RSS Feed

Groovy Pictogram Hive Love

Posted on

Well, it’s here, Saturday or as it’s known to me the big moving day. I was so tired at work yesterday that I think I dozed off at my desk for a few minutes a few times! Oops! The graduation was packed last night and the way they had it set up you couldn’t get close enough to take a picture. But I do have this picture of my Brother and little Daniel.

Jason & Daniel

As you can see I am clearly the better looking one out of the two of us! LOL! But seriously, I can’t stand how cute that little guy is! So back to today, Fred will be here at 8:00 and Andrew… well… Andrew is not a morning person but I have hope that he will be here early! My goal is to get almost everything else over there, Fred would like to be finished. I will let you know what happens tomorrow! The most important thing is to set up my new craft space, I have a few ideas as to what I’m going to do and you’ll see them soon.

So when I got home last night I decided to make a card that has been floating around in my head for a while. I just wasn’t sure what colors I wanted to use. Well I finally decided so out it came and here it is. The base of the card is Real Red Card Stock. My background is a piece of Hello Honey. I cut out some Baked Brown Sugar with the Hexagon Hive Thinlit and then cut out a piece of that with the Circles Collection Framelits. Some 2-Way Glue and SNAIL adhere it to the background. My greeting is form the Pictogram Punches Stamp Set and is stamped in Real Red. I adhered the panel to my card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. The heart is from the Groovy Love Stamp Set and is stamped in Real Red and punched out with the Sweetheart Punch. I used the What’s Up punch and some Gold Foil Sheet to punch out an arrow, cut in half and adhered it behind the heart and then Stampin’ Dimensionals hold the heart to the card. Some more Gold Foil Sheet is punched out with the heart from the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack and adhered in the middle of the greeting. Finally I adhered a few 2013-2015 In-Color Sequins, the Baked Brown Sugar hearts to be exact, on the hive to finish off the card. A somewhat bold color combination but I really like it! You’ll have to let me know what you think of it in the comments! Thanks for sharing a little time with me today and I hope that you have a stress free Saturday! 🙂

Groovy Pictogram Hive Love-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Real Red, Hello Honey and Baked Brown Sugar

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Ink: Real Red Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Groovy Love and Pictogram Punches Clear Mount

Thinlit: Hexagon Hive

Framelits: Circles Collection

Punches: What’s Up, Sweetheart and Itty Bitty Accents Pack

Embellishments: 2013-2015 In-Color Sequins

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, 2-Way Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set is Endless Birthday Wishes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. It’s almost a soccer card… for the occasion of the world cup? 😉 I love that you took the time to craft on the night before your moving day. I wouldn’t have the nerve to do this but it’s always good to take a few minutes to relax. Good luck for your moving day. Claudia

    Reply
    • LOL! Yes, I guess it is Claudia! I didn’t think of it until someone said it! LOL! I definitely need my cafty time, it helps balance me for sure! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Nancy Farrell

    First, the card if very nice and reminded me of soccer also. I hope the graduation was great, even with no pictures. She must be so excited. Enjoy your moving day, it is all in the process. Looking forward to your new craft area pictures. Drink plenty of water today. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! Sorry about the lack of graduation pics, it was just set up really badly. I had a good moving day thanks to my friends! I hope that you had a nice Saturday! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Justin
    What a great card! I was really drawn to 2 things, one was the color combination … Real red is one of my favorite Stampin ‘ Up! Colors and the second one was the organic shape of the hexagon hive piece. It really adds movement to the card as well as great texture.
    I hope your moving day goes well. It will be good to be settled! Would love to see your craft space, I love to see how other crafters organize their space.
    Enjoy the moments today, take pictures, this would make a great project project! your picture of Andrew and his paint covered shoes tells a great story!
    Sorry I am so chatty today! Have a great moving in day!
    Donna

    Reply
  4. Hi Justin! Cute pic of your brother and little Daniel! I hope your move goes well today and that Andrew got there early for ya. 😉 Love your card…interesting colors that I would not have chosen to go together but you make them work! This does remind of a soccer ball too. I still can’t believe you have the energy to make cards with how busy you’ve been lately but thank you for doing that! It probably does keep you a little sane with everything that’s going on, huh? Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thanks! Little Daniel is just way too cute! Andrew was awesome as was Fred! I like to take a chance with colors sometimes and I love when they do work together! Thank you! The cards definitely keep me a little sane for sure! I need the creative time! I hope you had a good Saturday! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Justin – Daniel is just adorable! If that was my nephew I would be hugging him until my arms hurt! LOL I’m so glad Taylor’s graduation went well and I bet she was thrilled to have her family there to witness one of life’s special moments!

    I must not be very artistic as I didn’t see the soccer connection until I read what the other ladies wrote and then it was clear as a bell. Pretty card and my favorite part, of course, was the gold heart. That is where my eye immediately went.

    Good luck with your move and I too can’t wait to see how you set up your new stamping space. Mine needs to be totally reorganized and I need to purge to make room for all the new wonderful supplies from this year’s catalog. Getting your “stuff” over to the new apartment is the exhausting part. Once it’s all at the new place you can take your time getting everything set up. It sounds like you have a good jump start by getting the painting done and the kitchen stuff set up. The rest should be a piece of cake and give you some breathing time. If I was in NY I’d be right there to help because I think you and your friends are just great folks. Take it slow and enjoy the experience. Good luck today, I hope it isn’t too hot – at least it’s not raining.

    Reply
    • Grace!
      Thank you! He definitely is a cutie! I took him for a nice long walk during the graduation, he has to look at everyone! Taylor is a good kid, and she had a nice day! I’m glad that you didn’t see the soccer connect because I didn’t think of it when I made the card. I definitely think that a little shine makes a card better! I wish I could take my time setting up the new space but the chaos of boxes makes me a little nutty! LOL! I need to get that done ASAP! I know that you would be Grace and I would be very happy to have you! It was a nice day and I look forward to getting the rest finished today! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Congratulations, Taylor! Best wishes on your future!
    Too much World Cup Soccer floating around in your head? This would be a great soccer card in black and white. You have a knack for bringing out the best in products. I never would have seen the soccer ball by just looking at the thinlit. Whether it was your intention or not, you made something happen here.
    Good luck moving! Send us pics of Fred (he’s a new name) and I hope Andrew made it on time. I am sure your new apartment will be fabulous! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thanks Nancy! I swear I wasn’t thinking World Cup at all! LOL! Thank you! I think I will have to make a soccer ball card just because! Fred is a little camera shy but I’ll take a pic of him while I’m at work. Andrew was a little late but came with Starbucks so that clears that right up! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Hi Justin! Beautiful picture of your brother and his baby… just beautiful. I’ll bet you are a proud Uncle! I love your card! Immediately I thought of soccer too…and those colors would never have come out of my head, but they work very well! Great job! I hope your move goes well…it’s always nice to have a new place to call home, even if getting there is exhausting! Congratulations to Taylor too! I can’t wait to see pics of your new craft space…that is exciting too. One of my favorite things to do is take all day, with a cup of coffee or water, and just peruse my room and figure out what I want to change. Recent purchases of the Stamp n Storage ink pad holders made me do just that. And it was an exciting time to just take all the pads and put them in alpha order, instead of in color families like I’ve had them for 3 years. Next up? One more ink pad holder and ribbon holders and magnetic cards I think! Have a wonderful weekend and get some rest and have fun too! Hugs!

    Reply
    • Hello Bobbi!
      Thank you! I am a proud Uncle, he’s a really good baby too! I glad you like the card, especially the colors! The move is coming right along. Taylor is very happy to be done with high school and moving on to the next phase of her life. I have seen a lot of people get that Stamp N Storage, I may have to think about it too! I always sit there and think what I can do to make the space work better for me. I will be rearranging this space over and over I’m sure! I hope you are having a great weekend! Hugs back to you too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Love your card! If I was having to move, I don’t think I could find my craft supplies, much less the ENERGY to use them! I’m in awe. Hope to meet you in July.

    Reply
  9. Marlene Salvato

    LOVE the YANKEE Cap!!!

    Reply
  10. your nephew is adorable. Congrats on the graduation, you must be so proud! Awesome card, love those colors, I love anything red, interesting look of the hexagon die cut

    Reply

Leave a Reply

