RSS Feed

Paper Players 201

Posted on

Even though I had off from work on Friday that weekend flew by! I guess that the fundraiser on Friday night and all of the packing and painting ate it up! LOL! I did get a lot accomplished on Saturday and Sunday. Andrew has been a huge help and I could’t have gotten half of what I did get accomplished with out him! He’ll be back tonight for more! Don’t awesome friends make the world a much better place?! I’m lucky that I have so many! That includes all of you too! 🙂

It’s Monday and that means that it’s time for this week’s Paper Players challenge. This time Nance has given us a sketch challenge…

Paper Players #201

Fun and simple. As soon as I looked at it yesterday morning I knew which DSP and stamp set I wanted to use! I need that to happen, especially this week! My card begins with a base of Mossy Meadow Card Stock. The strip down the middle is a piece of paper from the All Abloom Designer Series Paper Stack. I used the Stampin’ Trimmer with the Tiny Wave Blade to give the edges some added interest. At the top I sponged a piece of the Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper with some Strawberry Slush Ink. On top of that is a piece of Strawberry Slush, I used my Paper Snips to flag both and the card stock is adhered to the glimmer paper with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My greeting is from the Hello There Host(ess) Stamp Set and is stamped in Strawberry Slush for the border and Mossy Meadow for the greeting. I used the Starburst Framelits to cut out the border and the 1 3/8″ Circle Punch to punch out the greeting. Stampin’ Dimensionals also adhere them to the card and each other. For a little extra sparkle I randomly adhered some 2013-2015 In-Color Sequins to the card. I love the way the Dazzling Diamonds looks when you change the color! So cool! And sequins just make everything better don’t you think?! Thank you very much for coming by to see my card for this week’s Paper Players sketch challenge. I love having you stop by and I hope that you all have a magnificent Monday! 🙂

Paper Players 201-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Mossy Meadow, Very Vanilla and Strawberry Slush

Designer Series Paper: All Abloom Stack

Specialty Paper: Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer

Ink: Strawberry Slush and Mossy Meadow Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Hello There (Host(ess)) Clear Mount

Framelits: Starburst

Punch: 1 3/8″ Circle

Embellishments: 2013-2015 In-Color Sequins

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Trimmer, Stampin’ Trimmer Rotary Attachment, Tiny Wave Blade, Paper Snips, Multi-Purpose Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

26 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh Justin! I could just hug you! I love the glimmer paper and never thought of sponging it because I thought it would make it dull and nothing would shine through. Yippee! What a great card today and isn’t that DSP just the best! Perfect, perfect, perfect card or, as the kids say around here, it’s “the bomb”. I’m not sure what that is supposed to mean but they tell me it means “the best”! You have yourself a Marvelous Monday and tell Andrew we ALL thank him for helping you. Otherwise you wouldn’t have time to do the blog for us.

    Reply
    • Wow! Thanks Grace! I’ll take a hug any day! I figured I would give it a try, I didn’t want to spritz it, takes too long to dry! I agree that DSP is pretty awesome! I like the saying “the bomb” although it doesn’t sound it! LOL! I am having a pretty good day and hoping for another productive evening! I’ll let Andrew know! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Happy Monday Justin! They do come around fast, don’t they? 😉 Love your card…so pretty! All the little touches are just perfect…and you know I’m talkin’ about the sequins! Love the strawberry meadow combo on the paper too…so delightful! I haven’t tried changing the color of the glimmer paper…I need to do that–it looks so pretty on your card!! What a wonderful friend you have in Andrew! So glad he’s there to help you. I agree with Grace…I’m kinda wonderin’ how your managing to still make cards to show us with packing and working?? Thank you so much! Have a fabulous day!

    Reply
    • Happy Monday to you too Karen! Yes, they do, especially when there is so much going on! Thanks! I thought you might like the sequins! The glimmer paper took the sponging better than I thought it would, I was pleasantly surprised! Yes, Andrew is quite awesome! I manage to just squeeze it all in! Having the does help! Enjoy your day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. I agree with Grace ! That sponging is something I have to try ! Love your card ! I have those In Color sequins coming my way ….in fact Mr. Brown should be here today !
    And that DSP has some pretty selections of patterns ! It is hard to pick which one to use . You certainly picked a cutie !
    Glad your “move” is coming along so well !

    Reply
    • Thanks Sonny! It was nice and easy! Who doesn’t love a delivery from Mr. Brown?! The DSP has a nice array of different patterns, it’s one of the best yet! I will be really happy when the move is done. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Beth K. Mills

    Good Monday morning Justin! What a wonder idea to tint the Dazzling Diamonds paper!! So many possibilities! Love the All Abloom DSP and worked with it this weekend with Strawberry Slush and Mossy Meadow too. The sequins make the little flowers pop! You are extremely fortunate to have such an incredible friend in Andrew to help you and keep you on track with your move!! I bet you can start to see the end in site….. Party Time!

    Reply
    • A good Monday to you too Beth! Thanks you! I like it when you change the colors on stuff! I certainly am lucky to have Andrew, but he knows that because I tell him all the time how grateful I am! I think that its nice to be able to let people know! The end will not come soon enough! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Love this card, Justin. Usually your cards are gender neutral, but today’s card is definitely girly and I like that. I seem to send more cards to women than men, but I learn so many new techniques from you. I will definitely CASE this card. Good luck on your move.

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yes, it’s a very girly card, pretty is what I like to say! I too send more cards to women than men, but I think we need to send more cards all around! I’m so glad that you come by to visit! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Mossy Meadow is such a rich color, which I love btw. I love how you were able to create such a light airy feel in your card and Mossy Meadow grounded it. The tinted Dazzling Diamonds is a great touch. Thanks for sharing and best wishes on your move!

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin,
    Such a pretty card! I love the coloring of the glimmer paper, it really adds so much to the card. The sequins are the perfect touch!
    You have been so busy this weekend, I am sure it flew by! You are very blessed to have good people in your life, and Andrew sounds like he is a great friend.
    I am sure you will be happy when you are all settled in your new place. You are lucky that you are able to paint and move some stuff in before your final move, it makes it a lot easier to paint when it is empty!
    I hope your Monday was Magnificent also!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hey Donna!
      Thank you! I think a little sparkle makes everything better, don’t you?! The weekend definitely did fly by, I’m sure the rest of the week will be the same. Andrew is awesome! He is such a big help! I’m very grateful to have him in my life!
      I will be so happy once it’s all done! I am very lucky that there is no one in the new place, it is definitely making the whole process a little easier. My Monday was good, I hope that yours was too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. WOW! Anther winner and a CASing on my part. I never knew you could sponge on glitter paper, OK stop laughing at me, yes I’m blonde. I love this card, colors, DP and the added bling. I have so many of your cards on my Pinterest board, I’ll never make half of them

    Reply
    • Thank you Linda! No laughing at you! I give everything a try once! If it works I share, if it doesn’t it doesn’t! LOL! Thank you for pinning my cards! I have a lot of cards on Pinterest that I want to make but this day job just gets in the way! 🙂

      Reply
  9. It’s amazing that you can pull so many styles out of your little bag of tricks! This is a sweet, adorable card, and what a lush new green. Happy last-full-week-of-June: tempus fugit!

    Reply
  10. Justin-I never thought about sponging color on the glitter paper. What an ingenious idea! Great card!

    Reply
  11. So pretty! Love the combo of that DSP, the glimmer paper and the sequins! Thanks, as always, for playing along with us this week at The Paper Players, Justin!

    Reply
    • Thanks Sandy! I thought you might appreciate a nice, pretty, flowery card for a change. And who doesn’t love a sequin?! Wouldn’t miss a week, my friend! Hope yours is going well. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Oh so pretty, Justin! I love this precious paper! The sequins are the perfect touch! Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

    Reply
  13. Well if there it’s pink and has sparkly details, you KNOW I’m all about it! Great card, Justin! Thank you for joining us this week at the Paper Players! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

