RSS Feed

Paper Craft Crew 110 & Mixed Media!

Posted on

It was a little on the chilly side here this morning and it drizzled most of the day. It did manage to finally clear up by the evening and the sun did peek it’s head out for a bit. I had a somewhat lazy evening, I messed around in the Stampin’ Galley for a bit and ran a few errands but other than that it was a quiet evening. I do have something fun to share with you today in addition to my card. I love when you are kind enough to share some of the things that you are working on with me. We had Grace’s quilt and now our friend Donna has sent me some pictures of her multi-media projects that she has done! There are three different canvases, one has a picture of her adorable granddaughter, one is a small one (purple) and the last one is a beach. I think that they are just fantastic! It makes me want to finish the one that I started a few weeks ago! So here are Donna’s canvases for your viewing pleasure!

MM 1 Donna

MM 2 Donna

MM 5 Donna

MM 3 Donna

MM 4 Donna

Aren’t they awesome!! I really like all of them but if I had to pick a favorite it would be the beach one! You can feel the warmth from the sunset and almost hear the waves and smell the salt air! Thank you so much for sharing your talent with us Donna! I really appreciate it!

It’s Wednesday right?! LOL! Well, that means that it’s time for this week’s Paper Craft Crew sketch challenge…

PCCCS110 Sketch 9-17-2014

When I saw the sketch I wasn’t going to take it literally and then I thought that I could have some fun with it! I started with a base of Very Vanilla Card Stock. The background is a piece of Basic Black and I heat embossed the “Vintage” Off the Grid Stamp in Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder. Next I heat embossed the Dictionary Background Stamp in Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder on Very Vanilla. The greeting from the Really Good Greetings Stamp Set is also heat embossed with Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder. I used the Word Bubbles Framelits to cut them out and adhered them to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. My stars are Gold Foil Sheet that I punched out with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack and they too are adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. In the end I’m glad that I did stay true to the sketch, I had fun using all of the heat embossing and love the simple Vanilla, Black and Gold together! Well, I really hope that you enjoyed the pictures of Donna’s multi-media projects and my card for this week’s Paper Craft Crew sketch challenge. Don’t forget to stop by the blog and see they other designer’s projects and let’s see what you come up with. Enter your project in the gallery! Thank you very much for coming by and I hope that you have a wonderful Wednesday! 🙂

PCCCS110-JK-WM

PCCCS110-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Really Good Greetings and Dictionary Background Clear Mount and Off the Grid (Vintage) Wood Mount

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Black and Gold

Card Stock: Very Vanilla and Basic Black

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Punch: Itty Bitty Accents Pack

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. Love Donnas works of art! Beautiful! And the card you made! I love it! It’s a kind of card you give to someone when you don’t really know what to give…make sense? I know a few people who would receive one really well! I will probably case this at some point! Have a great hump day!

    Reply
    • Thank you Stephanie! I was so happy that Donna agreed to share her beautiful works of art with us! I’m glad you like my card too! I thought it was a nice nondescript card, yes, what you said makes perfect sense. Hope your Wednesday was great! 🙂

      Reply
  2. I love your card, Justin! Super cute interpretation of the challenge! I miss the “Off the Grid” stamp, I wish SU would bring it back! Cheers on a great card today!!!

    Reply
  3. Hi Justin! Donna’s artwork is beautiful! My favorite is the one with her granddaughter and the flowers.

    Love your card! I love when you use gold and black. the way you used the dsp in the word bubbles and then stamped a sentiment in the third word bubble was brilliant.

    I love the ‘Off the Grid’ stamp too. What were they thinking when they retired that?

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Hello Gerri!
      Yes, I think that she did a fantastic job on all of them!
      Thank you!! I did have fun making the card, and I just can’t get enough heat embossing!! LOL!
      I don’t know, it’s a great all purpose stamp! It’s Vintage now and I’m ok with that!
      Have a great night! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Whoa, I just realized that’s not dsp. You stamped the dictionary bg and embossed it. Very cool! See what happens when I type before I read.

    Reply
  5. Happy Wednesday Justin. Your card is so artfully done and I love all the embossing. I think that embossing adds such a wonderful flare and look to projects.
    Wow- Donna’s artwork is breathtaking! The piece with her granddaughter and flowers is just stunning. I hope she will share some of the design tips with us- Donna you are really talented!
    Enjoy your hump day, the weekend is almost here!

    Reply
    • I hoe that you had a happy Wednesday! I love heat embossing! I haven’y used too much ink as of late, but I need a new Versa-Mark pad!
      Yes, Donna did a fantastic job!! So happy that she let me post them! Maybe one day she will do a tutorial for us… oh Donna!
      I had a good hump day and hope that you did too! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Oh my Donna – this is the first time I have seen examples of this multi-media art form and I’m very impressed. They look so difficult and so complicated yet so very interesting. It must take forever to complete even one of them. Fantastic job. Thank you for teaching me why all the craft stores now have canvases on sale. All of your pieces are great but, like Justin, my favorite would be the beach one. It certainly does come alive!

    Oh Justin – I went ga ga over this card. The gold embossed grid stamp is gorgeous (until I saw this card I didn’t give that stamp a second glance) and, due to my lack of artistic ability, I would never, ever, ever have thought to use the word bubble framelits for anything except cutting out individual words. Using them on the dictionary words was a stroke of genius. AND, of course, the gold stars are the absolutely perfect embellishment to top off this gorgeous card. Great job!

    Have yourself a Wonderful Wednesday!

    Reply
    • Hi Grace!
      Yes! Donna’s projects are so cool! I must get my Multi-media project finished, it will be no where near as great as hers though!
      Thanks very much Grace! I love that Off the Grid Stamp! It looks so good heat embossed! I like when you can use part of a stamp and it still looks ok. Stars make everything a little bit better I think!
      I had a good day and hope that the same is true for you! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Hello Justin! First off—wow Donna! Your artwork is beautiful! I’ve not tried the multi-media technique so this looks extremely difficult to me. It’s so lovely! Now, on to your card Justin—yeah…I LOVE it!! I can’t really put my finger on why I love it so much…I think the gold is gorgeous with the black but I think the word bubbles cut out with the dictionary stamp set is what really make this card. Just beautiful. I love that saying also. Have a great Wednesday. The sun is shining and I heard birds singing earlier. Just a beautiful day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Donna did a fantastic job and was a little anxious about sharing but I told her that they were amazing! Glad that you agree! Thanks so much! It’s a simple card but with some complexity to it if that makes any sense! The greeting is one of my favorites! It was a beautiful day here too! 🙂

      Reply
  8. What a great sketch and I love your interpretation of it. Awesome job as usual.

    Well you do have some talented followers, Donna’s canvas mixed media is wonderful, I love all three but my favorite is the one of her granddaughter, i love all the textures and colors and those flowers. Great job

    Reply
  9. Justin,
    Thank you so much for nudging me to send you my pics of my canvas’s. I was a little hesitant to show them to others, but you encouraged me that it would be great.
    I am so humbled by all of your comments. Truly. I love to work on these canvas’s. I never know where they will take me, they just sort of evolve! I never really had any art classes and the good thing with this type of art, you don’t really need to. It really is freeing for me. I start out with this white canvas and end up with something I love. Thank you all for your kind comments, they truly melted my heart today! Thank you!
    Now onto your card Justin, I love it!!! That gold embossing of the off the grid is amazing! I love it! You are so creative, it really is amazing how good you are at card making. I looked at that sketch and nothing like this came to mind for me!! Great job!
    Again, thank you for allowing me to share some of my work with you and your readers. You will never really know what this has done for me today!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Donna,
      I’m so happy that you did send the pictures to me and let me post them today! I knew that our friends would love them!
      Creating is so necessary for so many of us! It’s the outlet that we need to make us happy and I’m glad that you shared your happiness with us today!
      Thank you! I really appreciate you coming by to see my work and commenting! It makes me want to constantly do better!
      I really do appreciate you sharing your projects with me and every one else! It was great!! Looking forward to seeing more!! 🙂

      Reply
  10. This is a truly beautiful card. I regret never getting ‘off the grid’ when it was available. Such an eclectic image. And I love the luscious gold and black!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

