RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 138

Posted on

Hello Thursday! It’s always nice to see you! Work was a little crazy yesterday. We have a fashion show this Friday night and someone was supposed to do the program but I was the lucky one that ended up with that task! I love when things get dumped don’t you?! I did have a nice evening when I got home. I made a few cards. My boss asked me to make a birthday card for her soon to be 7 year old niece. I said sure. She said she loves Hello Kitty… hmm… who doesn’t! LOL! I don’t know if I have ever mentioned the fact that I don’t really care much for punch art. I don’t think that I have ever made a punch art card, well, I have now. I will post it in the near future and you can let me know what you think about it!

The other card that I made last night was my one for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge from Jen T…

Freshly Made Sketches #138

I love the sketch! I thought of a few different options and settled on this. The card base is Crumb Cake Card Stock and the background is a piece of Mossy Meadow that I embossed with the Arrows Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. My stamped images are from the Perfect Blend Stamp Set. I stamped the coffee cup in Memento Tuxedo Black on Whisper White and cut it out with my Paper Snips. I stamped it again in Jet Black Staz-On on a piece of adhesive cork sheet and cut that out too. The backing is a piece of Vellum Card Stock, I rounded the corners with the Project Life Corner Rounder. A piece of the Natural 5/8″ Chevron Ribbon is stapled to the top and I adhered it to the base with Stampin’ Dimensionals, hiding them behind the cup. A simple but masculine card that would work well for a birthday or even a just because card. We don’t send enough of those and I think we should make an effort to send more! So that’s my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge from Jen T. Did you enjoy the card? Let me know by leaving a comment! I love hearing your descriptions and about your day too! Thank you very much for your visit and I’ll see you tomorrow! Have a super Thursday! 🙂

FMS 138-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Crumb Cake, Mossy Meadow*, and Whisper White

Specialty Card Stock: Vellum

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Specialty Ink: Jet Black Staz-On

Stamp Set: Perfect Blend Clear Mount

Embossing Folder: Arrows

Punch: Project Life Corner Rounder

Embellishments: Natural 5/8″ Chevron Ribbon

Tools: Stapler, Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

NON Stampin’ Up!: Adhesive Cork Sheet

*2014-2015 Annual Catalog

 

Current Promotions:

The Retired List is HERE! Get your favorite soon to be “Vintage” products before they sell out!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

26 responses »

  1. Hi Justin
    I really like the simplicity of this card, yet it has so much texture to it. I use the Perfect Blend set a lot.
    I agree with you on the sending of more “just because” cards. Everyone could use a little happy mail every once in awhile.
    I too am not a big punch art card maker. I like when others make them, I just don’t like making them. I look forward to seeing yours. I am sure it is great just like all you cats are.
    I hope your Thursday is a good one!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      I love the Perfect Blend Set and this is the first time I have used Mossy Meadow. We definitely do need to send more just because cards, I love getting a card in the mail, I think that everyone does! I sometimes like punch art but not as a rule. I don’t know, I just don’t care for it! I’ll post the card over the weekend! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Beth K. Mills

    We all need a cup (or mug or two) of coffee every once in a while to get us going! This card is a great “pick me up” card. The stamped words on the cork are perfect! The Mossy Meadow and Crumb Cake colors reminds me of a famous coffee company’s signature colors! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • I am addicted to coffee Beth! I have between 6 to 8 cups a day! Yes, I did call out to Starbucks with the colors! Although I think Gumball Green was a little closer! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Justin, what a perfect Guy card!! Love it!

    Reply
  4. Hi there Justin! LOVE this card because I LOVE my coffee!! Cool way you’ve stamped on the cork also. I need to try that! I enjoy punch art, mostly because of my godchildren. They love getting cards like that. The sun is shining here and the birds are singing…what a lovely day! Hope yours is just as good!

    Reply
    • Hey Karen!
      Yes! I too love my coffee! Thank you! I love using cork, it just adds so much! The punch art is great for the kiddies, I know. It’s nice and sunny here too! Enjoy! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Yes, this is one of your more ‘toned down’ cards. That’s a good thing too and I like it. The Adhesive Cork Sheet is great texture and adds ‘zing’ to your card. Plus the snippet of Chevron natural ribbon is a nice touch. I agree with 100%…….you don’t need a reason to send a card to someone. It will brighten their day. I do practice this procedure but I know I can do better.

    Reply
    • Yes, it is Lisa! Thanks! I do love a little cork! The sketch was fun! I too need to make a point to send out more just because cards! I will be making more of them too! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Good morning Justin. We finally have a sunny day here in Maine! Yeah – I almost forgot what a sunny day looks like. In addition, we will have temps in the high 60’s and it even may reach 70 in some sports – Makes me want to sing “Oh Happy Day”! LOL

    Great take on the sketch. I know when I saw it a gazillion ideas went through my head, none of them good for a masculine card so I was really glad to see your card. Colors, design, choice of stamp sets and materials – all absolutely perfect for a guys card. Great job. Now I think you should write a little note inside inviting Andrew to come make cards again. LOL
    Have yourself a Terrific Thursday!

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      Woo hoo! So glad to hear the sun finally made it up to you! Wow! We are are having the same temps down here today. I actually enjoy the cooler, not cold weather. I too had a bunch of ideas that flew through my head, I do love when that happens! LOL! Andrew has been very busy lately, I miss seeing him all the time but we all have our own stuff to do. I hope you had a nice day! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Good day Justin, Love your card and the addition of the cork. What a cool idea (that I will most probably ‘borrow’). Great sketch this week. Hoping to find some “me” time!

    Reply
    • Hello Louise! Thank you! I think you should borrow the cork idea, I think more people should. It’s fun! I hope that you got some me time! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Love the “authentic” cup holder out of cork — so real looking! I really like the chevron ribbon tab — perfect for the sketch and feeling of the design. Love this set — so many ways to use it. Hope Thursday flies by for you until it is Friday! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! Yes, it does look like a real cup sleeve. Perfect Blend is a great set, especially for me with my coffee addiction! It’s almost Friday! I hope your Thursday was good! 🙂

      Reply
  9. I accidentally found your work on Pinterest and I have been looking at your work ALL day! 🙂 Thank you SO much for giving me the opportunity to “check it all out”! I have butterflies just writing to you, cuz I’m excited so much! Thank you for so many wonderful ideas!!!!!!

    Reply
    • Happy accident for me! I’m so happy to hear that you enjoy my work! You made my day! I really appreciate you letting me know and I hope that you will come by everyday to see what I’m up to! Have a great evening! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Ooo nice man card Justin! Lots of texture in this simple card and great for a ‘just because’ card – always good to have those on hand. Like the cork coffee collar too – genius!

    Reply
  11. You showcased your image perfectly! I’ll be over for a cup!

    Reply
  12. Great card Justin! I love that coffee cup stamp set and think one of these days I should order it! I love how you’ve stamped on cork! Such a fun look! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  13. Hi Justin….woow…I wanna say this is really MANLY card…lovely coffe cup..great using the cork too and your card caught my eyes as I want to join the challenge and put my card I klick your icon first and see wooowww AMAZING..all the concept is really lovely…may I CASE ing one day Justin…since when did you making cards..its really a lovely creation..I believe you will be the winner or one of the Honorable mention…by the way..my card is #99 would you mind to hop and see it on my blog…and would be so happy if you leave me there some words too..its a simple card only 🙂 happy Monday..send best regards from Germany, Monika

    Reply
    • Thank you Monika! So happy you enjoyed the card! You are too kind, there are lots of great cards, Including yours! Happy Monday to you too! I hope you have a lovely day and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

