RSS Feed

Mojo 364

Posted on

Well, that was nice Wednesday! It was a little chilly here yesterday morning but warmed up as the day went on. We are supposed to get some heavy rain this morning but it’s not supposed to last all day. After work I came home and got a nice little surprise, Andrew stopped by for a bit! We chatted for a while and the he had to go and pick up his mom and I had to go and meet Heather for her appointment at the Apple Store and dinner. I picked up Heather and we headed to Apple. She is having problems with her iPhone 4 and she thought by some miracle they would have a new 6 in stock. Silly Heather! LOL! We stopped at BestBuy and they had iPhone 6’s, just not AT&T. Since we were right near Friday’s we went there for dinner. They had half price appetizers and $3 martinis! We had cosmos, potstickers and boneless wings. Our friend Stephanie came and joined us for a drink and then we went back to Heather’s for bit. She called and ordered the iPhone 6 from Apple, she should get it on the 14th of October! I came home and made my card and got to bed a lot later than I wanted to! Oh well, I had a great evening so the lack of sleep will be worth it!

Today I have my card for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch from the talented Julee Tilman…

Mojo364

I went for a somewhat traditional Christmas card. The card starts off with a base of Garden Green Card Stock and the background is a piece of Crumb Cake that I embossed with the On Point Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. Next up is a piece of paper from the Trim the Tree Designer Series Paper Stack backed with some Whisper White. All of the stamped images and greeting are from the Ornamental Pine Stamp Set. The pine branch is stamped in Garden Green on Whisper White and is backed with a piece of Garden Green. My ornament and hanger are heat embossed in Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder and cut out with my Paper Snips. The hanger is adhered to the card with Multi-purpose Glue and the ornament with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I stamped the greeting in Versa-Marka and heat embossed that on Early Espresso and cut them out and adhered them to the panels with Stampin’ Dimensionals too. I really like the greeting separated on top of the panel and the way the embossing folder goes so well with the DSP. I hope that you are enjoying the holiday cards including today’s one for this week’s Mojo Monday sketch. I Love having you stop by and hope that you all have a terrific Thursday! 🙂

Mojo 364-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Set: Ornamental Pine Clear Mount

Ink: Garden Green Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Gold

Card Stock: Garden Green, Crumb Cake, Whisper White and Early Espresso

Designer Series Paper: Trim the Tree Stack

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Multi-purpose Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

28 responses »

  1. Like . . . is it really Thursday already. I like the “woodsy” colors of this card. Can’t you smell that pine? Your snip work is fantastic. Hope you have/had a good too, despite the rain.
    🙂

    Reply
    • Yes! Can you believe how fast the week goes sometimes Nancy?! I can smell the pine! LOL! Thank you very much, I do enjoy some fussy cutting! My day was good as I hope that yours was too! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Yeah! On the downhill slope to the weekend! Your card is very relaxing with the green pine needles and the touches of gold embossing! I had to go back and look closely at the ornament, bet it is even more beautiful in person! Kind of wish there was a “scratch and sniff” powder or ink to go with the pine! Oh well, I’ll just have to spend some time in our Maine woods! Have a wonderful Thursday.

    Reply
    • LOL! Thank you Beth! The pictures never really do the cards justice, especially when there is heat embossing on it. Wouldn’t pine scent be great on the card! I wonder if there is a way to do that… hmm… I’ll have to look into that! I hope that you had a great day too! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin, I would label this card “rich rustic”. There is such a elegant feel to the ornament and the colors you used that combine so well with the branch and DSP. Your snipping is so precise that it actually looks like you used a punch or a framelit…..something I must practice more. Hope your rain clears early, it’s pretty nasty right now in PA.

    Reply
    • Hello Roseanne! Yes That is a good way to describe the card, love it! Thank you! My fussy cutting wasn’t always so great and I hated to do it, but now I love it! We had a dreary day all day today but what can you do?! I hope that you enjoyed your day despite the rain! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Very pretty card, Justin. The touch of gold makes it pop.

    Reply
  5. Another winner of a card, Justin. I love the greens and browns together! A nice woodsy pine forest! Very elegant and even “man approved!”

    Reply
  6. Good Morning Justin:
    I’m pretty much a traditionalist when it comes to all things Christmas. I really like this card. Of course, as a resident of Maine, I would be extra proud to send or receive it because, after all, we are in the Pine Tree State. LOL By stamping the pine bough on white card stock it really brought attention to it and the embossed gold ornament. Fabulous card Justin. Have yourself a Terrific Thursday. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      I thought that the card had a very traditional feel seven though I purposely avoided red! Thanks! Yes, you are the Pine tree state, a perfect card for you! We need some green embossing powder, I think the branch would look nice heat embossed, but I think that everything looks nice that way! LOL! I had a very nice day and hope that you did too! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Justin, This is a Beautiful masculine card! So Rustic! I love it!! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  8. I love the card, the first one I have seen using the ornament and not the pinecone. I have this set so might be casing, although I need to buy the dsp and the embossing folder first!

    Reply
    • Thank you Lynne! I love the ornament in the set, such great detail! LOL! CASE away my friend! The DSP is great because it’s part of the stack and the embossing folder is good for so much more than Christmas! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Hi there Justin! Great card today! This set is fast becoming a favorite of mine. It’s so versatile and just by using different colors, the card evokes different feelings for me. It can be very elegant and then again very rustic. Love the use of browns and greens! The touches of gold are so nice on here too. Next time Andrew stops by, he must go into the Stampin’ Galley and make a creation! 😉 It’s been too long Andrew!! Have a great day Justin and thanks for another fabulous card!!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thank you! I do love the set, I liked the one we had before with the pine branch too! I find the card elegant but reserved and yes, I like your description even more! I will relay your message to Andrew! He said he will make one soon! I’ll hold him to it! I had a nice day and hope that you did too! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Justin your card is splendidly regal!!!!

    Reply
  11. Ooh, aah. Such a lovely, rich card. But I didn’t want to buy any more Christmas sets. Justin, stop tempting us!! This is actually one of my faves from the holiday catalog. I love the ornament. And the pine branch. All of it!

    Reply
  12. Love, love, love this. It is so Vintage. I really like that ornament, but fussy cut? Really.

    I want your ability to go 24/7. I usually clonk out by 9pm, LOL

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Linda! Ha ha! Yes, really! I love to fussy cut!! Sorry!
      I would love to never have to sleep again, that would be awesome! I could get so much more done! I haven’t been to bed at 9:00PM in I can’t even remember how long! 🙂

      Reply
  13. Hi Justin
    I love this card! I have seen many cards made with this set and I love the way you designed yours. The colors, although traditional, are perfect. And of course I love the embossing!
    Sorry I have been mia for a bit. I went to the er on Friday for kidney stones. On Sunday I was in so much pain I could hardly move. Monday morning my daughter found me in a ball on the sofa. So another trip to the er where I was admitted for a raging kidney infection. I came home last night, I am a little weak and exhausted but feeling so much .
    I hope you have a great Thursday night!
    Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      Thank you! I do love the set too and can’t believe that I hadn’t ordered it earlier!
      That’s ok, I get a little worried when you aren’t around. I’m sorry to hear that you are under the weather and kidney infections are pretty bad. Get well soon! My Thursday night was super! 🙂

      Reply
  14. When I looked at that sketch, I thought ugh, what would one do with that? Your interpretation of it is great and BY FAR my favorite of the 60 posted so far! Beautiful job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

