RSS Feed

Paper Craft Crew 97

Posted on

Today was another overcast day here on Long Island. I did mention yesterday that it was going to rain all week, and I think the weathermen actually got it right this time. It’s muggy but cool, so I guess that’s one plus. I mentioned that I’m moving and I wanted to get started early because I intend to not take a lot of things with me when I go. Last night began the purging. Andrew came by and we got through 25 boxes of stuff from my attic and condensed them into about 5 or 6. An impressive amount of work for one evening! But isn’t everything so much better when you have friends to do it with? The process is moving along nicely, no pun intended, and I’m much less stressed about the whole situation!

A quick bit of news from Stampin’ Up! They released a new Photopolymer Stamp Set yesterday called Calling All Heroes. It’s a fun set with cartoon like images and an alphabet to go along with it. You can see the flyer below or click HERE to download a PDF.

Flyer_photopolymer_Calling_All_Heros_US_0614

It’s Wednesday, once again time for my Design Team card for this week’s Paper Craft Crew sketch challenge…

PCCCS097 Sketch 6-11-2014

I will admit, I was a little puzzled when I first looked at the sketch. I saw it as more of a suggestion for a layout, but not necessarily a sketch where the size of each element had to stay true. After looking at it that way, everything fell into place. The card base is Wisteria Wonder Card Stock and the background is a piece of Daffodil Delight embossed with the Arrows Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Next up is one of the Tea Lace Paper Doilies. The chevrons are Blackberry Bliss and is punched out with the Chevron Border Punch. My greeting comes from the Oh My Goodies Stamp Set, is stamped in Blackberry Bliss on Whisper White and is cut out with the Deco Labels Collection Framelits. The flower is from the Beautiful Bunch Stamp Set, Stamped in Blackberry Bliss on Wisteria Wonder and punched out with the Fun Flower Punch. In the middle is a Vintage Faceted Designer Button that I colored with the Medium Daffodil Delight Stampin’ Blendabilities Marker. All of the elements are adhered to the card using Stampin’ Dimensionals to give it that extra pop. I wasn’t too sure about the Wisteria Wonder and Blackberry Bliss together at first, but after finishing the card I really like the way that they complement each other. It’s pretty amazing that the Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers can color on just about anything! After all is said and done, a pretty good sketch. So there you have it, my card for this week’s Paper Craft Crew sketch challenge, I hope you enjoyed it! Take a few minutes to stop by the blog and see the other designers’ take on the sketch. Thanks for checking out the blog today! Have a happy Hump Day! 🙂

PCCCS097-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Wisteria Wonder, Daffodil Delight, Whisper White and Blackberry Bliss

Ink: Blackberry Bliss Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers: Daffodil Delight (Medium)

Stamp Sets: Oh My Goodies and Beautiful Bunch Clear Mount

Framelits: Deco Labels Collection

Punches: Chevron Border and Fun Flower

Embossing Folder: Arrows

Embellishments: Tea Lace Paper Doily and Vintage Faceted Designer Button

Tools: Big Shot, Mini Glue Dot, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. Well being puzzled worked for you. You turned out a very nice card today. I can’t get enough of Blackberry Bliss. Pairing it with Wisteria Wonder was the perfect choice. Loving the chevrons also. Wow, you are doing some serious purging. Good Luck with you move and new home.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa! I too am a big Blackberry Bliss fan and I usually don’t like purples! I definitely need to do some serious purging, I want a nice uncluttered look in the new pad! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Hey there Justin! Great card today…loving the colors you used. I do think Wisteria and Blackberry look great together. They way you used your chevrons from the punch and the arrows EF folder tie it all together. How clever to color the button! Never thought of that! The stamp sets you used are on my next list to get. I had to cut down a little bit on my recent order! 😉 Now if I could only win the lottery….new house? Nope! New car? Nope! One of each item in the new catalog would suit me fine. Then I’d need the new house and a bigger stamp room! 😉 Have a great Wednesday!

    Reply
    • Hey Karen!
      Thank you! I was sitting there thinking what colors I wanted to use and decided to give it a go! I do love chevrons! The Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers colors the buttons nicely! I should have cut down my order, but I thought I can be poor for a little while! LOL! I need Lotto too and a bigger stamp room! I hope that you enjoyed your day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. I’m starting to think that Blackberry Bliss is going to go with EVERYTHING! I know I haven’t loved a color this much since Creamy Caramel! And, I’m not even a fan of purple. LOL That was a tough sketch this week Justin but you managed to pull it off big time. Good job.

    So, if you are that good at purging and packing I may need you when I move. You can bring Andrew too and I’ll supervise! 🙂 It’s smart of you to start early so that when moving day actually arrives everything is ready to go. I am always amazed at how much you get done in a day. I think I used to be like that but don’t have the energy anymore.

    It’s a bright, sunshiny, gorgeous day here in Maine, then back to rain but Saturday and Sunday are supposed to be beautiful again. Have yourself a Wonderful Wednesday.

    Reply
    • I think I agree with you Grace, it does go with a lot! I’m going to see what else I can pair it with! I too am not a purple fan but I love Blackberry Bliss! I think the name helps! LOL! I’ll run it by Andrew and see what he thinks! 🙂 I want to be mostly done by the time moving day arrives. I have moved a few times and having to do things last minute is no good! Sometimes I’m amazed at what I get done and other times I think where did the day go! It was overcast here most of the day but the sun is out now. I hope you had a great Wednesday! 🙂

      Reply
  4. This came out just beautiful! It sure brightened my morning here in NE Ohio. It is a very gloomy day and we are supposed to get storms this afternoon. (which means that will be coming your way – sorry) 😦

    Reply
    • Thank you so much MaryJo! It makes me very happy that I brightened your morning! I would however appreciate if you wouldn’t send them off to me! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  5. I do love the Blackberry Bliss and now I had to add (LOL) the Beautiful Bunch and Fun Flower punch to my ever growing list of “must-haves”. You are such an enabler! The card is beautiful and the colors are really working well together against the bright and summery background.

    Moving? I must have missed that post…. will have to search back. I will be moving soon too… the office! Oh boy that is so so overwhelming right now…. going to less than half the current place, what to do will all the files (the new boss suggested scanning ha ha ha, there are well over 25,000 folders with hundred of files and drawings in each one!!! So if you and Andrew want to come over for a while……

    Have a great Wednesday and Congratulations Winner at PPA!!! WooHoo! (I did say the bikini tops would win did I not??) LOL

    Reply
    • It’s my job Louise! LOL! Just remember that before I enabled you I did it to myself! I do love the Daffodil Delight as the background, it seems to be a little brighter than usual to me. Yes, moving, but I found an apartment and things are in motion. LOL! We moved at work once and are moving again soon. I was moved in about an hour at work. Ha! Yes you did say the “bikini tops” would win! Yeah!! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Justin, this card is really great! I also, am in love with Blackberry Bliss and it goes so well with Hello Honey, and just about everything else. I love it with Wisteria Wonder too! I love how you colored that button; makes the perfect center for your flower! I think I am going to have to break down and get the Chevron punch; I have seen you do quite a bit with it and everything I’ve seen is really great. As for purging, I’m doing that too, but not because I’m moving. I am totally addicted to stamping, paper, and anything to have to do with that creative end. The problem is, I am SO bummed because I buy and I don’t use. Even with Stampin’ Up! items, but mostly other companies’ items. Ebay is a great resource… I put things out and you would be amazed at how much money you can make. I had one person bid $ 52 on a recently retired SU Christmas set. I thought they were nuts, but hey, I made a lot of money that go round! The more money I can make, the more I can buy! 🙂 Can’t wait to see your new “digs” and what you do with the new Heroes stamp set. Hugs!

    Reply
    • Thank you Bobbi! Yes, it’s a great color for sure! I like it when the flower has a nice yellow center and I thought the button would work well! The Chevron Punch is great, both the positive and negative punches! I too should purge some of my craft stuff but I love it all too much! I know a lot of people that use ebay of that and make a lot of money. I just can’t do it yet! As soon as it’s all set up I will take some pics! Hugs to you too my friend! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Justin, do the new photopolymer stamps work well with the markers? I have stamps like that by Sizzix and the marker ink does not stay on them very well. Oh, and I really like your card! I think Blackberry Bliss is my favorite color out of the new InColors. Thanks, Claudia

    Reply
    • I haven’t used the Photopolymer Stamps with the markers. I think the sizzix stamps are acrylic and they don’t take ink well. I’m happy you like the card! I hope that helped and if I do use the markers with the stamps I’ll let you know! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Stumped….i don’t think so, you nailed this sketch. Love your color combo.

    Ok… Want to come to my house and purge for me, I cant get rid if anything, I try and more junk appears. LOL And weather wise, hold tight If you are getting Chicago weather rain rain rain, and cold, 50-60 only. Damp dreary, but it beats snow or our polar vortex.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Linda! LOL! I have enough trouble purging myself! I like to hang on to things, even boxes that things come in! It’s chilly here tonight, but like you said, anything is better than the polar vortex!! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Beautiful Bunch is also near the top of my want list! And isn’t that blackberry SCRUMPTIOUS? Ha, I love it. I’m thinking of you there packing and sending good thoughts your way-hope you make lots of wonderful memories in the new apartment.

    Reply
    • Yes Georgie, Blackberry Bliss even sounds delicious! I appreciate the good thoughts, before I know it it will be all done! I can’t wait for that to happen! 🙂

      Reply
  10. You did a lot of purging! Good for you! That is something I must do myself. As for your card I think you totally nailed it! I love the new Blackberry Bliss, of course I love all the purples! Good luck with your move! Moving is never easy but you are very fortunate to have great friends to help! Can’t wait to see all the pictures of your new place!

    Reply
    • Yes, I did do a lot of purging and it felt good! Thank you Sharon! The sketch was fun in the end! I’m looking forward to the move begin over! LOL! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  11. I love the card, and the Blackberry Bliss. I wasn’t sure of the new in-colours but I like this one. Now back to your punch art Miss Kitty,could you please tell me the punches you used? I am catching up on all your posts. My granddaughter loves Miss Kitty, she is very ill and I want to cheer her up. Thank you

    Reply
    • Thank you Lynne! I do love Blackberry Bliss, it’s just such a nice saturated bright and fun color! For the Hello Kitty card I used the Extra Large Oval, the “Vintage” Butterfly Punch and the Word Window Punch. I hope that helps! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

