RSS Feed

Mojo 361

Posted on

Those three day weekends always just fly by, not quite as fast as the two day ones but quick none the less! I did have a very nice weekend and hope that all of you did too. Since yesterday was an “extra” day I did some things around the house, ran some errands and got caught up on a few projects. A well rounded day I think! I did also start working on my mixed media project, I’m pretty happy with the way it’s coming along. I could spend the whole day in the Stampin’ Galley and be quite content! What all did you do this weekend?

It’s Tuesday and that means that there are new specials from Stampin’ Up! Here are this week’s deals…

Weekly Deals 9-02-2014 1

Weekly Deals 9-02-2014 2

I have been on a Holiday card kick lately, I know, it’s a little early but I’m having so much fun with the goodies in the Holiday Catalog I just can’t help it! Today’s card is for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch…

Mojo361

When I looked at the sketch I knew what colors and stamp set I wanted to use, I just had to figure out how it would all come together. My card starts off with a base of Mossy Meadow Card Stock and the background is just a simple piece of Whisper White. The panel to the left is a piece of paper from the Subtles Designer Series Paper Pack. Next up is a thin strip of Silver Glimmer Paper that goes just below the center across. All of the images and greetings are from the Letterpress Winter Photopolymer Stamp Set. The panel on the right is Mossy Meadow and I heat embossed the image in Pool Party Stampin’ Emboss Powder. The circle consist of a piece of Mossy Meadow under a piece of Vellum Card Stock, both cut out with the Circles Collection Framelits, with another one of the images again heat embossed in Pool Party on the Vellum. The greeting is heat embossed with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder and punched out with the 1 1/4″ Circle Punch. My flagged greeting is also Vellum and heat embossed with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. I love the Pool Party and the Mossy Meadow together, such a fun combination. I also love all of the heat embossing, it gives the card such nice texture and shine! And that’s my card for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch challenge. I hope that you enjoyed it and will forgive my abundance of early Holiday cards! Thanks for the visit, as always! Have a terrific Tuesday! 🙂

Mojo 361-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Set: Letterpress Winter Photopolymer

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Pool Party and White

Card Stock: Mossy Meadow and Whisper White

Specialty Card Stock: Vellum

Specialty Paper: Silver Glimmer

Designer Series Paper: Subtles Pack

Framelits: Circles Collection

Punches: 1 1/4″ Circle and Project Life Corner Rounder

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Paper Snip, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

27 responses »

  1. Love this card! I esp love the words embossed on the vellum..love that effect on a card. I spent my3 day weekend in my mom cave! Loved it! Yea, I did some laundry, and picked up here and there, things a mom does, but the most time was spent just for me! Made lots of Halloween and fall stuff, now I can go on Christmas! I love doing that part..if only I could get someone to decorate and shop for me, I would be happy! Have a great Tuesday!

    Reply
    • Thanks very much Stephanie! I love heat embossing, especially on vellum! It adds so much without much effort! # days in the mom cave, that sounds like the best weekend ever!! The laundry and other things ensure that we fell no guilt! LOL! Decorating is always a lot of work and then just as much to take it down! Shopping is easy, Amazon Prime!! Hope your Tuesday was spectacular! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Good morning Justin, Mossy Meadow and Pool Party are wonderful together!! Love all of the vellum and the embossing! How do you like all of SU’s photopolymer stamp sets? Looks like I’ll have to put the Letterpress Winter set on my list! I think it coordinates with the Snowflake card die which is a bonus. Have a great shorter week! P.S. Love the new feather colors!

    Reply
    • Hello Beth!
      I love the Mossy Meadow and Pool Party together! It makes me like Mossy Meadow a lot more! Heat embossing gives such a great look! I love the Photopolymer Stamps! No more Stamp-a-ma-jig! Yes, the Letterpress Winter does coordinate with the Snowflake Card Thinlit! Love that die just for the words! I had a good day today and hope that you did too! Yeah! It’s my birthday month so I thought I would put up my favorites for the feathers! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hello Justin….I’ve been MIA from your blog….but here I am. I have checked in to see your creations, AWESOME as always. My schedule has been very busy. I agree with you on the Pool Party embossing powder looks good on Mossy Meadow. I’ve never stamped on vellum, the look brings the extra umph. I really like how you are presenting the photos of your cards now. The pinecone prop today ties in nicely with your card theme. Short work week…woot….woot!

    Reply
    • Hi Lisa!
      I’m so glad that you are back! I’m happy that you are enjoying the projects! My schedule is always maxed out, except for this weekend, I stayed away from the computer a little more and really relaxed a bit, it was glorious! Love the two colors together! The heat embossing on the vellum is pretty day, stamping, that a little trickier. I’m so glad that you are enjoying the photo changes too! I needed to liven them up a bit! Yes, short week, double woot woot!! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Good morning Justin:

    I too love the embossing on vellum. Can’t tell you why but I do. Great card today and I have to agree with Lisa that your new way of presenting your cards is fabulous. I especially like seeing all the coordinating Washi tapes with the card. I thought the sketch for this week looked pretty complicated yet your card looks oh so clean cut and gorgeous. Nice job (as always)! LOL

    Had a laid back weekend but now that the tourists have left I can get busy and go to Freeport and get some pre-Christmas shopping done before they all come back to leaf peep. There is so much to do this time of year that it’s almost a bit overwhelming. Decorate the house, fall clean and wash windows and put up fresh curtains, start making soups and pies for the freezer for winter and on and on the list goes. It sure keeps me busy but it also gives me quite a sense of accomplishment as I prepare to hunker down for the “S” months. LOL

    Have yourself a Terrific Tuesday Justin. Tomorrow is already hump day. LOL

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      I can’t tell you why I like embossing on vellum either but it’s my favorite thing to emboss on! We don’t need a reason do we?! LOL! Thanks! And I’m very happy to hear that you are enjoying the new pictures! I’m trying to use Stampin’ Up! products and the Washi Tape is the easiest to coordinate. I thought the sketch was a bit complicated too, lots of layers, but I always enjoy the Mojo sketches! Thanks my friend!!
      I’m glad to hear that you avoided the tourists and enjoyed your weekend! My hats off to you for being able to start Christmas shopping now! I usually start the week before! I need to give my apartment the once over, maybe this weekend. I hate the “S” months, I would like to migrate south for the winter! Maybe some day!
      I had a good day and hope that the same is true for you! Yes, tomorrow is Wednesday already! Wee! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Good Morning Justin. Great card- the color combinations are lovely. I really like the embossing on velum, so subtle and elegant. Your photos of your cards are really nice, you have washi tape in many of them- is there significance to this or just a way of adding color and interest?
    BTW- you can never start too early on Holiday cards so keep ’em coming!
    Happy start to your work week!

    Reply
    • Hello Marty!
      Thanks so much! The colts and the vellum are so neat, I love Mossy Meadow more now that I did before! I’m so happy that you are enjoying the pictures. I just like the washi, it’s the easiest to match the colors in the card with!
      I’m glad that you feel that way about Holiday cards! There is another one tomorrow! 😀
      Yes, it was a good start! Hope yours was too! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Justin, Beautiful card!! Love the blue embossing powder! I also love the vellum. You put all the elements together beautifully as always. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin! Great card for today. I am loving all your Holiday ideas! I really like the way the embossing looks on the vellum. Very cool effect! I probably wouldn’t have thought to put Pool Party and Mossy Meadow together but it looks great! The weekends do go by fast, don’t they? We had a lot of family get togethers, kind of spontaneous, which was rather fun. I love September and the cooler temps, my favorite time of the year! Have a great day! PS…I love your little pinecone!! 😉

    Reply
    • Hey Karen!
      Thanks very much! I’m happy to be sharing my holiday ideas and that you are enjoying them! I love embossing on vellum, it’s my fave! The pool Party and Mossy Meadow was a happy accident, I love them together! Yes, the weekends fly by, they do I think so we appreciate them more! September is my favorite month too! Can you guess why?! LOL! Hope you had a great day and I’m glad you like the little pinecone! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Beautifully done. I love that embossing and must try the technique. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  9. Beautiful card. I love these colors together.

    Reply
  10. WOW another beautiful creation! I love the colors you chose, and I love embossing on Velum, such an elegant look.

    Well I got no papercrafting done, but I did finish my hexagon quilted table runner and I even quilted falling leaves on it. I then finished two other started quilt projects…. So not bad

    Reply
  11. Louise (ON, Canada)

    Lovely card… Non traditional….. Love the embossing on the vellum. I noticed you have changed things around… including your pic! Cool… Have a good night.

    Reply
  12. I just love all the embossing texture and color choices. Beautiful.

    Reply
  13. Just another beautiful card by you JRK. I never thought about using Pool Party on Mossy Meadow. I’m going to give it a try. Would you believe I only roll of washi tape and it’s not even SU? Have a great weekend. B

    Reply
    • Thanks very much Bernadette! I love when you can put two colors that you would’t think would work well and it turns out that they do! I have way too much Washi tape and need to start using it for more than props! LOL! I hope that you had a fun weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  14. El, a Stampin' Pretty Pal

    Another great design, Justin! Love the color combo and the layering. Great use of vellum over the snowflake, which tones down the frilly for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

