RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 156

Posted on

And how was your Wednesday? I hope that it was a good one. My day was repeat of yesterday at work – so much fun! The day got infinitely better once I made my escape! I ran to Target with Heather to pick up some groceries and other necessities. It was a rainy dreary day here all day and Heather’s mood was similar, but I managed to cheer her up a bit! Little Winston decided that it would be a good idea to eat one of the mushrooms in the backyard the other day. He was quite sick on Monday night. I looked up the mushroom on Google and sure enough it was poisonous. The web site that I was on said that unless you catch it in the first four hours you just have to let it play through. It also said that it’s rarely fatal so I kept my fingers crossed and he seems to be fine today. I did go out and pull up all of the ones that I could find just in case he decides to have another bout of curiosity! Never a dull moment!

In a bit of fun news Stampin’ Up! is having a Stamp, Stock & Save promotion. Select Stamp Sets, Card Stock, Envelopes, Adhesive and Ink are on sale now through October 6th. You can see the flyer below or click HERE for a PDF.

Flyer_SSS_demo_10.1-6.2014_US

 

It’s a good time to stock up on with savings of 15% to 20%!!

Today’s card is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge from the lovely Narelle…

Freshly Made Sketches #156

As soon as I saw the sketch an idea of what I wanted to do began to take shape. The base for my card is Pool Party Card Stock. I stamped my greeting from the Endless Wishes Photopolymer Stamp Set in Lost Lagoon in the lower right corner. A piece of Smoky Slate, some 7/8″ Cotton Ribbon and some Lost Lagoon 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon are adhered centered on the lower half of the base. My fun star shaker is a piece of Lost Lagoon with one of the images from the Merry and Bright Stamp Set stamped in Lost Lagoon. All of the pieces are cut out with the Stars Framelits, including a piece of Window Sheet and some Silver Foil Sheet as the frame. I used regular foam tape to create the space to put the Frosted Sequins in, doubled so they would get a little more movement, and adhered the pieces together. My last little detail is a piece of Vellum that I heat embossed another image from the Merry and Bright Stamp Set in Silver Stampin’ Emboss Powder and again used the Stars Framelits to cut it out. It too is adhered with some tiny pieces of foam tape. A fun shaker card to make someone’s Holiday extra special! I hope that you enjoyed my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. As always, I appreciate you taking a little time to come by and see me and I hope that you have a great Thursday! 🙂

FMS 156-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Bright and Beautiful Clear Mount and Endless Wishes Photopolymer

Ink: Lost Lagoon Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Card Stock: Pool Party, Lost Lagoon and Smoky Slate

Specialty Paper: Window Sheet, Silver Foil Sheet and Vellum

Framelits: Stars

Embellishments: Frosted Sequins, 7/8″ Cotton Ribbon and Lost Lagoon 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon

Tools: Big Shot, Heat Tool, Paper Snips, Multi-Purpose Glue and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

22 responses »

  1. Oh very, very nice. Love it all. 🙂

    Reply
  2. What a cool idea for a shaker card! I love the star stamped inside it, and I love the little scene you’ve created to take your picture of this fabulous and fun card.

    Reply
  3. Louise (ON, Canada)

    Very pretty. And super staging!
    Fingers crossed for your little furry friend! My little Yorkie had swallowed a thistle (we think) a couple of weeks ago and the next 24 hours were very rough on him and us but all is good now.

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! Love choosing my props!
      Yes, Winston can be a little silly at times! Oh no! Well, I’m glad that your little doggie is fine now too! Such trouble aren’t that?! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin! OMG!!! I LOVE this card!! I’ve been thinking of doing a shaker card and I’m going to use yours as inspiration!! Thank you! I love those little snowflakes and sequins…so cute! I don’t think SU sells that foam tape you mentioned, I can look for that elsewhere. Love your little props you used in the photo too. Oh my, sure hope little Winston is ok. My little dog years ago ate a whole role of peppermint lifesavers she dug out from my purse. The only way I knew she did that is she had some silver foil hanging out of her mouth. That and her breath was minty-fresh!! 🙂 Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hi there Karen!
      Thanks!! I love to make a shaker card! The star was fun to do too! The Frosted Sequins are great! The silver ones are so shiny! Nope, we don’t have foam tape, I would have used Stampin’ Dimensionals but it would have taken too long! They sell foam tape everywhere though, 3M. I really am so happy that you are enjoying the props! I think it adds just a little extra something and make it not just a card to look at! Yes, Winston is fine thank you! LOL! I would have rather Winston ate the peppermints! He needs a breath mint! I had a nice day and hope that you did too! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Hi Justin:

    To me it’s amazing that you can look at a sketch and immediately know what you want to do with it. I looked at that sketch for several minutes and still didn’t have a clue where I would even start with it. Then I looked at your card and kind of wondered how you ever came up with a star from a circle. That’s the difference between artistically talented people like you and those of us who just don’t seem to have that creative gene. How fortunate that you have that special talent. AND how great that you are willing to share it with all of us.

    Have yourself a Terrific Thursday! 🙂

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      It doesn’t happen all the time but sometimes I get lucky! Thank you! I do have a photographic memory so I guess that’s why I can do it. I think that we loa have the creative gene, sometimes it just takes a little more effort! My B’day card from you was gorgeous and definitely reminds me of you every time I look at it! I hope that you had a fabulous day! It’s Friday tomorrow!! Woo hoo! 😉

      Reply
  6. I love this wonderful shaker card. It’s inspiring me to work on my Christmas cards. Have a great Thursday.

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin- boy am I glad that Winston is OK. I must have missed it but is this your pet- dog or cat? One of my dogs ate so much birdseed one day that we thought he would need surgery- you should have seen his XRay- but he made it out OK with no surgery.
    Great interpretation of the sketch this week. Love the colors!

    Reply
    • Hello Marty!
      Thanks, yes me too! Winston is my Mini Schnauzer. Glad that you dog was ok too. Winston was in bad shape for a few hours but he came through it fine. I have to keep an eye out for more mushrooms!
      Thanks so much! The colors are among my faves! 🙂

      Reply
  8. I will message you my address, feel free to mail this right out to me. Gorgeous. I love that you made a shaker out of the framelits, I wish my brain worked like yours, I am creative but struggle with out of box ideas

    Reply
    • LOL! Ok, sure Linda! Thank you! I love to make a shaker and the framelits just give it a little extra oomph! You only want the creative part of my brain not the rest, trust me! LOL! 🙂

      Reply
  9. I love your interpretation of this sketch! That shaker is so much fun – I keep saying that I’m going to make one with those sequins and now I’m *really* going to have to make one 🙂

    Reply
  10. What a great use of the sketch, Justin! Love the star! Always glad to see you at FMS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

