RSS Feed

Control Freaks Convention Swap Blog Tour

Posted on

freakwelcome2013

Welcome to this month’s Control Freaks Blog Tour Featuring our Convention swaps! I had the best time at Convention and it was amazing to see everyone in person for the swap!! If you are following the tour you have arrived here from the clever Mary Brown’s blog, now those were some great cards and that cute memo pad, WOW! This month I have two fun cards for you so let’s get to them!

My first card starts off with a base of Basic Black Card Stock. For the background I used the Zig Zag Textured Impressions Embossing Folder on a piece of Real Red. A strip of Flashback Designer Series Paper goes down the left side. I used the On Film Framelits to cut out a piece of Pool Party and adhered a piece of Vellum to the back side. The greeting is from the Be the Star Stamp Set and is stamped in Basic Black and punched out with the What’s Up Punch. Finally I stamped the Snapshot Stamp in Memento Tuxedo Black on Smoky Slate and used my Paper Snips to cut it out. A few Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere it to the card. A fun bright card that would make a great birthday or just because card for anyone!

CF Conv Swap 1-WM

My second card uses the fun Flower Patch Photopolymer Stamp Set and the Flower Fair Framelits. Isn’t it great when you have a matching Stamp Set and Framelits?! I started my card off with a base of Bermuda Bay Card Stock and for the background I used a piece of Pistachio Pudding that I embossed with the Woodgrain Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Next up is a piece of the Confetti Celebration Designer Series Paper. The flower is stamped in Tangelo Twist and cut out with the Framelits, a Stampin’ Dimensional holds it in place. The greeting is also from the Flower Fair Stamp Set and is stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black on Crushed Curry. I used the Banner Punch to create my flag on the right. I love the fun colors in the Confetti Celebration DSP and like I said the Stamp Set and Framelits together make everything better!

CF Conv Swap 2-WM

So, what did you think of my Control Freaks Convention 2014 Swaps?! I hope that you enjoyed them! Now you are off to see what the clever Heidi Boos has in store for you! Enjoy the rest of the tour and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

clickhere2013

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card 1:

Stamp Sets: Be the Star Clear Mount and Snapshot Wood Mount

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Card Stock: Basic Black, Real Red, Smoky Slate, Pool Party and Crushed Curry

Specialty Card Stock: Vellum

Designer Series Paper: Flashback

Framelits: On Film

Embossing Folder: Zig Zag

Punch: What’s Up

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Card 2:

Stamp Set: Flower Patch Photopolymer

Ink: Tangelo Twist Classic Stampin’ Ink and Memento Tuxedo Black

Card Stock: Bermuda Bay, Whisper White and Crushed Curry

Designer Series Paper: Confetti Celebration

Framelits: Flower Fair

Embossing Folder: Woodgrain

Punch: Banner

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

15 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tour de Freaks – July | StamperCamper's Corner

  2. Morning Justin,
    I am glad you had such a great time at convention, and are home safe, after the ordeal you went through. But, it’s all over now, and what a wonderful memory you have of it. Cherish every moment. 🙂
    I loved the Framed Heart card from yesterday and I especially adore the Be the Star card. However, all your cards are awesome! You’ve been using the camera stamp quite a bit lately, so I guess that means we’ll be seeing tons of pictures, which is exciting! I love that you share your photos with us.
    You’ll probably be pretty busy with getting things back in order today. Take care! Enjoy the rest of your vacation! 🙂 Hugs, Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      I had an amazing time at Convention! The flight home was not bad at all! A welcome change from the one out! Thank you! I have fun making them and it means so much to me that you take the time to let me know that you enjoy them! I have more pics tomorrow! I have been trying to catch up on everything, I was so busy In SLC! But in a good way! 🙂

      Reply
  3. 2 thumbs up for 2 creative cards!

    Reply
  4. Hello Justin! Glad you’re home safe and sound! Convention sounds like a blast…some day! Love your cards today! The first one with the vellum and stamping on the arrow punch…so clever and love that idea! Your second card is just as good…Love the color combo and one that I wouldn’t have thought would work together but it does! That flower patch set is another fave of mine. It’s so versatile. Are you back to work tomorrow or are you still on vacation? Hope it’s the latter! 😉 Have a fantastic day and I’m super-excited to see what goodies you’ll have in store for us with the new things…can’t wait!!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Convention was awesome! I’m glad to be home too and happy that the flight home was good, but it will be hard to top the one on the way there! I hope never to do it! LOL! I love Vellum, it adds so much! The colors in the new DSP is great, so different! I’m back to work tomorrow for the whole day. I just want to stay home and play! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Donna from PA

    Hey Justin,
    P. S. l just wanted to let you know that I saw your happy dance, along with Brians smiling face on Julie Davison’ s blogspot. How cute and silly you are! So wish you wouldn’t have to join anything to get to go there, would love to see what it’s all about. I would probably be so overwhelmed by the time it’s over, because I’ll never forget the first time I went to a stamping convention. Woo-Wee!!! LOL. And I thought that was awesome! 🙂 Again, have a great day! XOXO Donna

    Reply
    • LOL! Yes, that was a very happy dance! LOL! Silly and fun is what Convention is all about! It’s unlike anything I have ever experienced, I love it! I had a good day and am almost all caught up! I hope that you had a nice weekend too! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Love these and it was great to meet you and Brian in person!

    Reply
  7. So good to see your photo’s you have shared with us. It looks like a fun fab time was had especially after your long journey there. Great cards and do love seeing the camera stamp. I also love the be you (tiful) saying. Look forward to glimpses from holiday catalogue! Take care, Michelle xx

    Reply
    • Thank you Michelle! I;m glad that you come by to see the pics! It was a great time! I love the greeting too! I’ll have some sneaks for you tomorrow! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Carol Carriveau

    Your cards are great and very creative and colorful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

