RSS Feed

SUO Challenges 99

Posted on

That was a pretty good Monday as far as Monday’s go! Work was ok, I got stuff done and wasn’t crazy busy. I went over to Kim’s after work and got to see the munchkins! Those two little girls are just the cutest! We had Tacos and wine and my friend Dave was there too. I haven’t seen him in a while so it was nice to catch up. My friend Danielle came back to work yesterday too! I was so glad to have her back! She is so sweet, I collect the Starbucks You are Here mugs and she remembered and brought me one back! What a nice surprise! Thoughtful friends are awesome aren’t they?! She is also going to help me paint the new apartment on Wednesday which goes above and beyond. I don’t know why but I hate painting! It will be fun with Danielle so I may not mind it as much! 🙂

Today I’m over on the SUO Challenges blog for our Summer challenge. All we ask is for something Summer related, ocean, beach or patriotic. I saw this card in the catalog when I first looked through it. I love the card so I had to CASE it! The base of the card is Crumb Cake Card Stock and I used a Stampin’ Spritzer with some Pear Pizzaz Re-Inker to spritz it. The main panel is a piece of Watercolor Paper. I spritzed it with some more Pear Pizzaz and Chocolate Chip Re-Inker before stamping my images. All of the images are from the By the Tide Stamp Set. I stamped the coral twice in Crushed Curry, the script and the seal are stamped in Pear Pizzaz. I then went over it with my Aqua Painter to give it the washed out look. The seahorse is stamped in Island Indigo and cut out with my Paper Snips. My greeting is from the And Many More Stamp Set and is stamped in Island Indigo. Across the card is a piece of 1 1/4″ Burlap Ribbon that I altered a little and adhered with some Fast Fuse Adhesive. The strips of Island Indigo and Pear Pizzaz are crumpled and adhered with a Mini Glue Dot. The stampin Distress Tool is used around the edges for that worn look. Finally, I wrapped some Linen Thread around the panel and tied a Basic Metal Button in it. I think I liked the card so much because its a little messy and I never use my Stampin’ Distress Tool so it was a good excuse to try it out! I like to step outside my comfort zone, the crumpling of the paper was new for me too! LOL! That said I hope that you enjoyed my take on the card from the catalog for the SUO Challenges Summer Themed challenge. Stop by the blog to see the other deign team’s projects. I really do appreciate you coming by too see me and I hope that you enjoy your day! 🙂

SUO Challenges 99-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Crumb Cake, Whisper White, Island Indigo and Pear Pizzaz

Specialty Paper: Watercolor

Ink: Crushed Curry, Pear Pizzaz and Island Indigo Classic Stampin’ Ink

Re-Inker: Pear Pizzaz and Chocolate Chip Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: By the Tide and And Many More Clear Mount

Embellishments: 1 1/4″ Burlap Ribbon, Linen Thread and Basic Metal Buttons

Tools: Aqua Painter, Paper Snips, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Mini Glue Dots, Fast Fuze Adhesive and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

16 responses »

  1. Louise (ON, Canada)

    Gorgeous Justin. Different from your usual but I love it.

    Reply
  2. I just love the By the Tide set. I think that coral stamp can be used in a gazillion ways! Distress type cards are usually not my cup of tea but I really like this one. I don’t think it looks messy at all and that piece of distressed ribbon ties it up just perfectly. Another great card Justin. Somehow you take an approach that makes me rethink the things I like and/or dislike in a card. I find that amazing since I’m so stuck in my ways. LOL

    Good luck with the painting. When we bought our log home the hubs had a huge smile on his face as he tossed the paint brushes. The outside is Western Red Cedar and the inside is flat board pine. He doesn’t have to paint and I can hang everything straight on the walls without measuring. Yippee.

    Reply
    • Yes Grace, me too! I am not a fan of distressed cards either but this one isn’t too distressed! I too fell in love with the card in the catalog! Very different from what I usually like! LOL! I’ll get you out of your ways!
      Thanks! I still have yet to get the key! There may be no painting at all! Yes, no painting in a log home! Sounds like a lovely house! Enjoy your evening! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin! Great card! I love all the textures on here…the burlap ribbon, the distressing you did on the edges of the watercolor paper…so nice! I’ve resisted buying this stamp set for a while now but I really like what you’ve done with it on this card. I may have to add it to my list. How nice of Danielle to help you with the painting…I don’t like to paint either. People find that shocking since I love to stamp. Big wall, small card…hmmm…big difference! 🙂 Have a great day Justin and thanks for another beautiful card!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! I love the By the Tide Stamp Set. She is a good friend, she volunteered immediately. She said I need to paint at least one room to make it my own! She’s right! I have no problems doing most things but no, I am not a fan of painting! LOL! Yes! I hope you had a great day! Mine was good! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Wonderful mix of elements today. My favorite part is the frayed burlap ribbon. Another is the distressed edges of the watercolor paper. Painting the diggs will be much more fun with friends. Good luck. Oh yeah, saw my first commercial promoting Sam Smith’s album at Target. Too funny. Didn’t know who he was and now he’s popping up everywhere.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa! I am always looking for ways to use that burlap ribbon, I find it a little big! I will keep a positive attitude about the painting! I’m glad that I put Mr. Smith on your radar! He is really great! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Sharon Taylor

    Wow. You have so many elements yet it looks so clean and beautiful! My wish is to achieve that ability.

    Reply
  6. I love the whole feel of this card! It really is a shame that wall are so big because I could certainly see some art work like this on at least one room in the apartment! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Robin! I will definitely be putting some of my cards up for decoration. I have some of my projects around the house now. Have a great week! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Jason, I so love your art! I’ve been following you silently for quite a while now (does that sound like stalking?? LOL!). Love your NYC photographic tours and can’t wait to see your stamp studio in the new apartment if you are willing to share some pics.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I’m happy to have you along, stalker or not. LOL! As soon as I get the new stamp space set up, I will definitely post some pictures of it! 🙂

      Reply
  8. WOW This is fantastic, I love this, I love the distressed look,from edges to ribbon to splatter perfect. Lucky you have an awesome friend.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much, Linda! The distressed look is not something I usually do, but I figured I’d give it a try. Glad you enjoyed the card. I’ll let you know how painting goes! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

