RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 139

Posted on

Hi there! I had a lovely Friday! I had to go out and make some deliveries in the morning and then I cam back to work for an hour and then left at 1:30! I stopped by and had lunch with Heather and then came home and talked to my people downstairs. They are having a baby and I have to move. The good news is that I found an apartment very close to where I am! I will be packing and our friend Andrew will be helping! I really don’t like moving but I’m looking forward to a new adventure. I also hope to be able to set up a better craft space in the new apartment. I went to dinner last night with Bill and Anthony and we got some Red Mango Fro Yo, it’s Bill’s birthday on Sunday and he is being healthy! All in all a very good day. I even had some time when I got home to make a quick card!

That card that I made is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge from Rita…

Freshly Made Sketches #139

And yes, the card uses all new goodies! The base is Sahara Sand Card Stock and the background is a piece of Blackberry Bliss that I embossed with the Large Polka Dot Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Those sparkly flagged pieces are the new Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper. The pictures definitely don’t do it justice, it’s really sparkly with hints of pink, blue and green in it. I used the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch and a piece of Hello Honey to create my tag. A thin strip of the Moonlight Designer Series Paper Stack goes across the bottom and a piece of Natural 5/8″ Chevron Ribbon tied with a piece of White Baker’s Twine goes through the hole. The feathers and greeting are form the A Happy Hooray Stamp Set, the feathers are stamped in Tangelo Twist and the greeting in Blackberry Bliss. I used my Paper Snips to cut the feathers out and the Hexagon Punch for the greeting. The tag, feathers and greeting are adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. A fun card with some cool elements and that Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper is just beautiful! That’s my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. I hope that you enjoyed the card and your look at some more new products. Thank you for spending a little time with me today! Enjoy your Saturday! I’m off to mount the rest of my stamps! 🙂

FMS 139-WM

FMS 139 Close-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Sahara Sand, Blackberry Bliss, Hello Honey and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Moonlight Stack

Ink: Blackberry Bliss and Tangelo Twist Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: A Happy Hooray Clear Mount

Embossing Folder: Large Polka Dots

Punches: Scalloped Tag Topper and Hexagon

Embellishments: Natural 5/8″ Chevron Ribbon and White Baker’s Twine

Tools: Paper Snips, Fast Fuse, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

26 responses »

  1. Hi Justin! LOVE your card! I can’t wait to start playing with this stamp set! (Thank you again!) I am loving that new glimmer paper too. How fun! Love the way you tied in the design of the Moonlight paper with the Chevron ribbon! Another great creation from you. Moving is a hassle isn’t it? Keep focused on the fact that you’ll have a better crafting space and it will be worth all the work! Enjoy your day…it’s a lovely one here!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! I hope that you love it as much as I do! The new glimmer papers are fun! I’m glad that you noticed the Moonlight DSP and the Chevron Ribbon! Yes, I hate moving!! I have a lot of stuff but I think that I will be getting rid of most of it! It’s beautiful here today! Lots of convertible time! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Hi Justin:

    Glad you had a great Friday and even got to leave work early. Sorry you are having to move, I know what a pain that can be because actually moving your “stuff” from one place to another is only half the story. Then there are all the address changes and, of course, the Driver’s License Bureau is sooooooooo easy to deal with! NOT

    I have fallen in love with Blackberry Bliss and I have absolutely GOT to have a bunch of that Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper to use for my Christmas cards this year. Your card today is bold, bright and beautiful! Great job and, of course, we all love the feathers.

    So, when are you moving? Will you be off line for a few days? If we know then we won’t all worry about you.

    Have a super, duper, fun filled weekend.

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      Yes, it was a very good and jam packed Friday! I really hate moving! LOL! Thankfully I have never changed my address from my parents house! One less hassle!
      I too have fallen in love with Blackberry Bliss and I’m not a huge purple fan. The Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper is going to make excellent snow!! I’m happy to hear you say that we all love feathers, I know that Mr. King doesn’t! LOL!
      I will start packing next week and my first day in the new place will be July 1st. I wanted to get it out of the way before Convention! I will do my best to keep posting, I haven’t missed one yet!! I love that you worry about me, that’s what makes you so awesome!
      I hope that you have a lovely weekend. I’m off to Manhattan for a little adventure tomorrow! Shhh, it’s a surprise! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin! Good Luck on your move. Sometimes starting from scratch is easier than trying to organize where you are… 🙂
    Feathers!!! Love them and this card is great! I really like this sketch. I may have to give it a try myself. I love that tag topper punch. Use it often.
    Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply
    • Thank you Gerri! Yes, I will be getting rid of lots of unnecessary things. It will be a good time to reorganize. I still hate the packing and unpacking. Yeah! I’m so happy that you like feathers too! They are my favorite! It definitely is a fun sketch! I hope you have a nice weekend too! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Beth K. Mills

    The Chevrons from the paper and the ribbon are eye catching! Okay, Blackberry Bliss is definitely growing on me!! And the Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper brightens the card up; note to self: MUST order some!

    Moving is a great time to reorganize & start anew (space for stamping!). Just think of how much fun you can have unpacking again! Have a beautiful weekend!

    Reply
    • Thank you Beth! Happy you put the two together too! Blackberry Bliss is a lovely color! You definitely need some of the Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper, it’s lovely! Of course you know that the most important thing is the space for stamping! I don’t need a bed do I?!?! LOL! I have to say that packing and unpacking is my least favorite part. Enjoy your weekend too! 🙂

      Reply
  5. New opportunities present themselves when change is forced upon us, so I know you will roll with this and see it as a chance for a fresh start. Right?! P.S.-my mouth waters every time I hear Blackberry Bliss!😋

    Reply
    • You are absolutely correct Georgie! I was lucky to find the apartment. I am trying to stay positive and as long as I have help it will be all good! Ha ha! My mouth waters too! Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Moving is such a pain, but Congrats on finding an apartment and I’m sure you will be very happy once you settle in. Change is such a pain…..but usually good in the long run.

    Love this…. I think I say this about all your work, LOL I really like the layout, and anything with Blackberry Bliss is a winner, not crazy about the Tangelo Twist, I like it as an accent but to me it is a fall color, Honestly orange is not in my top 10 fav colors, sad I know, it does have its place

    Reply
    • Yes, indeed it is Linda. If I never have to do it again it will be too soon! I will be happy, it’s a nice cozy place. Change is the only constant in life right?! We have to roll with it. Thank you, it makes me so happy that you do say it about all of my work! I agree with you about Tangelo, definitely an accent color of fall. I am not a huge orange fan either. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Hi Justin,
    Love love love! This card is great! I love the polka dot tief, oh and the feathers!! You do such a great job marrying all the elements together on your card, really nicely done!
    Moving! Speaking as someone who is still unpacking from my move, I don’t envy you. However, it is a great opportunity to purge through unneeded or unwanted items and to organize. I do like that part, getting to reorganize and redecorate! How lucky for you that you found an apartment near where you are now. That’s great!
    Have fun putting your stamps together! I love doing that, because I just can’t wait to use my new stamps!!
    We just got back from the beach, it was lovely. But I am a little tired and a little sun kissed!
    Hope your Saturday is a great!
    donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you! The Large Polka Dot EF is neat and we all know how I feel about feathers! LOL! I know, I hate the very thought of moving, I was good when I moved in here, I was unpacked in 4 days. I hope the same happens at the new place. I will definitely be purging lots, I would like to take as little as possible with me! I am thinking that I might paint, and I hate that the most of all but I think I would like a Bermuda Bay Bedroom! I finished mounting my 32 Sets this morning, shh don’t tell anyone! I’m glad that you had a nice time at the beach! My Saturday has been spent in the convertible and at the craft desk so, so far so good! 🙂

      Reply
  8. AMAZING TAG and love the color combo…your card is clean and simple and adorable…crafty hugs from your new fan, Monika from Germany

    Reply
  9. Fantastic card Justin! I love the texture and I now I have to add some of that Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer paper to my wish list! LOL! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  10. Absolutely beautiful Justin! Gee that combination of hexagon/chevron DSP/feathers is a fabulous mix for your tag – so striking! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches this week!

    Reply
  11. OK…. found it. That is what happens when you don’t have enough time during the weekend!!! I had commented on this card on SC and did not come back to your blog… me bad ;-( Sorry you have to move but like everyone is saying new beginnings…. and you’ll have a chance to re-organize and have a better stampin’ place. Just focus on that. Love the extra feather BTW. (Have to agree with Andrew that maybe one of them is a wee bit too big and for me that would be the Lost Lagoon one but that’s just me LOL)
    It’s Wednesday, half way to the next weekend…. have a great week.

    Reply
    • That’s ok Grace! I do love the comments though, I won’t lie! Yes, new beginnings and adventures. I am hoping that I can fit my stuff in the new place, it’s a bit smaller. The Lost Lagoon is a bit big but that’s the feathers that they give you in that set! Wednesday is good but Friday is better! 🙂

      Reply
      • LOL Justin…. Louise here…. We all tend to fill our spaces then it gets overcrowded so we have to “purge”. You can do amazing things with better organization (I am so glad you can’t see my place right now LOL). Looking around me right now I can see probably 10 things I could do without or are ‘doubles’ but don’t want to let go. Hey after tomorrow, only one more day to Friday and the weekend.

      • Hello Louise! Yes, it is true that we fill things up but I am determined not to do that anymore! Who knows, maybe I will be successful! My house looks like a bomb went off in it, trust me! I have doubles and triples of things, I’m right there with you! Yes, only one more day until Friday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

