RSS Feed

Paper Players 204

Posted on

It’s the best Monday ever! Why you ask… I’m off from work today! I also was super productive yesterday and got almost all of my projects finished! I also worked on the apartment a bit more. I had planned to relax a little but the night got away from me as it usually does. I have to say that spending a good part of the day crafting is ok with me. I also got to Skype with my friend Wendy for bit! That was lots of fun! Sandy is supposed to stop by for lunch today and I’m hoping to see Andrew at some point. He is taking me to the airport tomorrow, such a good guy!

In the midst of my crafting today I made my Paper Players card for this week’s color challenge from LeAnne…

Paper Players #204

I definitely had to think about this one for bit but I finally came up with something and managed to use no white or vanilla card stock! Don’t be afraid! LOL! The base of the card is Blackberry Bliss Card Stock. I took a piece of Wisteria Wonder, trimmed it and the used the Stars from the Hearts & Stars Mask to apply some embossing paste to it. Next up is another piece of Blackberry Bliss that I cut out with the Chalk Talk Framelits and heat embossed a stamp multiple times from the Be the Star Stamp Set in White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. My stars are Lost Lagoon and are all cut out using the Stars Framelits. I popped them up on Stampin’ Dimensionals and the one in the middle has a piece of Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper that I punched out with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack. My greeting is from the A Dozen Thoughts Stamp Set and is heat embossed in White Stampin’ Emboss Powder on Mossy Meadow. I flagged the ends and adhered it with a Stampin’ Dimensional. A funky card for a funky color challenge. I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Paper Players color challenge from LeAnne. Thank you for checking in and I’ll see you back here tomorrow for my SUO Challenges card! Have a magnificent Monday! 🙂

Paper Players 204-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: A Dozen Thoughts and Be the Star Clear mount

Card Stock: Blackberry Bliss, Wisteria Wonder, Lost Lagoon and Mossy Meadow

Specialty Paper: Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White

Framelits: Stars and Chalk Talk

Punches: Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack

Tools: Big Shot, Hearts & Stars Mask, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

NON Stampin’ Up!: Embossing Paste

 

Current Promotions:

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest sets are Dear Heart and Christmas Bliss. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

26 responses »

  1. Awesome creation, Justin! I love how you used no white or vanilla cardstock and just used those strong colors on their own! And since you mentioned an airport, I am assuming you are going to convention, so I’d better see you there…and I am going to pick your brain about embossing paste, LOL! It looks so cool! Thanks for using my colors in your ingenious way! And say hi to Sandy for me!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much LeAnne! They are definitely a fun color combo and who needs a neutral! LOL! Yes, I am going to convention and looking forward to meeting you!! I will tell all about embossing paste!! I will tell Sandy that you said hello! Have a safe trip and I’ll see you soon! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Good morning Justin
    It is always a great Monday when you don’t have to work! So glad you had a productive Sunday, it will be nice not to have to work up to the minute you leave!
    Great card! I give it a gold star! The embossing paste looks great, I love using it. I use it a lot in my mixed media. The colors are great too.
    I often make cards with no white or very vanilla, I like the way they look. It took some retraining of my mind, lol, but now it is more the norm for me.
    Have a good day off today and your one day closer to Utah!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Morning Donna!
      Indeed it is a great Monday when there is no work! I still have some stuff to do today, I forgot about the Creation Station Blog Tour on Sunday/Monday. I would like to get them done today so I don’t have to do them when I get home on Sunday! Thank you! The embossing paste is fun and works great with the stencils. I too like it when there is no white or vanilla on a card, it’s fun to challenge ourselves isn’t it?! I need to get focused but I keep worrying about the weather and the flight! Woosa! Need to go to my happy crafty place! Enjoy your day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Fabby card, Justin! Impressive use of the colors and no neutrals! I wish I could have lunch with you and Sandy–give her a big hug from me. Hope to meet up with you at Convention too–travel safely! ((hugs))

    Reply
    • Thank you Nance! I wish you were having lunch with us too! I’ll definitely give her a big hug from you! I’m looking forward to seeing you this week and safe travels to you too! XO

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin! Wonderful card!! Love the embossing paste stars!!! So cool—I’m gonna have to try that. Love all the framelit stars on here too and the color combo! I love cards that are full of dimension and texture! So glad you made a dent in your projects over the weekend. I’m looking forward to all of your posts from convention!! Have a great Monday!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thanks! I love the embossing paste too! It’s a fun medium to work with! The card definitely has a lot going on! I’m very happy that I got most of my stuff done over the weekend despite my ADD! Can’t wait to keep you people updated on all the goings on in Utah! Enjoy your day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Your card is full of Star Power! I love how you used the colors and incorporated all the star elements. It’s always a pleasure to see your projects at The Paper Players challenges.

    Reply
  6. You yourself are such a star! I love what you did with these colors and stars. Who needs white or vanilla? We want a running list of everyone you see and everything you do at convention. I bet you come home with tons of new stuff from the next Occasions catalog. You will need to reorganize your new stampin’ studio! Phooey to work! You are going to have such a blast in Utah! Have a safe trip. I know you will have fun. (By the way, how is Shelli these days? I have to catch up on her blog. Give us a first hand report. Thanks.) Nancy B

    Reply
    • Nancy, you are way too kind to me! Thank you very much! Who really does need white or vanilla?! LOL! I will give you updates on my blog each day, not to worry! I am hoping that I can fit all of the stuff in my suitcase! I probably will have to reorganize the craft room, but I never mind finding new spots for new goodies! Who needs work?! Oh, I guess I do so I can buy crafty supplies! Fingers crossed that the flight goes off without a hitch tomorrow! I all see if I can get a hold of her and ask her myself! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Such a fun card..love how you used the colors..those stars are awesome! Thanks for playing along this week at Paper Players!

    Have fun at convention!

    Reply
  8. Definitely a fun card, Justin. Striking!

    Reply
  9. It is aways wonderful when we can take a Monday off, Weekends fly by, and the work week takes forever. Great card as usual. I LOVE these colors, and I love those stars. I got my framelits and bitty punch in I’m so excited. Have a great safe trip. Bring back lots of ideas and pictures

    Reply
    • Oh yes it is Linda! When we get the whole week of it makes it stupendous! LOL! Thank you! I love Lost Lagoon and the Star Framelits, well, we all know how I feel about them! Have fun with your new additions! Fingers crossed that the weather cooperates tomorrow! I will bring back everything I can! 🙂

      Reply
  10. I love the look of the embossing paste with the star stencil, Justin. Great way to combine the colors, too. Have fun at convention! I’ll miss you! And thanks for playing along with us this week at The Paper Players!

    Reply
  11. Fantastic card Justin – and no Whisper White/Vanilla either! I love the funky stars and texture on your card; I have decided I can no longer put off the purchase of some embossing paste having seen this card!! Thanks for joining us over at The Paper Players this week.

    Reply
  12. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Great design, Justin! I really love the background stars that you created with embossing paste and the stencil. Stencils seem to be the in-thing these days. Hope SU makes more of them. All of the stars really blend well together, and you did a great job on the color challenge.

    Reply
    • Thank you El! The embossing paste is fun to use, especially with our stencils! Stencils are very big, everything comes back doesn’t it?! 🙂

      Reply
  13. I love your card, Justin! The embossing paste stars are so much fun! The Lost Lagoon Stars look fabulous with the Mossy Meadow sentiment!
    It was so great to meet you at Convention!
    Thanks for joining us at The Paper Players this week! XX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

