RSS Feed

Mojo 348

Posted on

Thursday! I know, I do the countdown starting on Wednesday every week almost. Some weeks I’m just more ready for the weekend than others. I’m especially looking forward to this afternoon when my Box ‘O New Stampin’ Goodies arrives! It is going to be a long day! LOL! They said rain yesterday but it didn’t start until after midnight so it was another nice day here. A bit more humid but still sunny and we are supposed to have a nice weekend too! I will get into Manhattan this weekend! I hope! I went and spoke to my neighbor after work for a bit, come home and made a card and managed to run to Target. A pretty productive evening, those are always the best aren’t they?!

My post for today is for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. This week’s sketch is provided by Julee Tilman…

Mojo348

This card went through many changes on it’s way to what it finally became! Sometimes that happens, right?! The base is Basic Black Card Stock. My background is a piece of Lost Lagoon on the left that I embossed with the Alphabet Press Textured Impressions Embossing Folder and a strip of adhesive cork sheet on the right. The center panel is a piece of Modern Medley Designer Series Paper backed with a piece of Basic Black. Across the bottom is a piece of 7/8″ Cotton Ribbon that I flagged the right side of. I used some Fast Fuse Adhesive to adhere it to the panel. The greeting is from the Label Love Stamp Set and is stamped in Lost Lagoon and punched out with the Artisan Label Punch. I cut out another piece of adhesive cork sheet with the Circles Collection Framelits and backed it with a piece of Crumb Cake. The label and circle are adhered together with Fast Fuse too. Finally I punched out some stars with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack from Lost Lagoon and adhered then to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I think that the Lost Lagoon and the cork give the card a vintage feel and that this would make a great masculine birthday card! And there you have my card for this week’s Mojo Monday Sketch challenge. I really hope that you enjoyed the card, I want to thank you for coming by and I hope that you all have a terrific Thursday! Oh, don’t forget to come back tomorrow to see who wins the blog candy! 🙂

Mojo 348-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Black, Lost Lagoon and Very Vanilla

Designer Series Paper: Modern Medley

Ink: Lost Lagoon Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Label Love Clear Mount

Framelits: Circles Collection

Embossing Folder: Alphabet Press

Punches: Artisan Label and Itty Bitty Accents Pack

Embellishments: 7/8″ Cotton Ribbon

Tools: Big Shot, Fast Fuse, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Non Stampin’ Up!: Adhesive Cork Sheet

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

32 responses »

  1. Nancy Farrell

    Great card. Love the colors, the cork, the stars and the DSP. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Beth K. Mills

    Love the textures in this card! The embossed background and stamped dictionary panel make this a perfect card for a student, teacher or reader! You’ve got me sold on adding cork to my creations!! Have a wonderful Thursday.

    Reply
    • Thank you Beth! Yes! I thought that card would be good for a teacher when I made it! I really do think that cork adds a lot with minimal effort! Glad you will be trying it out! I hope you are having a nice day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Nice take on the MM sketch challenge. Keep forgetting to look for the adhesive cork sheets. Better put a super large post it note on my purse so I don’t forget next time. LOL Where did you pick yours up? I also think your creation today would make a great Father’s Day card also.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa! LOL! Yes, I too have to use post-it’s on the back of the door! I got mine at Lowes, it’s with the shelf liner. I just might have to make it a Father’s day card! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Wow – Lost Lagoon looks amazing with the cork! Great texture and card!

    Reply
  5. sonny peterson

    It all just goes together ! Like this card and that sketch gives you lots of room to try different mixes . Great card !!

    Reply
  6. Hi Justin, happy Thursday to you! It’s almost TGIF! Hang in there! I’m loving this card and Lost Lagoon is rapidly becoming my new BFF!

    Reply
    • Hello Crystal!
      Happy Thursday to you too! Tonight will be like Christmas with all of my goodies! LOL! Thank you! I do love the Lost Lagoon! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Nice, nice, nice masculine card Justin! I really have to get out that cork I bought ages ago and actually use it! I keep saving it for “something special” but finally realize I bought it to use it not to look at it! Thanks for the little “kick” in the butt to get me to take off the packaging material and run that cork through the Big Shot! LOL

    Have your self a Totally Awesome Thursday. Hope you get to go into Manhattan this weekend. I love seeing your photos!

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! Yes, you must get that cork out and put it to good use!! Everything you make is special, no more excuses! He he! Just a gentle nudge, no kicking! LOL! My Thursday is pretty good so far, as I hope that yours is! I hope to get into the city too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Hi Justin! LOVE, love your card! That cork is killin’ me…I’ve got to get some and try it. I love the texture it gives to your card. And it goes great with the Lost Lagoon, or as I’ve been calling it, Blue Lagoon! 😉 (I know, my age is showing…) You’re like my daily vitamin Justin…my daily dose of inspiration! Thank you! Have a great day and I’m looking forward to your trip to Manhattan! (for the pics, of course!)

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! LOL! Yes, you must get some cork! Super cheap and fun to use! Ha! Blue Lagoon works too! Aww, you are my daily smile my friend! I guess I will really have to make an effort to get into the city this weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Justin, you did it again! Love this card. I have got to get some cork! Love lagoon… it is my absolute favorite color! As I’ve said so often, you can take a bunch of elements and make them look fabulous! Thanks again for sharing!

    BTW, I am VERY jealous. I have to wait till next Wednesday for my order to arrive. Of course, in the meantime, I will have days of inspiration from you. 🙂

    Reply
    • Yeah! Thank you Gerri! We all must have some cork!! I agree with you completely, Lost Lagoon is my all time fave! You are way too kind, but I do appreciate it!!!!
      Yes, I will be playing tonight as soon as I mount some stamps! I can’t do them all, it will cut into my creative time! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Great card today (as always)! The colors, the layers, the design….fantastic. I have been looking for the cork board sheets, any suggestions? So, now you are on your way to 2000, I hope I’ll be here to enjoy each one!

    Reply
    • Thank you Mary!! Love the colors too! I got my adhesive cork at Lowes near the contact paper. I do enjoy each post, more so because I have all of you along!! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Hi Justin,
    Love this! The texture is great, the colors are really striking, I love that your neutral is black! Really great graphic and textural card!
    I bet you are anxious to get to your new goodies! Can’t wait to see what you create with them!
    It has been drizzley all day here, but it seems to be clearing up a bit, still warm though, so I will take it!
    We are going to the shore this Saturday. I love being at the beach! I think my granddaughter will have a blast in all the sand. Speaking of grandchildren, my daughter told me I am going to be a grandma again! So excited, Teaghan will make a great big sister!
    Have a great Thursday!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you! I love a card with lots texture, make you want to pick it up!! I cannot wait to get home!! I’ve been thinking about my package of goodies all day! It rained here this morning but the sun is trying to come out now. The shore sounds like lots of fun! I used to like sand, now not so much! LOL! Oh wow!! Congratulations!! I hope your Thursday is a good one too! 🙂

      Reply
  12. Lost Lagoon… I could eat it up. I love this color. Awesome card. Never much of a cork fan until I started following you. Bought some need to play

    Reply
  13. Another one out of the ballpark! Home run!! Seriously, this card is awesome. The makers of this adhesive cork are going to wonder why the surge in sales, lol. How thin is the cork? Is it on a roll or in flat sheets? Gotta get some too! I’ll be near Home Depot tomorrow and I’ll have to stop in and check for it.

    Reply
    • Thank you Theresa! Ha! People will be going to Lowest to buy it and there will be none left! Yeah!! The cork is thin enough that the Thinlits and Framelits cut it nicely. It’s sold on a roll. I have to go out today for work so if I pass a Lowes I’ll stop in and see what brand I got. 🙂

      Reply
      • I saw a roll at Home Depot but it seemed quite a bit thicker than card stock, so I passed on it for now. Maybe I’ll check Lowes soon.

      • Theresa, I’m looking at mine and it’s Duck Brand peel & stick adhesive covering with real cork surface. 20 in. x 4 ft. I did get it at Lowes, hope that helps! 🙂

      • Thanks! Glad I didn’t buy the Contact brand. I’ll have to head over to Lowes.

      • Welcome Theresa! Yes, I think the Duck brand is a lot thinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

