RSS Feed

Mojo 354

Posted on

Yesterday was a day that I won’t soon forget! LOL! After almost 24v hours of travel I finally arrived in Salt Lake City at 5:30 and my wonderful friend Wendy picked me up from the airport. How awesome to see a friendly face right away! I have to say that even though it was a long process it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. I met a very nice young man named Peter on the flight from NY to Austin and we chatted the entire flight. When we landed in Austin we got a cab and went to What a Burger to get some food. Went back to the airport and slept a little. He was on my flight to Long Beach too so it was great to have a friend to travel with. He headed off to LA from Long Beach but he said that he will come to NY one day and I’ll take him around and show him the town. Everything happens for a reason right?! Yes, it was a very long night/day but in the end it was all worth it! I have some pictures that I took from the plane to share with you…

These are the mountains that we flew over on the way into Long Beach…

Mountains jetBlue LGB

Mountains jetBlue LGB 2

And here is a shot of Long Beach on final approach…

Long Beach jetBlue

This was my view when I was having Lunch…

Lunch View jetBlue LGB

Pretty neat huh?! I think that I will have to go back to Long Beach, it seemed like a very nice place to visit!

Now on to my card for today which is for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge…

Mojo354

Today’s card starts off with a base of Tangelo Twist Card Stock and the background is a piece of Pistachio Pudding that I embossed with the Tiny Triangles Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Next up is a piece of Whisper White that I stamped with the “Vintage” Film Strip Stamp in Memento Tuxedo Black. The panel on top of that is a piece of Confetti Celebration Designer Series Paper backed with a piece of Crisp Cantaloupe. I stamped the Snapshot Stamp in Memento Tuxedo Black on Smoky Slate Card Stock and backed it with a piece of Silver Foil Sheet that I cut out with the Starburst Framelits. My greeting is from the Hip Notes Stamp Set and is stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black on a piece of Strawberry Slush that I cut out with the File Tab Edgelits. I am loving the funky colors in the Confetti Celebration DSP and the pop of silver behind the camera is fun.

Mojo 354-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Hip Notes Clear Mount and Snapshot and Film Strip (Vintage) Wood Mount

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Card Stock: Tangelo Twist, Pistachio Pudding, Crisp Cantaloupe, Whisper White, Smoky Slate and Strawberry Slush

Specialty Card Stock: Silver Foil Sheet

Designer Series Paper: Confetti Celebration

Framelits: Starburst

Edgelits: File Tab

Embossing Folder: Tiny Triangles

Tools: Big Shot, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

30 responses »

  1. Oh my Justin, you had a day to test your patience for sure but you got to make a new friend and get some gorgeous photos. Those mountains look pretty desolate to me an yet, at the same time, they are amazingly beautiful. So glad that you arrived safely in SLC and can now relax and enjoy all the fun you are sure to have.

    Your card with the camera couldn’t be any more appropriate than it is today. Your unique take on the sketch is pretty cool, especially when coupled with your photos for today.

    Thanks for sharing your trip with us Justin. It’s always fun to see what you are up to. Have a Terrific Thursday!

    Reply
    • I did Grace but it wasn’t as bad as it could have been! The mountains are amazing, especially when you get to see them like that! Thank you! I do love that the Snapshot Stamp and the DSP os fun! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Hi Justin! You really have a great attitude. I think I would be grumbling after the day you had yesterday. Hope you have a fabulous time at the Convention. And BTW, look how many people were pulling for you yesterday. All those comments. You’ve got a lot of friends!

    Love this card!! So appropriate too…lol. Love the way you used the file tab die cut (once again thinking out of the box). The colors.. the dsp… the camera…. all perfect!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Hello Gerri!
      Sometimes you just have to accept that things are out of your control and make the best of it! I had the best time at Convention! I always say that you guys make all the difference to me!! You are the BEST!!
      Glad you like the card! It’s a little funky but that’s a good thing every once in a while! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Love the pictures and so glad you made it safely. This card is really creative and now I will have to get that cute embossing folder. Can’t wait to hear about Convention!

    Reply
  4. Hi Justin! I was so glad you hear you made it safe and sound to SLC!! A very long journey and I love how you focused on the good part vs the bad. So nice that you made a friend also! Your pics are just gorgeous! The mountains are so pretty! I hope you had a great night’s sleep–let the fun begin! Can’t wait for your updates! I love your card! Love the bright, funky colors and your layering! Fantastic! Enjoy your day, I know you will!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Sorry for my delay in replying! It has been pretty busy here! LOL! It was a long flight but there is always a good side to everything and I like that side! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Hello Justin! Fabulous card (I love cameras and do have that stamp..lol). Love all the layers. Very creative.
    And so happy for you that you are finally in SLC. Those photos are gorgeous. Looking forward to read your updates on the convention and seeing photos I am sure. Have fun. Take it all in and enjoy.

    Reply
  6. Hello Justin,
    Wow, what a long day and night! I kept logged in to your site to keep following up on you. I’ m so glad you arrived safely.That’s great, that you made another new friend, just think you’ll be able to travel around the world and always have a place to stay! :)) LOL. Pretty neat huh?
    Pictures are amazing, especially from being taken from the plane. What kinda camera do you have? I’m still back in the stone age, l use film yet. It takes great distance shots, and I use it a lot. Almost hate to say goodbye to the camera, but I also like the fact that with the new ones, you can see the way they turn out.
    Love the card! (As always.) Great design and color choice.
    Well, don’t want to take up any more of your time. Have yourself an awesome day and keep us posted! Hugs πŸ™‚ Donna

    Reply
    • Hi Donna!
      Yes, it was a very long journey but all worth it in the end! Yes, I will have to do a world tour one day!
      I use my iPhone for all of my pictures, it really does take good ones! Digital ones are the way to go, you can print out what you want and store the rest! Takes up less room! I’m glad that you enjoyed the card!! Hugs to you! And sorry for my delay in replying! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. What a great card you made! And so perfect considering your day of travel. I’m glad everything worked out okay and how fun that you made a friend to travel with. Have a great time in SLC!

    Reply
  8. Glad to hear you are safe. The mountains are glorious! Be careful of strangers — the cynic in me–but I’m glad you had companionship during your grueling trip. I love your camera card. At first I thought you pieced the background until I read your description. Glad it’s DSP. Have a super duper good time now! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! I did enjoy all 22 of the travel hours! LOL! You have to make the most of everything! Glad you like the card too! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Oh Justin, I am so sorry that you had such horrible flight details. What a mess! I actually think though, that you are a comedian and don’t even know it. The fact that you chose to show us a card with “Oh Snap” on the front, is funny. I mean…your flights were ANYTHING but a SNAP! LOL In any case, I’m glad you made it, made some new friends and yes, Long Beach is very nice. It’s the only city I’ve ever been to in Cali…and it’s very pretty. Have so much fun at convention, and I hope to meet you there next year! Hugs!

    Reply
    • Thanks Bobbi! Yes, it was a long time coming here to SLC but all worth it! LOL! That would be a fun job, a comedian! The card was definitely a good one for the day that I had! I definitely want to go back to Long Beach, it looked beautiful! I’m having the best time!! Hugs to you too! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  10. Okay, I know you are on the go, so two quick and weird comments tonite: I realized while looking at your card that the Pistachio and Strawberry make me feel like being nice to people. They are very comforting colors, aren’t they? Secondly, I really like the Confetti paper. It reminds me of the illustrations in a volume of Lewis Carroll stories I read when I was a little girl. See, I did say WEIRD! Ha! Love your pix. Hope you are having a blast.

    Reply
    • That’s great Georgie! I can see where those two colors would do that! They worked for me! I love the Confetti DSP, it’s just fun and wild! I’m having a great time!! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  11. Wow, you are a very VERY patient man Justin — I think I would’ve gone bonkers flying for 24 hours! And Long Beach is a nice place — my sister lives there and I love to visit. It’s very laid back and the weather is wonderful. Another great card using my favorite little stamp! Have a great time in SLC!

    Reply
    • LOL! I do try to be patient, it doesn’t always work. But I’m realizing that when things are out of our control taking the high road always works out better! I will definitely go back to Long Beach, it looked beautiful! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  12. I love your attitude, and your patience puts me to shame. Gorgeous photos and great card, love the camera how appropriate. Relax and enjoy

    Reply
    • LOL! Thank you Linda! I have learned patience and a better attitude just works better for me sometimes! I’m not always patient, don’t you worry! I’m happy you like the card! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  13. Oh my goodness. I’m so glad you made it to SLC. Have fun and enjoy your experience there! Cute cards!!

    Reply
  14. Mary Alice Bellis

    I am so glad that you had a good trip after all. I just hope that my son’s trip from NYC to Minneapolis is less eventful than yours, as he is traveling with a 2 year old and leaving NYC at 9:10 pm!! You have fun at convention, and I wish I was there to hear your talk.
    Love the card, and the camera is so appropriate. Can hardly wait to see and hear what comes next this week. I am just kicking myself for not going to convention this year. Last year was my first.

    Reply
    • Thank you Mary Alice! Sometimes you just have to make the best of a not so great situation! I hope that your son and grandson got out ok. I loved Convention! Thank you! The card was fun and I love the different colors! Last year was my first and I’m going to try to never miss one! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  15. sonny peterson

    Yay for you ! You did get there and in one piece . Thank goodness ! Like your card and I just got the Index Tabs in the mail. Silly me …I was going to use them for folders ! How mundane !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

