RSS Feed

SUO Challenges 107

Posted on

Howdy peeps! My Monday was a typical Monday, I wasn’t in the best of moods and work didn’t help. I was glad to come home and then I realized that I had forgotten my iPad on my desk. I called my friend Danielle and she offered to drop it off on her way home. That was really nice of her since I don’t live on the way home for her. Funny how a little random act of kindness can turn your day around! I had card class last night and that is always a laugh. Love seeing everyone and just having a good time! I have a few more Manhattan pics for you today. The first one is the Lennox Hill Healthplex on 14th Street and 7th Avenue. I just think that its a really neat building!

Lennox Hill Healthplex

The next building is on 16th Street and 6th Avenue, all of the other buildings on the street are much older and this one is just a lot taller and much more modern than the rest of them. It sticks out a lot!

West 16th & 6th

It has a very odd angled front, I wonder how you get blinds for those windows?!

Today I’m over on the SUO Challenges blog for our Out in the Woods theme. I immediately thought of the Life in the Forest Stamp Set, a little obvious right?! LOL! The card base for today’s card is Whisper White Card Stock and the background is a piece of Soft Sky. The greeting is from the Hi There Stamp Set and is heat embossed in Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder. I used a piece of Old Olive for the hills and just took my Paper Snips and cut a wavy line though them and used Stampin’ Dimensionals to mount them to the card and each other. All of the images are from the Life in the Forest Stamp Set and are stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black, cut out with my Paper Snips and colored in with Pumpkin Pie, Smoky Slate and Old Olive Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers. I used one or two Stampin’ Dimensionals to adhere them to the card and complete my little scene. I really do love coloring in the stamps with the Blendabilities, it gives it such a great look! I hope that you enjoyed my cute little forest scene card for the SUO Challenges Out in the Woods challenge. Head on over to the BLOG and check out what the rest of the design team has come up with and let’s see your take on the theme! Thank you for stopping by and I hope that enjoy your Tuesday! 🙂

SUO Challenges 107-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Hi There and Life in the Forest Clear Mount

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: Black

Stampin’ Blendabilities Markers: Pumpkin Pie, Smoky Slate and Old Olive

Card Stock: Whisper White, Soft Sky and Old Olive

Tools: Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

16 responses »

  1. Rosanne Mulhern

    Good Morning Justin, this card just made me smile. I really like this stamp set and your card is a perfect showcase for it. Again, I just marvel at your coloring.and paper snipping skills. You inspire me to keep practicing. Hope you had a good time at Stamp Class. Have a good day.

    Reply
    • Hello Roseanne,
      I love when I hear you say that the card made you smile! I’m so happy! Thank you! I love to fussy cut and the Blendabilities are so much fun to use! Stamp class was fun and I hope that you had a lovely day! 🙂

      Reply
  2. This is so cute, but really . . . all that snipping? Like Rosanne said, practice, practice, practice. I’ll keep practicing the heat embossing too.
    🙂

    Reply
  3. Hi Justin! How nice of Danielle to help you out last night. But then you would be the first one to help someone out, so I’m not surprised. Cool pics today. That Lennox Hill building is kinda neat. Reminds me of rick-rack. What a cute card today! This looks like a very labor-intensive card but I’m sure you just whipped it together in no time! 😉 Glad you had fun at your card class too! Enjoy your Tuesday!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Yes, Danielle is quite the awesome person. And yes, I would be the first one to help someone out. Glad you enjoyed the pics, there are some really neat one in store for you tomorrow. I can see the rick-rack reference! I’m happy you like the card, it was a fun one to make! I love to fussy cut so it wasn’t labor intensive! Card class is always fun, the people are great! I hope that you had a fun Tuesday! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Good Morning Justin. I enjoyed the architecture this morning, 2 really different buildings and I agree with Karen, the Lennox Hill building does look like 2 pieces of giant rick rack trim!
    Love this cute little card and the coloring is fantastic. I too marvel at your patience with paper snipping, do you have a secret or are you just a really detail oriented person? I agree that the results are really worth it though.
    Hope you have a good Tuesday.

    Reply
    • Hi there Marty!
      I love the buildings in the city, they are all so unique! Yup, Karen is definitely right! Thank you! I really do enjoy the fussy cutting, I used to hate it! But the more I did it the more relaxing I found it! I definitely am a very detail oriented person! I geo your Tuesday was great! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Good Morning Justin:

    Well, this is the dangest cutest card I’ve seen in forever! If someone didn’t smile when they saw it there is something wrong with them. You do an amazing job with the blendabilities markers. I think what I really like best about this card is that it is clean and uncluttered so there is nothing to distract from the sweet little animal images. I just LOVE it!

    Your photos from Manhattan are great. Whenever I go there I come home with a pain in my neck from looking up! LOL I bet folks around me think I’m an old farm girl or something but I’ve been going to Manhattan since I was 6 years old and am still totally fascinated with the architecture every single time. The top of the building on 16th street and sixth avenue seems to be the same design as the top of the Freedom Tower that was erected at the 9-11 site. I wonder if that slanted design is going to be a trend? Nevertheless, the stark contrast between the old and new is just awe inspiring. I absolutely love it. AND I love that you are kind enough to share it with us. Thank you so much.

    Hugs, Grace 🙂

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      Yeah! It’s a fun little scene with a cute stamp set! I’m happiest when I hear that I make you smile! I love using the Blendabilities!
      I have a lot of fun taking the pictures while I’m out and about so I can share them with you! I am always looking up at the buildings too and I always see something new! I can see the similarities in the two buildings, I wonder if the architects are the same?! I am thrilled that you come by to see the cards and enjoy the pictures! I hope you had a wonderful day my friend! Hugs to you too! XO 🙂

      Reply
  6. Oops – a thought just occurred to me Justin………….could it be that those are solar panels on the top portion of these newer buildings and not actually windows? What do you think?

    Reply
  7. Cute, cute, cute. you are the best paper snipper i know. Those buidings are amazing. LOL I detest Mondays, rarely are they good. But one day closer to friday

    Reply
    • LOL! Thanks so much Linda! I love the buildings in the city, so much fun to look at and they are all so different! Yes, it is one day closer to Friday!! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Justin, I’m a day late on this one but had to tell you I LOVE IT!! These critters are so cute. I’d love to get a ‘Hello’ card like this. You hand cut those animals out… OMG! I’m afraid they’d be legless if I tried that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

