RSS Feed

Paper Craft Crew 113

Posted on

Is it Wednesday already?! Yeah! I know, I’m wishing the week away but come on, admit it, you are too! LOL! Yesterday was a pretty good day. Daniel was at my parents when I got there, is it possible that he gets cuter every time I see him?! I’ll remember to take some pictures next time, I promise! I came home and made my card for today and Andrew came by and hung out for a while. He worked on his paper for school and I did the blog thing. All in all a pretty good day and an excellent evening! I have some more pictures from Manhattan to share with you today. I however didn’t take these but it’s something that most of us will never get to see. My friend Brian is a fireman, I think I have mentioned that before, and the people in his group went up to the top of the new Freedom Tower and took some pictures. They were up higher than any of us will ever get to go and even though it was an overcast day the pictures are quite cool. The first one is just looking out over manhattan…

WTC Roof 1

The second one is looking down at the reflecting pools…

WTC Roof 2

To think that’s where the two towers used to stand gives me a little chill, I think that the fogginess adds to the picture too.

Now off we go to today’s post. I’m over on the Paper Craft Crew blog for this week’s sketch…

PCCCS113 Sketch 10-08-2014

I used a fun set that I had forgotten that I had! My card begins with a base of Pumpkin Pie Card Stock. For the background I stamped the Dictionary Background Stamp in Memento Tuxedo Black on Crumb Cake. All of the stamped images are from the Bite Me Photopolymer Stamp Set. The panel is a another piece of Pumpkin Pie and I heat embossed the spider web in White Stampin’ Emboss Powder and backed it with a piece of Basic Black. The two spiders are heat embossed in Black Stampin’ Emboss Powder on Vellum and cut out with my Paper Snips. I used the 1 1/4″ Circle Punch to punch out the Bite Me and backed it with a piece of Whisper White. Finally, the greeting is heat embossed in White Stampin’ Emboss Powder on Basic Black and I flagged the right side. I’m really loving the color combination and the stamp set is just so cool! I hope that you enjoyed my Design Team card for this week’s Paper Craft Crew sketch challenge. Stop by the BLOG and show us some love by entering your project in the gallery. Thank you for stopping by to share some more pictures with me and see my card, have a wonderful Wednesday! 🙂

PCCCS113-JK-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Stamp Sets: Bite Me Photopolymer and Dictionary Background Clear Mount

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Stampin’ Emboss Powder: White and Black

Card Stock: Pumpkin Pie, Crumb Cake Basic Black and Whisper White

Specialty Card Stock: Vellum

Punch: 1 1/4″ Circle

Tools: Paper Snips, Heat Tool, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

 

Current Promotions:

For the entire month of August buy a Big Shot and get a FREE Stamp & Framelit Bundle!! Click HERE for more details!

The 2014-2015 Annual Catalog is here!! Get your lists ready and place your orders!!

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The newest set Yee Haw. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

30 responses »

  1. Hi Justin! I love this card, so spooky AND fun! Love your choice of DSP’s and colors.

    Reply
  2. Hi Justin
    The pictures from the Freedom Tower are powerful images…thanks for sharing them.
    Your card is really fun! I don’t send out Halloween cards or do any kind of celebration but I will have to admit I have been enjoying your cards.
    Happy Wednesday. 😊

    Reply
    • Hello Marty!
      Yes, the pictures were great! I was glad that my friend let me share them!
      I don’t send out Halloween cards either but they make nice decorations around the house. I’m happy that you are enjoying them! I have made more and been more into it this year than in previous years.
      Hope you had a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin
    I love this card! I have forgotten about this stamp set also. It works perfectly on your card! I love the heart embossed spiders and all of the heat embossing you did in this card!
    I am battling another kidney infection. The doctors are somewhat concerned that I have another one 4 Days after finishing the antibiotics. I am another round of them for 2 weeks. I am trying to maintain this at home and not end up in the hospital again ..
    It is just not my favorite place to be!
    Today’s pictures are fantastic! It is a little chilling to look down on where the towers stood. Thank you for sharing then.
    I have read your blog every day but I just haven’t commented …i am just exhausted for battling these infections. I love both of the Christmas cards you did last week! All of your creations are just perfect.
    I hope your Wednesday is a good one! I am going back to rest for a little while,
    Donna
    Ps. As you can see by the length of this post, the infection has not harmed my chattieness!

    Reply
    • Hi Donna!
      Thanks very much! I was looking through the shelf and came across it and then checked and it’s still current! I rarely use just one set too! I just can’t seem to stop heat embossing!
      I can’t believe that you are sick again, is there no reprieve?! I don’t blame you of wanting to not be in the hospital again!
      I’m glad that you enjoyed the pictures! It is very chilling to look down and see where the other two towers were.
      I’m very happy that you still visit, I can imagine that you are not up to your best and you do need lots of rest.
      My day wasn’t too bad, almost to Friday! I really do hope that this will all be behind you soon!
      I love that you are still very chatty!! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi Justin:

    You snipped out the spiders? You snipped out the spiders? Are you pulling my leg? Where the heck do you get the patience to sit and cut out spider legs? Please, send some of that patience my way! I absolutely love this card and am sitting here thinking “how the heck did Justin associate the spider web with the dictionary stamp? You have me totally befuddled my friend. I wish I could think as creatively as you do, or even half as creatively.

    The photos from the top of the Freedom Tower gave me goosebumps. Hey, that friend of yours would be a good person to ask about the slanted sides of that building to find out if they are solar panels. The last time I was in Manhattan was two years ago and the Tower wasn’t completed and the museum wasn’t open. I really need to get back and visit again. Perhaps next May when I go to CT for the recital. Meanwhile, thanks so much for sharing those photos. For those of us who were traumatized by the events of that day completion of the tower really is a help toward healing.

    Reply
    • Hello Grace!
      Yes, I snipped out the spiders! I know, there is something drastically wrong with me! LOL! I only have patience with things that have to do with crafting, you should see me at work! I do love that Dictionary Stamp and I was going to use the Typeset DSP but it was the wrong color!
      I felt the same way when I saw the pictures. I have an architect friend that works in Manhattan, I’ll see if I can ask him about the building. You definitely must come back!! And you have to let me know when you do! I hope that you had an enjoyable day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing the photos – incredible. Love your card too.

    Reply
  6. Hi Justin! Love your card!! Trying to talk myself out of buying the Bite Me stamp set but man—you are not making that easy for me! 😉 Very, very cute! Oh my…those pics are awesome. I was up in the World Trade Towers a very long time ago and still can remember what it looked like on the inside. A lot of white, sprawling space and I think a lot of white marble and huge pillars. Thanks for sharing the pics. I haven’t been back to NY in a long time but would love to go to the Freedom Tower someday to pay my respects and honor those souls. Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      Thanks so much! LOL! I have had that set for a long time and had completely forgotten about it! I was in the towers a few weeks before 9-11, I still have my ID badge. Still hard to believe that it happened. I hope that you do get back this way and that you had a wonderful day! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Love your work! The pics – wow! I think that is too high for me to go!! I have noticed the colorful ceramic berry baskets in your photos. Where do you purchase those? I would love to purchase some for my friend for Christmas.

    Reply
  8. Love your ‘Bite Me’ card!!
    The pics from the Freedom Tower are amazing. They give me chills too.

    Reply
  9. loving the spiders, I saw ghosts…trying to look at sketches with JK eyes, lol. The photos were great, so high up there I’d be afraid to look down. maybe some year I will visit NYC and the memorial site.

    Reply
  10. You are always inspiring, and I love to see your photos, thank you!

    Reply
  11. Yeah . . . not too sure about those spiders. A bit to real for my liking.
    🙂

    Reply
  12. Love the pictures of Manhattan. My family and I are from Wisconsin and we visited New York this summer and went to the Memorial Museum and saw the new tower and reflecting pools. It was a very surreal experience when we were visiting.

    Reply
  13. I’m not fond of spiders, although I do like your card. My favorite part is the ‘bite me’. It makes me chuckle.

    Reply
  14. Too cute! i am deathly afraid of spiders, these two are tolerable, lol gret card

    Reply
  15. Lots of fun in that card! Nnthe spiderweb really pops with the embossing powder. You might want to check your promo listing as, honey, it’s not August anymore! Just a thought. Hugs, Nola

    Reply
    • Thank you Nola! I really have a heat embossing problem don’t I?! Ha! Thanks! I try to keep track of it all but sometimes things slip by! I’ll fix it and I appreciate you letting me know! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

