RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 141

Posted on

It was a hot one here yesterday. We got up into the 90’s and it was a little on the humid side too. It’s days like that I love my convertible even more! I got into the car after work and put the top down… instant happy! LOL! The rest of the evening didn’t quite go as planned though. I didn’t get to paint because I wasn’t able to get the key until 8:30. I guess I’ll have to give it another try tonight. I did pick out my paint colors though. The bedroom will be a Smoky Slate like color and the Living Room will be a slightly darker version of Pool Party. I figure two rooms is a good start! Fingers crossed that it happens tonight! 🙂

My post for today is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. This week’s sketch is provided by Cindy H….

Freshly Made Sketches #141

It looks a little like a window does’t it?! I thought this would be a good opportunity to use a piece of Designer Series Paper that I didn’t think I would use, that is until I found a new stamp that goes pretty well with it. The card starts off with a base of Daffodil Delight Card Stock. My piece of Designer Series Paper is from the All Abloom Designer Series Paper Stack and is cut to match the sketch. For the greeting I used one of the stamps from the Oh My Goodies Stamp Set inked in Island Indigo and cut out with the Deco Labels Collection Framelits. I stamped it again in Daffodil Delight and cut out just the umpteenth and popped it up on Stampin’ Dimensionals. A super simple card but a good one to have in a pinch! Even though the DSP is a little busy I think that fact that it’s cut apart tones it down a bit. There you have my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. I hope that it inspires you to try something a little different! Thank you for coming by today, hopefully I will have some painting pictures for you tomorrow! Enjoy your Thursday! 🙂

FMS 141-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Daffodil Delight and Whisper White

Ink: Island Indigo and Daffodil Delight Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Oh My Goodies Clear Mount

Framelits: Deco Labels Collection

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Trimmer, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

29 responses »

  1. Nancy Farrell

    Hi Justin, I love this card. I like even things and shapes. Your spaces are so perfect. That sentiment is pretty funny too. Good luck painting tonight, can’t wait to see pics. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Louise (ON, Canada)

    Love your card and those colors. Very cheerful. And I may have to get that stack of DSP now lol. Would cross my fingers for you but after my fall this weekend (I am not a sailor lol) my hand is still too swollen and fingers in a splint…long to type with 1 finger too… Good luck with the painting tonight.

    Reply
    • Thanks Louise! I love the DSP Stacks! Lots of different options in the just the right size! I’m sorry to hear that you hurt yourself. I know that you are crossing them in your mind! LOL! Thank you! 🙂

      Reply
  3. nice card , i love the pattern. justin, are you moving ?? will you have a new craft room too?? hope to see pictures of your progress and hope all goes well with the move.

    Reply
    • Thank you Elaine! Yes, I’m moving, not far. I hope that I will have a n actual craft space! We’ll see if it all works out soon enough! I’ll keep you all updated! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin! The paint colors sound wonderful…hope you get to do that tonight! Love your card! Another happy card! I’m going to have to try this layout, I really like it! Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Yes, I was unsure about the colors at first but I think I will be happy with them. I hope! LOL! The sketch is an interesting one! I hope that you enjoy your day too! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Hi Justin:
    How in the world did you figure out the exact sizes of the DSP to cut? Did the sketch come with dimensions or what? Can you tell math is not my favorite thing to deal with? LOL Anywhooooooo – the card is beautiful, your spacing is exact and the Umpteenth stamp may end up on my wish list especially now that all my circle of friends ARE ACTUALLY having Umpteenth birthdays, including me! LOL It will be fun to see before and after photos of your painting. Hopefully you will be able to get that job done quickly. When exactly are you moving? Even the thought of moving makes me shake. I’ve moved many times in my lifetime and after retiring and making the out of state move, I really would dread having to move all this “stuff” again. Good luck and great job on this sketch.

    Reply
  6. great card! I just got this set this week and was looking at using this stamp for a friend’s bday next month and trying to decide if I was going to pop the middle word and you made me want to do just that! Thanks for all your inspiration!

    Reply
  7. Cute! Love the bright yellow pop in the middle!

    Reply
  8. Thank you for my birthday card! (It’s tomorrow, but I will be pretty busy until Monday!! Umpteenth hint — I received my Medicare card this month, ugh!) Love the boxes on the card. I love the All Abloom paper — would you believe it’s the first thing I got out of the new catalogue. I can’t wait to see pictures of your new apartment, the paint colors, and your new stampin’ room. By the way, I saw Sam Smith (?) on David Letterman last night. He has one cool back up band and singing group. Have a cool weekend! Love ya, Nancy B P. S. I seem to have a lot in common with Grace!

    Reply
    • LOL! You’re welcome Nancy! Oh no, Medicare? That’s what I call mean mail. The only DSP I got were the two stacks. Sam’s album is amazing! You should definitely pick it up! I hope you have a great weekend, too. XOXO 🙂

      Reply
  9. So….. I was HALF right on the color. I said “I think you’re a neutral kind of guy” for the paint color. Sounds dee-lish! Can’t wait to see pics! 🙂 LOVE this card as well. I also need to know the trick of getting all those pieces exactly right! Case-ing… Hugs!

    Reply
    • Yes you were, Bobbi! I actually like a little color, I’m not a fan of beiges in my house. Thank you, a little patience and the pieces come out perfect! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Hi Nancy – isn’t it the biggest shock when you get that Medicare card? I was like “I can’t believe I’m this old”. Don’t worry though, once the first S.S. payment comes you won’t feel as bad. LOL

    Reply
  11. What a nice card. Like the way you put the ‘ump’ in the middle with yellow. Cool, SU colors for your new digs. Yes, we all would love to see pics. You take such good ones. Rats, I missed Sam Smith on Letterman last night! Justin did you catch it?

    Reply
    • Thank you Lisa! I thought the greeting would look a little bit better when it was two-toned. There’ll be a fun video on the blog tomorrow that I think you’ll enjoy, and you can see the paint color in the background! I did see Sam Smith, great as always. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Interesting sketch, like your take on it. So my quesses for you rooms were not too far off. Thank god you didn’t pick Tangelo Twist! Have fun painting

    Reply
  13. Good choice of paint colors-those are the two colors in my stamp room! With a black work desk. You will be very happy with them. BTW, the greeting on this card makes me laugh. It sums up my birthday lassitude pretty well. (Not really. I’m like 6 years old when it comes to my birthday). And I like the colors and DSP, too. Very chipper-y. Happy painting!

    Reply
    • Thank you Georgie! Some of my furniture in my living room is black and I thought it would look nice. Yes, I love that greeting, I think it’s really funny too! I stopped aging at 21. LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  14. Hi Justin,
    I saw this sketch earlier today and thought, wow!, this looks difficult! And then I come here and you make it look great! I like the color combo and the greeting. Great Job!
    Your paint color choices sound very relaxing and inviting…I love the Smokey Slate color for a bedroom, I think it would be soothing. Can’t wait to see pics of the walls!
    We had much cooler weather here today, a relief from yesterday! Although I am not complaining about the warmth!
    Hope you had some progress tonight in painting!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      I thought that the sketch was difficult too but I’m glad you like what I came up with! Im’ happy with the way the living room color came out and the gray in the bedroom will be good too! It was muggy and rainy here yesterday, glad you guys cold off, that means it’s on it’s way here! 🙂

      Reply
  15. Great card Justin! I do love that DSP…I was hesitant to order it and now am regretting it! That stamp set and the colours are fabulous! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  16. I really like this card, Justin. The colours are great and you’re right, that stamp goes so well with this sketch. Also I like the fact that you colour your home in stampin up colours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

