RSS Feed

Hodgepodge Spiral Star Line

Posted on

I was in the car a lot longer that I had hoped to be yesterday thanks to the George Washington Bridge and the Throgs Neck Bridge! Doesn’t everyone realize that If they just merged they would all get through?! Having the top down in the car did make it more bearable, it was a beautiful day yesterday. The service for my Grandmother was lovely. The Priest that delivered it has lived next door to my Grandmother for 30 years and remembers me as a little one as he said. He spoke of her laugh that was infectious and her stubbornness and that made us laugh. I got to see people that I haven’t seen in a very long time including my Dad’s cousin Lisa. I always liked Lisa and remembered her from a few family functions from years ago. It was great to get to catch up with her and I now have her email and mobile so I can keep in touch. When we went back to the house I took a few things that reminded me of my Grandmother. When I was little I used to sit and stare at the nicknacks that she had. There were a few that fascinated me for some reason. There is a picture of a some of them below. I used to play with this set in particular. I was allowed to as long as it was only on the table and I was careful as I always was. Now every time I look at them I will be reminded of my wonderful Grandmother and smile.

Gram's Nicknacks

Today I have a just because card that I made a little while ago just for fun! I’m sure that I will find someone to give it to in the future. The card begins with a base of Crumb Cake Card Stock. I took a piece of Whisper White and used the Draw the Line Photopolymer Stamp Set with Pool Party and Real Red ink to crete a piece of notebook paper. The Spiral Border Punch down the left side enhances it’s authenticity! LOL! I used one the stars form the Basic Hodgepodge Clips to attach a piece of Tangelo Twist behind it and “casually” adhered it to the base. Some Gold Foil Sheet is cut out with the Stars Framelits and punched out with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack. I adhered the large star to the notebook paper with Multi-Purpose Glue. My greeting is from the Pictogram Punches Stamp Set and is stamped in Tangelo Twist. I heat embossed the small stars form the Be the Star Stamp Set in Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder and cut it out with the Ovals Collection Framelits. The Tangelo Twist Stampin’ Write Marker is used to edge the oval and Stampin’ Dimensionals hold it and the punched star to the card. I had a few small gold star sequins so I added them to complete the card. A fun card that would work for a number of occasions! I hope that you like the card for today and thank you once again for all of you lovely comments yesterday. They made me smile even more knowing I was in your thoughts. Have a lovely Sunday! 🙂

Hodgepodge Spiral Star Line-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Pictogram Punches and Be the Star Clear Mount and Draw the Line Photopolymer

Ink: Tangelo Twist, Pool Party and Real Red Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Gold

Stampin’ Write Markers: Tangelo Twist

Card Stock: Crumb Cake, Tangelo Twist and Whisper White

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Framelits: Stars and Ovals Collection

Punches: Spiral Border and Itty Bitty Accents Pack

Embellishments: Basic Hodgepodge Hardware

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest sets are Dear Heart and Christmas Bliss. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

38 responses »

  1. Love your card! I’m not much of a “star” person, but you make really great cards with stars!
    My grannie had lots of knick knacks too and I loved looking at them. I have her love of crafting in me, she even taught seniors at the “old folks home” as she called it when she was 85! Have a peaceful sunday

    Reply
  2. Your notebook paper is genius! Another winner of a card. Love the photo of the knick knacks! My grandmother had those lined up on windowsills, countertops, just about everywhere you looked, and yes we played with them for hours!

    Reply
  3. What a beautiful story about your grandmother. Those little figurines are unique and I can see how a child would love to play with them. So special that you have them as a memory. I have a chest of drawers of my grandmothers that I put in our entryway and it’s so special to me knowing that it was hers.

    Your card is fantastic! I’m loving stars right now and can’t get enough of them!

    Reply
    • Thank you Christina. I did love them, and she never told me that I couldn’t play with them, not that she said no to much! There is a sewing machine that she had that I want, it’s a really old singer. Black metal in a table. It’s nice to have reminders of the people who mean a lot to us. I too can’t get enough of the stars! Glad you like the card! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin,
    Knick knacks, boy does that bring back memories. My grandmother had a glass cabinet full of them, so many that you couldn’t even see what they were. We could look at them, but not play with them. She’d say “they are glass and you could get hurt if you aren’t careful”. Like you, I picked out my favorite ones as a keepsake. Glad everything went well for you yesterday and yes the weather was perfect. I am not familiar with Ringtown. I looked it up and it’s really not that far from where I live, approximately an hour to an hour and a half. Never been there, drove through to get to my brother in laws camp though.
    Onto the card, love it as always. Amazing work and creativity. I don’t know how you do it. I have a hard time doing one card every so often, but you make one (or more) everyday. Awesome job, my friend. Well take care and have a great day! Hugs, Donna 🙂

    Reply
    • Hello Donna,
      There are nicknacks all over her house.I was allowed to play with some of them, she rarely said no to much. I keep looking at them and smiling! Ringtown is a tiny little town, you are more south in PA right? I am so use to making something almost every day that I feel like something is missing when I don’t! Thank you!! Hugs to you my friend! I hope that you enjoyed your day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. HI Justin:

    I have to play catch up with your posts as we were without cable service yet again! So very frustrating.

    I really love that you share bits of your life with us. I feel as though we are such good friends even though we haven’t met. I’m so touched that you would want some of your Grandmother’s knickknacks that remind you of your childhood. How wonderful, as you will think of her every time you look at them.

    What’s your secret to getting your lines so perfectly aligned when you make the notebook paper? If I made it there would be different spaces between each line and not on purpose either. LOL The card is almost, but not quite, as special as you are.

    Have a supercalifragilistic Sunday!

    Reply
    • Hello Grace,
      I think I might go a little insane without internet! I understand your frustration! I too feel like we are good friends, we speak almost every day. There is always something that I associate with a person, the nicknacks made me think of her. I’m so happy that I get to share bits of my life with you! 🙂
      The stamp that I used for the notebook paper is Photopolymer and I use the lines on the grid paper to help. If the lines were a little off it adds to the handmade look! LOL!
      You are a wonderful person Grace, I’m very lucky that I know you! You have me singing Mary Poppins songs now! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Thanks for sharing your Grandmother’s nicknacks and your precious memories. Your card is super – I knew I needed Draw The Line!

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin—I love reading about your Grandmother, I can tell she meant the world to you. How fun that you now have those knickknacks. Something you can cherish forever.

    Your card is fantastic! I love all the stars on there! The way you made the notebook paper is so cool…definitely need to try that! I have that stamp set too but haven’t inked it up yet. I need to get on that!

    Have a great Sunday and thanks for sharing your Grandmother with all of us. She sounded like a very special lady!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen,
      Thank you for coming by to share the memories. She did mean a lot to me and the nicknacks just help with the memories.
      I’m happy you like the card! I have done notebook paper before with a ruler and markers, the stamp set is much easier!
      I hope that your Sunday was nice and thank you again for sharing in the memories! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Hi Justin. I too love the knickknack story- so sweet. That little set you chose is adorable and I can see why as a child you wanted to,play with them.
    I think your card today is wonderful, you make it seem effortless but when I read all the steps you went through to make it I realize how much time and effort went in to this seemingly “simple “card. Hope your Sunday is relaxing.

    Reply
    • Thanks Marty! The nicknacks just looked like they needed to be played with, to me when I was little they looked a little bored just sitting there! It’s funny you mention the steps, I never think about what I’m using when I’m creating it but sometimes when I type the post and see the list I’m like whoa! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Great card Justin. It would be perfect for back-to-school or to celebrate a school-related achievement, etc.
    Thank you for sharing your day. It sounds like it was a lovely service, a celebration of her life. It is always sad when a loved one leaves this earth but their memories live on. And that adorable little set will be one of the reminders, although I don’t think you need to look at something to remember the good times. They are always there in your heart. I have a very similar little animal. I should send you a picture later on… it too belonged to my own grandmother, such a long long time ago. Hope you find some time to rest a little today and find peace in your memories. Have a super day. (better than mine, packing at work…;-( oh well, This too shall pass, as they say). Big hugs.

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! I love the notebook paper and the casual look of the papers. It would be a great card for anyone with does something well in school. The service was lovely, the preacher was great. I don’t need the nicknacks, I just wanted them. I didn’t know where they would end up and they have been there since I can remember. Now they will be here! I would love to see the picture! I had a busy day but I seem to thrive on that! Sorry that you are working on a Sunday. Everything does pass! Big hugs back to you my friend! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Hi Justin,
    It is always fun to connect with people we lost contact with. I have a lot of cousins and I don’t get to see them except at funerals. I have found a few of them in Facebook so that is a great way to connect, (without having to wait for a funeral! Lol)
    I love the star Framelits! I was so glad to see them in the catalog this year! And the spiral border punch is my favorite, so glad it was brought back! Add always, this is a great card!
    I am on my way back home from my vacation, I have been gone 3 weeks. I will be glad to sleep in my own bed tonight! I am currently taking a coffee break in Virginia, at Starbucks of course! Overall the trip was very good, a lot of driving but worth it!
    Hope your Sunday is a good one!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hey Donna,
      Yes, I was very happy to get to speak to Lisa. I always liked her a lot when I was a kid, she was always so nice. I will email her and keep in contact with her for sure!
      I love anything Stars! I have added them to the feathers and sequins love list! LOL! As for the Spiral Border Punch, I would like to think that I had something to do with them bringing it back! LOLOL! I hope that you have a safe trip home. That went fast! Mmm… I had Starbucks twice today! I was in the car for way too much this weekend, I feel your pain! 🙂

      Reply
  11. Janice Baranowski

    OMG Justin, my mom had those deer figurines too and I think they are still on the windowsill at my dad’s house! I remember playing with them (carefully, of course) as a little girl! LOL. So sorry about your grandmother, I lost my mom of 85 in January and sure do miss her.

    Reply
    • Really Janice?!?! That’s so funny! I too played with the very carefully! I’m sorry to hear about your mom. You have the memories and they are the best part! 🙂

      Reply
  12. Justin, I am sorry to hear of your grandmother’s passing. I am glad to hear you found solace in meeting up with dear family. I too had a grandmother with tons of knick knack’s me and my cousins loved! She had a set of ceramic partridges she always let us play with ( brave of her given we were all under the age of 10!) and seeing those always gives me wonderful memories of her. I love your card by the way! Perfect combo of colors and placement of all great products! – Kristal

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Krista. It’s nice to have a little something to stir up the memories! I’m so happy you enjoyed the card too! Thank you for coming by! 🙂

      Reply
  13. I wiuld not have thought to make notepaper, great idea! You always stretch my possibilities. The one positive about funerals is family. Put her figurines where you will see them everyday, I have my grandmothers mixing bowls and I remember cooking with her every time I use them.

    Reply
    • Thanks Jeffie! I have made it before but the stamp set makes it a lot easier than a marker and ruler! Yes, it is good to see family, wish it was under different circumstances. The figurines will go by TV so I will see them all the time. DOn’t you love the way that the memories come back, even more vividly when you see something that reminds you?! Thank you for sharing your memory with me. 🙂

      Reply
  14. Isn’t it amazing how a smell, a knickknack or sudden thought takes us back in time and we feel the same sensations as if there. These treasures will always give a little tug to your heart and what a sweet way to time travel to that special feeling.

    Reply
  15. Hi Justin, lovely to see the nicknacks your Grandmother had which you have childhood memories of. Have a great Sunday and enjoy your good weather too. Very stormy here in UK at moment! xo

    Reply
    • Hello Michelle,
      Thank you for sharing them with me. The weather was lovely again today and I did enjoy it. Sorry that you are having storms. Hope all will be ok. 🙂 XO

      Reply
  16. I have just reconnected with a cousin, due to a family wedding. I love getting back in touch with folks. So glad your grandmother’s service was just right. I love the card for today too. Question – what adhesive do you use to stick down your sequins? Liquid glue always seems to ooze out on top, and glue dots let my embellishments slide around.

    Reply
    • It really was nice to catch up with Lisa Theresa, I love re-connecting with people! The service was just perfect! Glad you like the card! I use the Tombo Multi. I put a little on the card and then put the sequin on it! 🙂

      Reply
  17. Awesome card, love those stars, and i really NEED (LOL) that punch. I am so glad you had the ability to share memories, it really helps. And yep i love those nick-hacks. funny how the strangest things bring us peace and wonderful memories.

    Now on a serious note, OMG I HATE driving! My favorite is when idiots see the sigh 500 feet in advance, left lane closing so the sped up and create a bottleneck so no one gets thru, Or the lane ends and the road has been like that forever and they do the same thing. I’m really bad but when I drove our family truck I block two lanes so no one can pass. I know… but its funny.

    Reply
    • Thank you Linda! Yes, you “need” the punch! It did help to share with all of you. It is funny how some little porcelain things can make us remember such good times!
      I’m with you on driving! Especially in NY! Once I got to PA it wasn’t nearly as bad. People do the silliest things. I had a truck too but I was bad so I had to get rid of it! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  18. Love your grandma memories. I hope to be remembered as nicely some day by my grandkids! Lovely card, too. Thanks for sharing both.

    Reply
  19. Hiya Justin,
    Love the little glass animals – sooo sweet!
    Your card is amazing – just like you are!
    Hugs and Happiness, Nola

    Reply

Leave a Reply

