RSS Feed

Mojo 357 & More Pics!

Posted on

I’m sad to report that yesterday was a typical Monday, busy, busy, busy! Work was treat! LOL! NOT! I came home and made some dinner for Taylor and I, rice and black beans with tomatoes, black olives, avocado and banana peppers. I put some Sriracha on mine too, yummy and simple! I needed to get into the Stampin’ Galley, I didn’t spend enough time in there over the weekend and I notice that I am little cranky when I don’t get enough creative time. I made four cards and felt much better after that! How was your Monday?!

Here are some more of the Manhattan pictures from Sunday. We went to a park by my friend Kim’s house called Carl Schurz Park. It’s where Gracie Mansion is. The park is long and narrow but it’s right on the East River and I got some good pictures of that!

Carl Schurz Park 1

This one is looking North and the one below is looking Southeast.

Carl Schurz Park 2

Here is my friend Kim and her friend Maggie’s dog Kirby. She is eight months old but such a good dog!

Kim and Kirby

It’s also Tuesday and that means that it’s time for the weekly deals from Stampin’ Up! Don’t forget about the Big Shot Bundle promotion! You can scroll to the bottom to see a PDF flyer of all of the bundles available!

Weekly Deals 8-05-2014 1

Weekly Deals 8-05-2014 2

Now on to today’s post. One of the cards that I made last night is for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge…

Mojo357

Do you think of playing cards when you see the sketch?! I did! We don’t have any playing card related stamps though so I went in a completely different direction. My card begins with a base of Sahara Sand Card Stock, my new favorite neutral! The background is a piece of Blackberry Bliss with a piece of Hello Honey that I embossed with the Honeycomb Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. The card on the left is a piece of paper from the Moonlight DSP Stack. On the right is a piece of Whisper White that I stamped my greeting from the Perfect Pennants Stamp Set, stamped in Blackberry Bliss. I rounded the corners on both the DSP and greeting with the Project Life Corner Rounder and adhered them to the background. A strip of So Saffron that I stamped with the Draw the Line Photopolymer Stamp Set in Hello Honey goes across the middle. My flag is a piece of Perfect Plum. I made another one of the epoxy embellishments using the face from the Ray of Sunshine Stamp Set stamped in Blackberry Bliss on Hello Honey. I really love those epoxy embellishments, so easy and fun! And that’s my card for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. I hope that you enjoyed it and I thank you for checking in! Have a great Tuesday my friends! 🙂

Mojo 357-WM

Mojo 357 Close-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Perfect Pennants and Ray of Sunshine Clear Mount and Draw the Line Photopolymer

Ink: Blackberry Bliss and Hello Honey Classic Stampin’ Ink

Card Stock: Sahara Sand, Blackberry Bliss, Hello Honey, Whisper White, So Saffron and Perfect Plum

Designer Series Paper: Moonlight Stack

Specialty: Window Sheet

Embossing Folder: Honeycomb

Punches: 1 1/4″ Circle and Project Life Corner Rounder

Embellishments: Crystal Effects

Tools: Texture Boutique, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest sets are Dear Heart and Christmas Bliss. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. Very nice, Justin!

    Reply
  2. :I really like this card, all the elements come together so nicely and I really like your trick with the Crystal Effects and the window sheet. Very cool. But seriously, that dinner! My mouth is watering! I could never serve that at my house, but it sounds wonderful!!!

    Reply
  3. Christina Thurlow

    I love this sketch and how your card turned out! I have that stamp set about life not being perfect to be wonderful but haven’t used it yet. I love the meaning of the stamp but at a loss as to when you would send a card to someone with that greeting. I had a sleepy Monday but nothing coffee couldn’t fix!

    Reply
  4. Justin – don’t you find that when you are crazy busy at work the day just flies by? That was one of the things I loved about working at a newspaper. Every day was crazy, I was never bored and each day just sped by. I heard the same thing from some of the local police officers who said that was why they loved their jobs.

    Loved the card today and yes, I did think of a deck of cards when I saw the sketch. Blackberry Bliss has really become my favorite color of all time. I can’t tell you why but it does seems to go with just about EVERY other color. I even used it on a card with some Pink Piroutte and it was fabulous. I also think that making your own embellishments with the Crystal Effects is absolute genius! You are sooooooooooo good!

    Enjoyed the Manhattan photos, as always. Kim is just adorable and I bet a ton of fun to be with. You are certainly blessed with wonderful friends. Wishing you a Terrific Tuesday!

    Reply
    • Grace, I do find that the time does move along, but I like to be busy just not dumped on! LOL!
      Thank you! I’m happy to hear that I wasn’t the only one that saw the cards! I do love Blackberry Bliss too but Lost Lagoon is still my fave! Blackberry Bliss does look good with so many colors, it’s the perfect purple! I love that little embellishment and so easy!
      I glad that you enjoyed the pics! Kim is awesome! I have been friends with her for a very long time and she is an amazing person! I am a very lucky person with the people that I have in my life and am grateful every day for them! Including you! I hope that you had a nice day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Fantastic NYC blog and pictures as usual. The card is really cute with that epoxy sun face. This would be such a great card for someone who’s having a rough go of it! Thanks Justin.

    Reply
  6. I love your card — the face and the saying are top notch! No one can ever say NYC is an awful place — your photos are beautiful! Kim and puppy are terrific — they both look like a lot of fun. Say hi to Taylor! I hope your day at work is better today! I have been cleaning out card stock and have two stacks of retired papers — I will give them away. Next on my list is getting rid of DSP packs that I have doubles and triples of and will not use them all. Brads and other embellishments are on my list too. I’m really trying to downsize!
    Happy, happy! Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! I didm;t like the face but it has grown on me and the greeting is just great! I love NY as the ad says! So much to see and do! Kim and the puppy definitely are a lot of fun! Taylor is here and says hello to you! Work comes in waves, we are on a high but will crest soon and things will be better! I am a Stampin’ Up! hoarder! I wish you luck with your clearing out! I will have to do it some day, just not yet! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Hi Justin! I do love your card today! Blackberry Bliss is my all-time favorite! I’m hoping they make it a permanent color after it’s in-color run is done. I’m really loving what your doing with the crystal effects…just fabulous! Thanks for sharing your pics, I never get tired of looking at those. Cute picture of Kim & Kirby! Your dinner from last night sounded pretty good too! Have a great rest of your day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! I would like it if they made some of the current In-Colors permanent! The Crystal Effects is fun and I have had it and not used it for a while so I’m happy that it’s getting some use! I love sharing my pics with you! Kim is awesome and dinner was great! I hoe that you had a good day! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Rosanne Mulhern

    Hi Justin, great card, especially your epoxy embellishment. I hope we get to see more of them. Have a good evening.

    Reply
    • Thank you Roseanne! There will definitely be more of the epoxy embellishments! I’m going to try some different shapes! Enjoy the rest of your night! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Vert cute card, love the sentiment,, so true. Take care

    Reply
  10. Love it! Fabulous as always!! I tried making some of the epoxy embellishments, but mine didn’t work very well…they were all cloudy in the middle and yellowed. I’ll have to try again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

