RSS Feed

Paper Craft Crew 101

Posted on

Wow! It’s already Wednesday! This time next week I will be in Slat Lake City Utah! I will get to see my buddy Brian and all of the other wonderful people! I have so much to do before I go but it will get done. Positive thinking right?! Yesterday was another warm and muggy day and we had some thunderstorms last night. I went to my Friends Brian and Kim’s for dinner with Heather. Always a great time. We even had the fire pit on for a while. I came home and made my card for the Paper Craft Crew challenge. Sometimes my best crating is done late at night when I clearly should be thinking about going to bed!

And here is the sketch for this week’s Paper Craft Crew challenge…

PCCCS101 Sketch 7-09-2014

As soon as I saw the sketch I knew exactly what I was going to use! The base of my card is Calypso Coral Card Stock. I used a piece of the Gold Soiree Specialty Designer Series Paper for the top part of the background and the the bottom is a piece of Old Olive that I embossed with the Lovely Lace Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. A piece of adhesive cork goes across to hide the seam and some Gold Sequin Trim that I separated is adhered on top of that with Multi-Purpose Glue. The flowers are from the I Like You Host(ess) Stamp Set and is stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black and colored in with Calypso Coral, Old Olive and Daffodil Delight Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers. I used the Circles Collection Framelits to cut it out. The greeting is heat embossed in Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder and is from the Hip Notes Stamp Set. Both the circle and greeting are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. A piece of Gold Foil Sheet is cut out with the Beautiful Wings Embosslit and a few more Gold Sequins complete the card. I really love that DSP, it’s nice and shiny and the patterns are great! There is my late night card for this week’s Paper Craft Crew sketch challenge. Head on over to the blog and check out what the other designers have come up with for the sketch and enter your card for a chance to be one of our featured designers! I hope you enjoyed the card and I appreciate you stopping by today! Have a wonderful Wednesday! 🙂

PCCCS101-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock:Calypso Coral, Old Olive and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Gold Soiree Specialty

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Gold

Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers: Calypso Coral, Old Olive and Daffodil Delight

Stamp Sets: Hip Notes and I Like You (Host(ess)) Clear Mount

Framelits: Circles Collection

Embossing Folder: Lovely Lace

Embosslit: Beautiful Wings

Embellishments: Gold Sequin Trim

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Multi-Purpose Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest sets are Dear Heart and Christmas Bliss. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

40 responses »

  1. I’m excited to see you, too, Justin – haven’t seen you since January, and that’s too long. We are going to have a blast. Love this gold! A beautiful card!

    Reply
  2. Donna from PA

    Good morning Justin,
    Absolutely love it! Colors blend nicely together. Just amazing!
    Yes, but at the same time next week, the week will almost be over 😦 No worries, you always have gigantic amounts of energy and will get everything finished, with plenty of time to spare. We had some terrible storms in PA last night as well. Everyone’s safe and we were lucky enough not to lose electric. Well gotta go to a therapy appt. for my knee. Have a great day! 🙂 Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you so much! I love the colors in that DSP, and the gold is great! I have no choice but to get all of my stuff done! LOL! I need the crafting fairies to come and help! I heard that you hard some bad storms, they missed us and I’m good with that! I hope your therapy appointment went well and that you had a nice day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Great card ! I like those flowers in the Hostess set . The gold sequins add a special eye catching detail to your layout . Happy Hump Day !

    Reply
  4. I was trying to decide what kind of card to make with my new hostess set and after seeing your card- problem solved! Really enjoy your blog and your cards.

    Reply
    • Yeah! I love being a problem solver for you Loretta! I’m so glad that you enjoy my little corner of the web! I’m happy to have you along with me! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Gold, gold everywhere! Yes, yes, yes! Your coloring with the Blendabilities….gorgeous! The Gold Soiree Specialty DSP won’t be in my order that’s due to arrive today, bummer. That only means one thing….I’ll have to include it in my next order. I did notice a thin strip of the cork beneath the sequins. Nice touch. Have a wonderful day.

    Reply
    • I do love a little gold Lisa! Thank you! I love the Blendabilities! I don’t think you will be disappointed with the Gold Soiree! I like the way the cork helps to ground everything! I hope your day was spectacular! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Beth K. Mills

    Good Morning Justin! You most definitely must be a night person as you continue to create beautiful cards before you go to bed!! Love the elegance of the gold touches and the Gold Soirée DSP and the earthiness of the cork!! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

    Reply
    • Hello Beth!
      LOL! I think I am lucky in that I don’t require much sleep! I do like to make something when I get home though, it’s helps me unwind! I hope that you had a good day! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Good Morning Justin! I absolutely love, love, LOVE your card! Your coloring with the blendies is perfect! I forgot to order the new color blendies with my last order. They are on the top of the list for my next order. I love the way you used the dsp and gold foil and sequins…they look great together and that thin piece of cork grounds the sequins. Beautiful card! Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hi Karen!
      I’m a little late today! Thank you!! I do enjoy using those markers! I almost forgot to order them, I’m glad that I got the Calypso Coral, it’s very pretty! I do really like that DSP, and well, sequins, we all know how I feel about them! Cork makes everything better! I hope your day was good! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Justin – you did a remarkable (yes, pun intended) job with the blendabilities on that flower! WOW! And, of course it goes without saying, the gold embossed butterfly is a wowser. I am sure you and Brian will have a blast next week and bring back lots of freebies. Hopefully you’ll share photos. With the way the weather has been we will just hope you and Brian don’t melt while out in Utah. I so wish I were going to be there with all you great demonstrators. Guess that means you will have to have enough fun for ALL of us! Have yourself a Wondrous Wednesday.

    Reply
    • LOL! Thank you Grace! You always make me smile! Love that foil sheet and I’m glad we still have the embosslit! I can’t wait to see Brian! I saw that it’s really warm there, but it’s a dry heat! LOL! Right! I will definitely have pictures for you! It would be great if you were there too! We’ll see each other one day, hopefully soon! I hoe your day was awesome! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Funny that you should mention meeting up with Brian and you both posted a card in similar papers and colours today! You know what they say about great minds!

    Reply
  10. Lovin’ the card, Justin!

    Reply
  11. Justin, Beautiful card!! I love the little touch of cork – it’s just perfect.

    Reply
  12. Not a big fan of this flower set myself Justin, but a great card nonetheless! Great blended colouring and I love the gold trim, especially the embossed butterfly. Great sketch too this week – will try my best to pop over to Paper Craft Crew with something! Been real busy here so have been doing major blog-read catch up. So glad you are now officially moved and enjoy your trip to Convention next week. Have fun with Brian – wish I was there too!

    Reply
    • Thanks Joanne! What don’t you like about it? It’s it because it look drawn? We would love to have you play along! I appreciate you taking the time to catch up! Yes, I’m ecstatic that the move is done and I can’t wait for Convention! Wish you were going too! 🙂

      Reply
  13. Justin, this card is beautiful! I love the flower and that embossing folder looks like it’s almost a perfect match to the paper! I haven’t gotten the Gold Soiree paper yet….but it’s on my list! Gorgeous card! Have fun in SLC. I wish I could go this year…had a blast last year for my first time. Maybe next year (sigh). Have an awesome day! Hope you’re all settled in your new digs!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Bobbi! The embossing folder goes perfectly with the DSP and one of the stamp sets too! I just got the Gold Soiree and love it! I will have a great time in SLC! Hopefully you will get to go next year! I’m almost all settled in, just some organizing left to do! 🙂

      Reply
  14. Great card again, Justin! Your use of cork so beautifully in your cards should be sending a message to the product people at SU that maybe, just maybe they should offer the same! 🙂 Good luck getting all your tasks completed before SLC…no doubt here that you’ll be successful!

    Reply
    • Thank you Melanie! I am going to mention something to them while I’m at Convention! Fingers crossed that I get everything done before I leave! Thanks for your faith! 🙂

      Reply
  15. Hi Justin,
    Everything about this card works so great together! You do a great job with the Blendabilities. I love coloring with those! Can’t wait to get the next set of colors (I forgot to put them on the order at the beginning of the month!)

    I bet you are so excited for next week! I am not going this year, its really a blessing I didn’t decide to go with the way my back is right now. Stampin’ Up! does a great job with convention, their attention to detail is what puts them over the top! I am sure you don’t remember, but last year at convention I met you and Brian, (it was a very quick moment) that is when I started following your blog. I am sure you two will have such a great time together again! I can’t wait to see pics and to hear all about it!

    We had quite the storm here last night. We really needed the relief from the heat and mugginess. It dropped about 15 degrees during the storm. A lot of people were out this morning cleaning up the debris from the wind and we had several lines down in the roads. We were lucky that we didn’t lose our electricity.

    I am the same way at night, I should be getting ready for bed but then I get an idea and the next thing you know an hour has gone by!

    Hope your Wednesday is a good one!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you very much! I love those Blendabilities! They are great!
      I am very excited to get to see everyone! You are definitely not in the right place to get on a plane for 4 hours that’s for sure. Maybe Leadership or definitely next year! I do remember that we met! We do have a lot of fun together, he is great!
      I saw on the news that the weather was bad down by you. I’m glad that you are ok. Thankfully it missed us. We had enough with Sandy!
      I should be headed to bed but I’m sitting here at the computer! LOL!
      I had a pretty good Wednesday and hope that you did too! 🙂

      Reply
  16. Liz Stillman

    Beautiful card Justin! Great coloring with the Blendabilities! I’m still trying to get the hang of them. Have fun at convention!!

    Reply
    • Thank you Liz! Start with the darkest color first and work your way to the lightest. Go over the whole thing with the lightest one. I will have a great time!! 🙂

      Reply
      • Thanks for the tip Justin!! I have been looking at everyone’s instructions on how to get the best look but just haven’t gotten it down yet. I will keep trying. Thanks again! Never thought to go over the whole thing with the lightest marker 🙂

      • Welcome Liz! I find that coloring over all of it with the lightest color helps blend it a bit better. You will be amazing, I just know it! 🙂

      • Aww, thank you Justin! 🙂

      • Welcome Liz!! 🙂

  17. Beautiful. Love your color choices, especially like the embossed butterfly. Convention, I am so jealous, have a great time, post lots of photos

    Reply
    • Thank you Linda! That Gold Soiree DSP has some great colors in it! I love the way the Gold Foil Sheet embosses too! I will take as many photos as I can! 🙂

      Reply
  18. Hey, Mr. Fancybritches, that gold is gorgeous! And I have never put Calypso with Old Olive: quite lovely. I’ve been going through a bit of birds/butterfly phase here, so I’m so impressed with this wonderful card.

    Reply
    • LOL! Ha! That’s me, Mr. Fancybritches! I love gold lately! The DSP has great colors that I too wouldn’t think to put together! I just finished my birds and butterflies phase, well that happens every month or so! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

