RSS Feed

Control Freaks September Blog Tour

Posted on

freakwelcome2013

Hello there and welcome to this month’s Control Freaks Blog Tour! This time around the theme is Halloween! If you are following along on the tour that means that you have arrived here from the talented Julie Davison’s blog! Super projects don’t you think?!! I have two projects for you, a fun banner and a simple card!I’m loving all of the fun goodies in the Holiday Catalog, how about you?!

First up is my Halloween Banner. The bases of the banners are Crushed Curry Card Stock and the backgrounds are piece of paper from the Motley Monsters Designer Series Paper pack. I used the Banners Framelits to cut them out and then punched holes in the top corners with the 1/16″ Circle Punch. The letters are all cut out from Tangerine Tango with the Little Letters Thinlits. I used the 1 1/4″ Scallop Circle Punch to punch out the pieces of Basic Black that back each one. They are all adhered to the banners with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I stamped two skeletons from the Freaky Friends Stamp Set in Versa-Mark and heat embossed them with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. Some Basic Black Baker’s Twine threaded through the banners and it’s ready to hung up. Lots of trips through the Big Shot but pretty simple to put together. A fun little Halloween decoration for any room in the house!

Control Freaks Sept. Blog Tour Halloween Banner-WM

Control Freaks Sept. Blog Tour Halloween Banner Close-WM

The second project I have for you is a simple card. The base of it is Basic Black Card Stock. I created the background with a piece of Elegant Eggplant and the stars mask from the Hearts and Stars Decorative Masks using embossing paste and a pallet knife. Along the bottom is a piece of Mossy Meadow and I used my Fringe Scissors to create some grass and heat embossed the sentiment from the Holiday Home Photopolymer Stamp Set in White Stampin’ Emboss Powder. I adhere it along the bottom and trimmed off the excess before adhering it to the card base. My moon is a piece of Crushed Curry that I punched out with the 1 3/4″ Circle Punch. The ghost is a piece of Wisper White that I cut out with the Fun Fall Framelits and adhered two googlie eye to. The moon and the ghost are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. A fun card for the special little person for Halloween!

Control Freaks Sept. Blog Tour Halloween Card-WM

Next up is the clever Margaret Raburn! Enjoy the rest of the tour and if you started here with me make sure that you go all the way around! Thank you so much for coming by and enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

clickhere2013

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Halloween Banner:

Stamp Set: Freaky Friends Clear Mount

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White

Card Stock: Crushed Curry, Basic Black and Tangerine Tango

Designer Series Paper: Motley Monsters

Framelits: Banners

Punch: 1 1/4″ Scallop Circle

Embellishment: Basic Black Baker’s Twine

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Card:

Stamp Set: Holiday Home Photopolymer

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White

Card Stock: Basic Black, Elegant Eggplant, Crushed Curry, Mossy Meadow and Whisper White

Framelits: Fun Fall

Punch: 1 3/4″ Circle

Mask: Hearts & Stars

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Fringe Scissors, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

NON Stampin’ Up!: Embossing Paste and Pallet Knife

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

20 responses »

  1. I love what you did with the banner. Very cute! The card in fairly non-traditional Halloween colors is very cute. I love the texture using the embossing paste for the stars.

    Reply
  2. My goodness Justin – how long did it take you to make that banner? It’s really beautiful and would look great in any room I think. Isn’t that candy corn paper just the best for Halloween (a rhetorical question for sure)! LOL I know you said the card is perfect for a little one but, to tell you the truth, I wouldn’t mind receiving it even though I’m far from little. Those googly eyes really made for one sweet looking ghost. I think he’s cute because he is a bit chubby. Most of the ghosts you see for cards look like they haven’t eaten in a month! 🙂

    Great project, great card, great fun. Thanks Justin.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! It actually didn’t take too long. Once everything was die cut it went together pretty quickly! The candy corn paper is super fun, but I like most of the papers in that pack! LOL! I just thought that it was a “young” card which is why it would perfect for you! Yes, the ghost is a bit chubby! I wish they he had die cut eyes but the googlies work! Ha ha! Supermodel ghosts! LOL!
      Thanks again my friend! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Super cute Halloween banner, really like how you used double circles on the same pennant shape! I love the card, too!

    Reply
  4. Your banner is fabulous, Justin! Great way to use that Motley Monster DSP. And the googly eyes on the ghost are so whimsical. Great projects!

    Reply
  5. FunFunFunFunFUN!!! Your banner is SO fantastic!! That little skelly is my favorite!! And your ghosty card looks GREAT with the starry background!! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Love these projects! Thank you for sharing. Wish my kids were still little. They are 24 and almost 27….

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin! Fabulous projects (as usual) for today! Love the Halloween banner. So cute. It does look like it took a long time to make! I love that little ghost too! I kind of forgot about the fringe scissors. Have a fantastic Saturday! 😉

    Reply
    • Hey Karen!
      Thanks so much! The banner was fun and I like to make a new one each year! It really wasn’t too bad once all of the pieces were cut out. I forgot about the fringe scissors too, and then I thought, I need some grass! I hope that you had a nice day! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Where do you find time/? These are adorable, especially the banner.

    I am heading down to University of Illinois today, two of my kids are in a triathlon tomorrow. My son will do well, I just hope my daughter lives. Honesty I think they both are crazy. I need to get my card done for my DT then I’m hitting the road, have a good one

    Reply
    • LOL! Sometimes I don’t actually know where I find the time! Thank you! I love banners and this one was pretty easy!
      I will be thinking of you and your kids tomorrow! Triathalons are no joke! Good for them! I’m sure they will be great, especially with mum there cheering them on! Hope you had a safe trip! Enjoy tomorrow! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Fun banner. I love the stars behind the ghost on your card… so fun!

    Reply
  10. Love the banner and card! TFS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

