RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 215 & Paper Players 209

Posted on

Hello my friends and welcome to the start of another week. I had a nice weekend but not a very productive one. I was having a hard time focusing on one thing, a little ADD I guess. I will have to seriously concentrate tonight and tomorrow night to get all my stuff done. Happens sometimes, what can ya do?! It was a lovely day here yesterday, the weather has been particularly lovely lately. I wish it would stay like this all year round. I spent some time with Heather and we ran some errands and baked a banana bread that was delicious! She is an excellent baker and makes it look so easy. I make some good chocolate chip cookies but that’s about it! LOL! I also got my label printer, it was on sale for $39 at Staples, let’s see if that makes me send out more cards or just print more labels! LOL!

I have a double post today but just one card, I rarely combine challenges but I was inspired by the colors for the Pals Paper Arts challenge and thought they worked well for the Paper Players too! Here are the two challenges…

PPA 215

Paper Players #209

 

The colors for the Pals Paper Arts has a little bit of a retro vibe and the Paper Players is just fun. My card starts off with a base of Pear Pizzaz Card Stock. I used the Circles Collection Framelits to cut out a piece of Strawberry Slush and stamped the Dotty Angles Stamp in Versa-Mark and heat embossed it with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder on the right side. My tag is a piece of Basic Black, I used the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch and the Project Life Corner Rounder to make it. A piece of Basic Black Baker’s Twine is tied to the top. The cupcake and greeting are from the Cupcake Party Stamp Set. My cupcake is stamped in Pear Pizzaz and Strawberry Slush, the candle is markered with Pear Pizzaz and So Saffron Stampin’ Write Markers. I used the Cupcake Builder Punch to punch them all out and Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere them to the tag. The greeting is heat embossed in more White Stampin’ Emboss Powder and the tag is adhered to the card with more Stampin’ Dimensionals. A few 2013-2015 In-Color Sequins are randomly placed and some Crystal Effects keeps the ends of the baker’s twine in place. I love the black tag and how it makes all of the elements pop! There is my one card for two challenges, the Pals Paper Arts colts and the Paper Players theme. I hope that you enjoyed it and I thank you very much for your visit today. Enjoy your Monday people, it makes it go faster! ๐Ÿ™‚

PPA 215 & Paper Players 209-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Ditty Angles Photopolymer and Cupcake Party Clear Mount

Ink: Strawberry Slush and Pear Pizzaz Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stampin’ Write Markers: Pear Pizzaz and So Saffron

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White

Card Stock: Pear Pizzaz, Strawberry Slush, Basic Black and Whisper White

Framelits: Circles Collection

Punches: Scalloped Tag Topper and Cupcake Builder

Embellishments: 2013-2015 In-Color Sequins Assortment and Basic Black Baker’s Twine

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Multi-Purpose Glue, Crystal Effects, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Clickย HEREย for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Clickย HEREย for a PDF of the flyer.

Itโ€™s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! Itโ€™s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampinโ€™ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and youโ€™re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Clickย hereย for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. Itโ€™s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

43 responses »

  1. Good morning Justin, I am so far behind in my emails. I just got caught up with three days. Love the baby cards foe Mindy and the Creation Station posts were fabulous. This card is very nice. I like that back tag with the cupcake. Really pops out.
    Last week I wanted to tell you I finally made it into Manhattan. We went to The Chelsea Market for the day. It was quite an experience. I must say it wasn’t a place you could leisurely stroll. Being my first time there I thing I needed more time and that was frowned upon by the servers and fellow customers. All in all I was thrilled to finally get there and did enjoy it.
    ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Reply
    • Hello Nancy!
      I get far behind in my emails too! There are just too many of them sometimes. Thanks! I had a lot of fun with the Creation Station projects and the baby card was just fun! I too like the effect of the black tag and how it makes the stuff pop! You went to Manhattan and didn’t tell me?! I’m sad about that! I’m very happy that you got to come in and experience it a little. Chelsea Market is great! It was busy in the city last weekend, I was in on Sunday. Unusual for the summer, most residents head out for the weekend. It’s great and you’ll have to come back again soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. love that card! nice work Justin. I met you at Convention this past July. Now I’m following your blog.

    Reply
  3. Hi Justin
    I think you did a great job combing the 2 challenges! I like everything about this card! The White embossing on the strawberry slush circle is so striking! The tag is outstanding! I love that you used basic black for it. It allows the cupcake to take center stage! Great job!

    The banana nut bread sounds yummy! I am not much of a Baker, but I love to cook! I am really good at making dinner. But the baking is just something I have never really been good at!

    I am glad you got your label maker, and at such a good price! I have not seen one of these yet, I will have to check it out.

    I am sitting outside enjoying my morning coffee and this beautiful weather! I have been very busy this morning and it is only 7:30! But I do see a nap in my future!

    Have a marvelous Monday!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you! I hardly ever do that but I just felt that worked so well together! Loved the colors, so much fun!
      The banana bread was delicious, I am hoarding a small piece for later in the week! I think that you are either born a baker or not, I’m not but Heather is excellent! I like to cook but don’t get to do it often. I’ll bet that you are a great cook!
      The label maker just makes the task of printing out labels so much easier and for $39 I could’t resist!
      I should sit outside in the morning and have my coffee with my laptop and do my blog, sounds like you had a nice time with your coffee! I would have liked a nap too, didn’t happen! I hope the rest of your day was great! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Justin, another awesome card today as you combine two challenges! Love the tag and your cupcake but my eye really goes to the circle behind. You always have elements I would not think of! Thanks for playing along with the Pals color challenge this week!

    Reply
  5. This is adorable, Justin! I love it! Love those colors with the pop of black and that cupcake stamp set is on my wish list!

    Reply
    • Thank you Sandy! The colts were fun and so is the challenge, I don’t get to make enough kid cards! You’ll love the stamp set, it’s great! Enjoy your week! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. Hi Justin! Monday sure came fast, didn’t it? For not having too many plans for the weekend, we sure were busy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your card today, especially the colors! The white embossing really does pop on the strawberry paper. The tag is adorable and I like the way your bakers twine hangs off a bit. I wouldn’t have thought to use the crystal effects to hold the ends in place—-great tip! I will definitely try that. Oh and your banana bread sounds great, especially with a cup of coffee!! Have a great day Justin!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Yes, Monday’s always do come too fast don’t they! I am always a busy boy, but I like it that way. Thank you! I love the colors! I have been heat embossing quite a bit lately, I love the look of it! The Crystal Effects works great to hold the ends right where you want them! The banana bread was outstanding! I wish you could have had a piece! I did have mine with a cup of coffee! How ever did you know?! LOL! I had a nice day and I hope that you did too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. I really like how you combined both challenges, those colors are fabulous for a Birthday theses card. I like the bakers twine and how it flows over the circle. Thanks for playing along at The Paper Players this week!

    Reply
  8. Good Morning Justin, Ahhh, Mondays! Love the colors together! Strangely enough I like the black tag; it makes the cupcake and candle really pop out! The white embossed dots on the Strawberry Slush circle is my favorite feature! Another wonderful tip about using Crystal Effects to anchor the baker’s twine. I used your idea about tracing the inside if the framelit with a marker to give an outline at my monthly workshop yesterday and made sure to mention who I am getting all of these wonderful tips from!! Thank you for sharing so much with us beginners! Have a great week!

    Reply
    • Hi Beth!
      Monday’s indeed! LOL! The colors are fun aren’t they! I was a little concerned about the black tag but once it was ll together I loved it! I really have been into the heat embossing a lot lately, it gives such a nice extra to a project! Yeah! You used the tracing idea! Thank you very much for the credit, I really appreciate it! I’m so happy that you come here to get ideas, makes it all worth it! You have a great week too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. Justin, Love the black tag!! I never would have thought to make a black tag. The white embossing really pop. And love how you used the dotty angles embossed dots too.

    I spent part of the weekend organizing my stamps. I color code the categories with tiny labels so I can see what I want at a glance. I need to start selling my old stamps; I am running out of room.

    Have a Happy Monday!

    Reply
    • Gerri! Thank you! I figured I’d give the black tag a try and I’m glad that it worked out! You definitely got more craft room organization done than I did! I’m jealous! I have run out of room, but I can;t part with the Vintage ones! I know, I have issues! LOL! Hope your Monday was a happy one! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  10. Hi! Happy Monday!? How is your knee? You have inspired me once again, this time to add Dotty Angles to my shopping list. I am still awaiting the Holiday catalog; I hope it arrives today. I am now budgeting my stamping dollars, quite a new trick for me, so I have to see what’s new before I put in an order. I am now on to my 3 crates of DSP to cull out extra packs and ones I won’t use…
    I hope you have a great week and that your knee has improved. Don’t lie to us – we will know! Love ya, Nancy B

    Reply
    • LOL! Yes, happy Monday! It’s just another day right! Happy to be here! My knee is much better, thank you for asking! Woo hoo! Dotty Angles is great! Love it and glad you do too now! You are going to love all of the Holiday Catalog, except maybe the weird Santa’s! They creep me out a little! Good for you with a budget, I have tried but the crafting makes me too happy to limit it! I too wish you a great week! I would never lie!! Love ya too my friend! XO

      Reply
  11. This is such a fun kids birthday card! I love the combinations of the two challenges, Justin!

    Reply
  12. I absolutely love the PPA colors. I agree with Gerri K on the black tag. Using black for the tag makes the cupcake take center stage and shine. Loving the embossed dots on the strawberry slush circle. Totally a fun card.

    Reply
  13. Oh, I just HAVE to get that dotty stamp….look how fun it is on your card! Love the tag and the long twine….I just think it adds a great dimension to the card…such a simple thing! Thanks for participating this week with my challenge, Justin!

    Reply
    • Yes LeAnne, you do! It’s great and I have used it a lot already, which make it a good purchase! I’m so glad that you like the card, I had fun putting it together! Have a wonderful week my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  14. Hi Justin, I have just caught up with your blog for last few days and loving all your cards and the gift box. I like the way you combined two challenges today and love the cupcake. I also love that you have a new card for different challenges each day and share with us. How is your knee? I won’t be bossy today! I hope it’s less painful and I could not read anywhere that you went to doctor to get it looked at, so take it that it is.
    I thought that it was really lovely the Fab Friday challenge was especially for your friend Mindy and her baby Ian. Beautiful!
    Take care, Michelle xo

    Reply
    • Hello Michelle!
      Thank you for taking the time to catch up! So glad that you enjoyed all of the projects! I love making all of the stuff and sharing it with you is the icing on the cake! LOL! My knee is much batter, thank you for asking! No, I didn’t go and Andrew was yelling at me again last night, but it really is much better! Mindy was really surprised and it fun to do something nice like that, Mindy is a wonderful person! You take care too! ๐Ÿ™‚ XO

      Reply
  15. Good evening Justin,
    Beautiful, absolutely beautiful. ๐Ÿ™‚ I too like the black tag. Makes the other colors around it pop.

    Reply
  16. Love this design Justin! Fantastic! Thank you for playing with us at Pals Paper Arts this week!

    Reply
  17. Fun card! I love how you used the circle and tag as your focal point. Glad you joined us at The Paper Players.

    Reply
  18. This is really cute, I love cupcakes and tags. Great take on the challenge.

    LOL,, I made banana bread also, my son who is leaving for MSU loves the bread, so its a great way to use up old bananas and send him off with goodies

    Reply
  19. Love today’s card Justin – would be great for a discerning teenager in those colours! Great tip about the crystal effects and the baker’s twine too – would never have thought of that. My mouth is now watering at the thought of Heather’s banana bread … I just wish I had some ripe bananas in the house today! Have a good day x

    Reply
    • Thank you Joanne! I love the colors! Crystal Effects is a very underused adhesive. Heather’s banana bread was amazing! I always have ripe bananas for some reason! I hope that your day was good too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  20. jaydeestamping

    Justin, I love the black tag. What a great way to really make the focal point pop off that great background. Love it! So glad you joined the Paper Players this week
    jaydee

    Reply
  21. Such a fun card, Justin! I love all of the polkadots. Thanks for joining us at The Paper Players.

    Reply
  22. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Very striking design, Justin! I *really* like the color combination, and the circle elements hang together so well. Another home run!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

