Circles Collection

Embossing Folder: Chevron

Punch: 3/4″ Circle

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Multi-Purpose Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

*2014-2015 Annual Catalog

 

PPA 205 X-WM

Card Stock: Real Red, Crumb Cake and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Fresh Prints Stack

Ink: Pool Party, Chocolate Chip and Real Red Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Mosaic Madness and Notable Notions Clear Mount

Framelits: Circles Collection

Embossing Folder: Modern Mosaic

Punches: Artisan Label, Mosaic and 1″ Circle

Embosslit: Beautiful Wings

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The Retired List is HERE! Get your favorite soon to be “Vintage” products before they sell out!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

18 responses »

  1. Nancy Farrell

    Boy is my wish list getting longer and longer. Love that hostess set! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hi Justin! Happy Tuesday! Cute pic of you and your nephew, btw! Love all your cards today, even the one that you didn’t. ;-)That new hostess set is just darling, isn’t it? Eastern elegance was one of my favorite dsp’s, I’m sad to see that go. Great cards and thanks for sharing! Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      A hoppy Tuesday indeed! You saw the pic in the Instagram feed! He is a cutie! Thanks! I just wasn’t loving that card when it was finished. Yes, the new hostess set is too cute. Thanks for coming by my friend! Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Very nice and elegant “Tall and Skinny” card (wish I was that but it won’t happen LOL…. not the tall part anyway, still, always working on the skinny… ha ha.
    I actually love both cards Justin. The first one I am sure was a LOT of work…. I would definitely not have the patience. I just cut a little balloon the other day for one of my card and that what enough (LOL). And I love the red one: maybe because it is one of my fav color but that card is really cute. And you are right about weekends, especially in the Summer: never long enough.
    P.S. missed the pic of you and your nephew, I guess….? Have a Happy Tuesday!

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! I do love the tall and skinny cards! LOL! You are too funny! Aren’t we all always working on the skinny?! Ha ha! I did think that the idea of cutting the leaves out was a bit nuts but it actually wasn’t that bad. I just wasn’t feeling the red card but I’m glad that you liked it! The picture of my nephew was in the Instagram feed on the side of the blog. I’ll see if I can post it tomorrow. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin:
    Evidently the photo of you and your nephew didn’t come through on the post as I looked all over but couldn’t see it.

    I have to admit that the Eastern Elegance DSP was never one of my favorites but you did a great job with it. However, I absolutely, positively just love your PPA Mojo card. It is one of those “knock your socks off” cards! Just gorgeous and oh so sweet. I also like the one you don’t. It’s a great card and I’m not sure what it is about it that you weren’t happy with. The little butterfly really brought it all together.

    Thanks for sharing your talent with us each day. I so look forward to your blog each morning. I hope your Tuesday is Terrific. Friday will be here before you know it!

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      The picture was in the Instagram feed on the side of the blog. I’ll try to post it tomorrow. I didn’t use the Eastern Elegance as much as I would have liked to. The tree card is fun, that stamp set is really cute! I just didn’t love the red card when I finished. It happens sometime but I never post them. Thank you for coming by everyday! I look forward to your comments! Tuesday is good so far and I hope that yours is too! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Wow, three cards today, even if you don’t care for the Mosaic one. The Eastern Elegance card is eye-catching, but the Tree card is my favorite! I appreciate all the cuttings.
    You and your nephew came through your Instagram space on the right of your blog a day or so ago. Cute!
    Even as a retiree, three day weekends are never long enough! I hope your “week” flies by.
    Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! I’m glad that you enjoyed the cards! Yes, that was where the picture was! He is a cutie! I hope the week flies by too! Enjoy your Tuesday! 🙂

      Reply
  6. What a wonderful collection of cards, Justin!

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin.
    Love your cards! And love this new Hostess set, I wish they can do the framelits to go along with it! Too cute!!!

    Reply
    • Hello Gina!
      Thank you! Yes, that Host(ess) set is really neat! Framelits for that set would have been great when I made the card! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  8. You are too funny. Your third card is awesome, just like the other two. We are always our worst critics, aren’t we? My fav is the second, due to the colors and that cute birdie. And yep….why do days off go by so quick?

    Reply
    • LOL! Thank you Linda! Yes, we are our own worst critics. If you knew how many cards don’t make it on the blog you would be surprised! I love the second one too for the same reason! I wish there were more days off! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Hey Justin! Love your cards, especially the Pals Challenge. Fantastic! Thank you so much for playing with us at Pals Paper Arts this week! Good Luck and hope to see you at convention 20114.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

