RSS Feed

Rhinestone Sunshine

Posted on

Well, I had a nice productive day yesterday, I didn’t get all of the things on my list done but I did get a bunch of other organizing around the house stuff done. Andrew stopped by for a bit last night and helped me put up some towel bars in the bathroom and other various little loose ends. I got my Vintage New York City pictures up too! here they are…

LR City Pics

The neat little strip of lights across the ceiling I picked up at BJ’s. They can change to all different colors and strobe and do all sorts of neat things. You can dim them too which comes in handy for watching a movie! We relaxed and talked for a bit and then he had to go and help his dad. I did manage to get a haircut yesterday too, now that my hair is short agin I need to go a lot more often, which is better than the alternative! I did get to relax for a bit last night and slept in a little but today I need to kick it into high gear! Lots to get done! I would like to not have too much to do on Monday and Tuesday I’ll pack. 🙂

The last card that I made last night after Andrew left is the one I’m posting today. It’s funny how sometimes I can spend some time with a person and then as soon as they leave I have an idea for a card. I guess it’s a reflection of how I feel at the time and I need to get it out! LOL! The card begins with a base of Pumpkin Pie Card Stock, which was actually the last thing the I choose. That seems to happen a lot lately, the base get picked last. The main panel is a piece of Whisper White, remember that stencil that I made a while back, I used that and sponged on some Daffodil Delight.I sponged another piece of Whisper White and stamped the face from the Ray of Sunshine Stamp Set in Memento Tuxedo Black. I used my Real Red, Bermuda Bay and Crumb Cake Stampin’ Write Markers to color in the face and punched him out with the 1 3/4″ Circle Punch. A piece of Pumpkin Pie is cut out with the Starburst Framelits and backs the face before I adhered it to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. The greeting is from the same set and is stamped in Pumpkin Pie. I thought he could use a little sparkle so I randomly placed some Basic Jewels Rhinestones on the rays. A simple card that is sure to brighten anyones day! I hope you enjoyed my happy card for today. Thank you for taking some time out of your day to come and visit! Have a great Sunday peeps! 🙂

Rhinestone Sunshine-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Set: Ray of Sunshine Clear Mount

Card Stock: Pumpkin Pie and Whisper White

Ink: Daffodil Delight and Pumpkin Pie Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stampin’ Write Markers: Real Red, Bermuda Bay and Crumb Cake

Framelits: Starburst

Punch: 1 3/4″ Circle

Embellishments: Basic Jewel Rhinestones

Tools: Big Shot, Sponge Daubers, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest sets are Dear Heart and Christmas Bliss. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

26 responses »

  1. Nancy Farrell

    Ahhh, yes, this is very nice. Like that smiling sun! The rhinestones make it burst with brightness. Have a great Sunday. Just think you are off tomorrow! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Another great card, Justin! I love the rays from the sun and the rhinestones. Just beautiful!!! Have a productive Sunday and a great week!

    Reply
  3. AHA – I finally came up with a suggested name for your stamping space – Justin’s Creative Nook – Nook because your space is in a closet. Such a bright, bright happy card today.

    So the background to this card is stenciled? WOW! When I saw the card (I look at the card first and then read your explanation) I wondered what DSP the background came from. Oh my – no DSP at all, just Justin’s creativity! The rhinestones really do add the perfect touch to this card. Of course, I may be a bit prejudiced as the Hubs sings “You Are My Sunshine” to me every night before we go to sleep! LOL

    Reply
    • I like that Grace! I like nook because it sounds cozy! Glad you like the card too! Yes, it is stenciled. That’s so nice that your hubby sings that to you!! Enjoy your day my friend! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Oooo, love it Justin ! A great card for a Sunday !!!! Happy !!!
    Hugs frenchie ,
    Ops love your picture !!!

    Reply
  5. Beth K. Mills

    Good Morning Sunshine! …. Justin! (Sorry, now I have that song in my head! LOL) Love the sponged rays; the variation in color is so much better than cut out strips. What type of paper did you make your stencil with? The sun won’t be the same without some sparkle and the rhinestones fit the bill perfectly!! Andrew is a great inspiration! Your picture wall is like a set of windows on NYC! And strobe lights!! Happy packing!

    Reply
    • Good morning Beth!
      LOL! I was singing that when I was making the card last night! Thank you! I like the look of the sponging better than cut paper too! I used Window Sheet to make my Stencil. It’s nice and durable! Yes, Andrew does brighten peoples days doesn’t he! I love the Vintage NYC pics! Some day mine that I take will be Vintage too! LOL! Enjoy your day! 🙂

      Reply
  6. I love this card! When my grandsons were little I sang that song to get them to sleep..This would make a perfect birthday card for them.

    Reply
  7. Cute card, I enjoy playing with stencils. Love that vintage NY photo, I LOVE Vintage!!!!

    Reply
  8. Love this card and am going to have to get it soon as it has been catching my eye every time I see it in the catalogue. I’ve had a nice time reading back over your blog for last week as I’ve not been online and as always feel inspired and happy from seeing your creations. I thought the blog hope from last week was fab and everyone has great ideas. Have a good time this week whilst you are away. Oh almost forgot to say your vintage pictures of New York are beautiful. I’ve yet to visit New York but it’s on my bucket list and I have black and white scene scape blinds of New York in my flat which I love. Take care, Michelle xo

    Reply
    • Thank you Michelle! I’m glad that you had a chance to catch up! The fact that I make you happy and inspire you has made my day! The Creation Station hop is a good one! I will have a good time provided that I can get out of NY. They are saying bad weather. Fingers crossed! I’m glad you enjoyed the prints that I have of old NY. They are some of my favorites! You definitely have to make a trip here, you will love it! Your blinds sound like fun! Have a great week! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Hello Justin! Love your card! I’ve been eyeing that stamp set but have resisted up this point…you’ve made me want to get it! 😉 Such a nice card to give to a great friend! Is Andrew getting the bug to stamp another card yet? We miss his work!! Love your vintage NY pics too! Glad you are getting settled in…it takes time to get a feel for where you want things to be. And yippee!!! no work tomorrow!! Have a great rest of your day! 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Karen!
      Thank you! The sun has a nice face, especially with a little coloring! I will have to send him a pic of your question! If we all ask enough he makes another card! I think he’s quite good seeing as he doesn’t do it often. He’s definitely a clever one! I am settling in, my brother’s wife came over and said it looks like I have lived here for years! I don’t know if that a good or a bad thing! LOL! I am so HAPPY that I have no work tomorrow! I hoe you had a nice Sunday my friend! 🙂

      Reply
  10. We all need sunshine in our life and your card fits the bill. It reminds me of the sun on the Sunday Morning Show. Your pictures are really cool. They look good under your new light bar. With all the different things it does, you could have a karaoke night with all yours friends! LOL. Sometimes it does a person good to do something silly. At least you’d be in the privacy of your home and among friends. Surely they wouldn’t make fun. I’m sitting on my front porch watching the firefly’s light my yard. A wonderful night here in Ohio. Good luck getting things ready for convention. Most of all have great fun!

    Reply
    • Yes indeed we do Lisa! Thank you! Yes, it does remind me of that too! I saw the light bar and had to have it as the ceiling has a ledge that was just perfect for it! A karaoke night sounds like a blast, but if Andrew is here he will win! He has an unfair advantage, he can actually sing! I am all for silly and act it as often as I can! My friends are just as silly as me, yet another reason why I love them so! I would like to be there on the porch with you, sounds very relaxing! I finished my swaps tonight! Yippee! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Hi Justin,
    So, I have been singing, Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. Golden Sun, please shine down on me, since I first saw your card earlier today! This is such a great card! I love that you used ink with the mask, it looks really good like that. The smattering of rhinestones are the perfect touch! Great Job!
    Love your picture wall and the lighting looks perfect. You said you got it at BJ’s, does it need to be plugged in? I am looking for lighting for my craft space and I think that would work and I am a BJ’s member.
    Hope you got a lot done today. I am sure you are getting excited for your trip. I am excited for you. It’s funny, I never cared about going or not going to Convention, but last year I went because of their 25th anniversary. Now, I know what I am going to miss and I am a little bummed I am not going. But there is always next year, right?!
    I have a crazy busy week this week, and then I leave on Saturday (Yay!) for three weeks! I can’t wait.
    I haven’t forgotten posting my canvas’s, I just can’t find my camera at the moment…better now than on Friday when I would looking like crazy for it for my trip! I have gotten so used to using my phone for my camera, but I like to use my regular camera when I am on vacation, that way I know I can get them printed right away.
    Hope your Sunday was good,
    donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Ha ha! I’m sorry that I have haunted you all day! LOL! Thanks! I do love the effect that sponging a stencil gives. Sparkle makes everything better!
      Yes, the lights get plugged in and have a remote! The white ones are quite bright, I might have to get another one for my craft space! Great idea!
      I did get a ton done, despite my messing about this morning! I am so excited for my trip, I hope the weather cooperates so I can get out of here! Yes, there is always next year! I had so much fun I had to go back!
      Where are you off to? I hope wherever it is you have the best time!
      LOL! Sure you can’t find your camera! LOL! Kidding! I use my iPhone for all of my pictures. I have it with me all the time and it takes really good pictures!
      I did have a good day and hope that you did too! 🙂

      Reply
      • I am going to Florida, just south of Daytona, for two weeks and then to Tennessee for a week. I am visiting a good friend in Florida, not doing too much, might go to Miami for a couple of days or maybe Key West. My best friend from high school lives in Tennessee, so I am just going to visit her for the week.
        Donna

      • That sounds lovely! I love Florida! I have been all over but my favourite part is Key West! Sounds like you will have a great time!! 😉

Leave a Reply

